Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Civic guage cluster

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post Civic guage cluster

    Hey,

    Anyone know anything about Honda Civic's?

    My stock dash doesn't have a tach, and I want the factory look.. If I get a cluster with a tach anyone know if it will just plug and play even though I don't have a tach now? Or am I missing some required hardware?

    I'm thinking it's probably in the wiring harness, but i'm not sure...
    Thanks.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  2. #2
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Posts
    1,436

    Post

    I know you want the factory look... but hey!

    just get a monster tach!!!
    Project - GAME OVER :(

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    big 5 inch tach with a huge shift light?

    hehe.. just what i need.

    Hey.. I drive a civic, but that doesn't automatically make me rice.. I wouldn't want to end up on beaterz.com.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  4. #4
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Here, There, Everywhere
    Posts
    1,436

    Post

    Originally posted by nester:
    <STRONG>big 5 inch tach with a huge shift light?

    hehe.. just what i need.

    Hey.. I drive a civic, but that doesn't automatically make me rice.. I wouldn't want to end up on beaterz.com. </STRONG>

    wasnt implyng that!!!! hey I drive a 1.3ltr Swift, so that sorta **** would be outa place too!!! though its nice to have more toys in your car to play with..


    Project - GAME OVER :(

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    hehe. I'm just kidding.. nah.. I think I'm going to head out to the salvage yard tommorow.. see what i can find.. the Haynes manual for the car gives me promising info... the blue wire is the tach.. so if it's there.. i suppose i'm in business.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    274

    Post

    Let me know how you do.

    I have a '95 civic dx coupe with no tach too and I was thinking about doing the same.
    95 Honda Civic DX Coupe - In Progress
    mp3civic site

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    schrodos - there are a bunch on eBay... I think they are just plug and play, according to one of the people on honda hookup

    FWIW, 96 is the first year of the new cluster, but you'll know what's yours and what's not.. Mine is easy to take out.. 2 screws for the bezel, and 4 screws in the cluster, unplug, remove. 5 minutes tops.

    Here's one that would fit your car.. Honda Civic Speedometer Cluster Tach 92-95 - he said 96 in the title, but 95 in the description. Milage is sorta high.. suppose it depends on what your car has now.

    Only bad thing is that these are going for like $100+ on eBay. I had a junk yard quote me ~$50 for one, so i'm going to try there first.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  8. #8
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    Originally posted by schrodos:
    <STRONG>Let me know how you do.

    I have a '95 civic dx coupe with no tach too and I was thinking about doing the same.</STRONG>
    Works. I picked one up from the junk yard.. Don't know how much they regually run, but I got a good discount. Plugged it in, works like a charm.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  9. #9
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post



    I gained 2,500 miles somewhere.

    heheh.

    [ 08-02-2001: Message edited by: nester ]
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  10. #10
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Boise, ID (USA)
    Posts
    551

    Post

    Hey nester,

    Looks better... I just bought an indiglo white face set off ebay for my 93 civic ex and it looks awsome! Really easy to install and cheap!

    Check it out!
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/aw-cg...848806&r=0&t=0

    I found that I could power it off the cigarette lighter plug because it also has the ashtray light which comes on with the lights
    1999 voyager pontoon boat
    (soon to be computerized)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •