Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cruise Control Problem...

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate Raas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    626

    Post Cruise Control Problem...

    Hi All,

    Recently I purchased a Cruise-Control at a 'flee-market'. It's all new, packed in originall plastics and got it very cheap (like 17-18 $)
    I think this unit was designed for cars with automatic transmission, but mine's manual transmisson.

    On the control box are 2 wires which lead to the brake switch. One wire is on one end of the switch, the other is on the other end, So when the brakes are aplied the circuit is closed and the cruise control shuts off.

    Since my car has a manual transmission I want to put such a same switch on the clutch-pedal. But I can't wire this in directly otherwise the brake-lights will shine when I press my clutch.
    So how can I do this. Do I need some kind of diode which prevents the power to run to the brakelights.
    Or does the cruise control only need to know if the circuit is closed. (like it shuts of when the 2 wires are connected, or does it need 12v from the brake lights.)
    I'm a bit confused about this all right now, I think it's not as hard as I think it is, but my mind is a bit blurry at the moment, Need someone with a 'fresh' look on this.

    BTW It's a ZT-10 Cruise Control if that helps anything.

    Thanks in Advance !!!
    Greetz

    [ 12-12-2001: Message edited by: Raas ]
    Raas - The Netherlands
    ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
    GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

  2. #2
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    152

    Post

    The wire that runs to the cold side of the brake switch (the other one goes to the 12volt side)needs to run through a switch mounted onto your clutch pedal assembly, and then onto the cold side of the brake switch.

    This switch needs to open and close every time you press the pedal.
    When your foot is off the pedal, the switch needs to give the wire continuity to the cold side of the brake switch.

    When you press the clutch pedal, this brakes the wire, and the cruise cuts out.

    The reason this happens is this:-

    The cruise needs to "see" 12 volts on one of the wires in order to function........so if the tail lamp fuse blows....no cruise.

    The cruise needs to "see" a negative or chasis ground on the other wire to opperate.
    It gets this through the lamp assembly.

    If you wire the above switch in correctly, the cruise should work. When you press the brake, the cold wire goes hot ( gets a 12volt feed to the brake lamps, the cruise loses its negative on that wire, and the cruise cuts out. Also if you press the clutch pedal, the opening of you new switch will brake the continuity of the wire and the cruise loses it negative feed.........once again the cruise should cut out.

    If you have any other questions about the install, just ask

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate Raas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    626

    Post

    The manual doesn't say anything about which wire should go to the cold side, or which should go to the 'hot' 12v side.

    I think I get what you mean, but is it possible for you to post a picture how to wire this ? I would really appreciate this.

    Thanks In Advance,
    Greetz

    Raas
    Raas - The Netherlands
    ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
    GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Sydney NSW Australia
    Posts
    581

    Post

    Originally posted by Genesis:
    <STRONG>The wire that runs to the cold side of the brake switch (the other one goes to the 12volt side)needs to run through a switch mounted onto your clutch pedal assembly, and then onto the cold side of the brake switch.

    This switch needs to open and close every time you press the pedal.
    When your foot is off the pedal, the switch needs to give the wire continuity to the cold side of the brake switch.

    When you press the clutch pedal, this brakes the wire, and the cruise cuts out.

    The reason this happens is this:-

    The cruise needs to "see" 12 volts on one of the wires in order to function........so if the tail lamp fuse blows....no cruise.

    The cruise needs to "see" a negative or chasis ground on the other wire to opperate.
    It gets this through the lamp assembly.

    If you wire the above switch in correctly, the cruise should work. When you press the brake, the cold wire goes hot ( gets a 12volt feed to the brake lamps, the cruise loses its negative on that wire, and the cruise cuts out. Also if you press the clutch pedal, the opening of you new switch will brake the continuity of the wire and the cruise loses it negative feed.........once again the cruise should cut out.

    If you have any other questions about the install, just ask </STRONG>
    I belive this not the case...
    The crouse control doesnt need "hot" or "cold" wires... It works fine even if they are just "cool"
    No... on serious note only thing the crouse control cares is those two wires are "open" or "short" circutied.
    Basicly if you cut the +12v of the break pedal it will still work...
    Basicly what you need to do for the clatch pedal is put a diod between the wires that goes from the brake to the clatch... two of them to be exact...
    Also be carful most EFI cars have the clatch switch conected to the ECU ...you dont want to short anything inside your computer by applying 12V to it.

    [ 12-12-2001: Message edited by: Fosgate ]
    Fosgate

    System Comp V3 - In progress.
    Low power MB with C7 CPU, DC-DC PSU, car ECU link, USB TV, GPS, 7" TFT, Wireless, Voice.

  5. #5
    FLAC Mastero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,640

    Post

    hey raas can you get one for me this cruise contrl thing ... i have a automatic SUV so let me if you can get me and for how much will it cost to me till India.

    Mastero

    PS sorry i cant help you cause i dont know much about the item

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate Raas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    626

    Post

    Fosgate,

    Thanks for the explanation, I think I just have to try some things, but I don't worry about the EFI, 'cause I haven't got one.
    My car is a good old diesel (almost 400.000km and still runs like a dream)

    Mastero,

    I'm sorry buddy, but as mentioned I bought this thing at a 'Flee-market' The guy had only one, he wanted to put this thins on a Shelby Cobra, but he sold the car before he could even put it in, that's why he sold it.

    Greetz.
    Raas - The Netherlands
    ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
    GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

  7. #7
    Maximum Bitrate albysure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    pittsfield, ma.
    Posts
    685

    Post

    ok..first of all-the wires on the brake do this
    one(the hot side) gives the cruise control some of its 12v. second, when you hit the brake, it shuts it off. the difference with a manual tranny and an auto is in the speed sensor. the auto matic connects to your speedometer cable at the tranny and the manual has a pickup that goes to any spark plug wire. this is an rpm sensor so as to not over rev your motor between gears also. if you hook it up to your car with a clutch the cruise will shut off everytime you shift. might be annoying!

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate Raas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    626

    Post

    I want it to shut off each time I press the clutch.
    The manual says something about some optional 'thingy' that you could use with manual transmission cars. This 'thingy' is connected to the ignition (as you said). But since I don't have this 'thingy', and I don't even know if this 'thingy' can be connected to my old diesel-engine without fancy motor-management-system.
    So I just wanted to know if I could 'reproduce' a press on the brake pedal when I press the clutch, without the brake-lights lighting up.
    But I'll find my way around this. !

    Greetz.
    Raas - The Netherlands
    ME: VIA epia m10000, lilliput 7', opus 150w, 80gb<br>
    GF: IBM Thinkpad 380, ext. 3.5 80gb, 40x4, PB-IR

  9. #9
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH USA
    Posts
    694

    Post

    This may be too simple but.... What about putting a sensor or even a small momentary switch/button on the clutch pedal so when your foot hits the clutch it sends the 12v. Like I said it may be too simple but sometimes that is all it takes.
    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/Maveric/ M.A.V.I.C. System
    Asus MB, PII 266, 192 MB Ram, 6.8" LCD, 6 Disk CD-ROM, 21 Gig HD, All-in-Wonder Video w/ TV Tuner, Irman, Windows ME, Winamp, Cobra III -- All in a custom acrylic case.

    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/listings/ MP3car Listings - Please add to it! :)

  10. #10
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    188

    Post

    albysure: ok first off having a manual transmission with factory cruise control I have to state that pressing the clutch turns off cruise control. I could just image someone blowing an engine by pressing in the clutch and the cruise control device is trying to maintain speed and redlines your engine. Also cruise control is use to maintain speed no need to shift anymore.
    Awol

    my $0.02 cents (value is based on the intelligence of the person reading this message)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •