Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Hard Drive Failure!

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Post Hard Drive Failure!

    ARGH! I'm getting corrupt files errors all over the place now! I've got a Maxtor 12 gb hd in my system right now, and it is giving me all sorts of problems. I have a 40 gb Seagate hd from Tigerdirect in the mail. I would really like to keep all my settings and files from the first hard drive, so what would be the best way to do this. Would a direct *.* copying work in this case?

    thanx

  2. #2
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Post

    Depends on how bad of shape that HD is in. Since you have a maxtor - go to maxtor.com (thats an assumption on the website)...and get a program called MaxBlast - it will make a bootdisk that will alow you to copy everything from your current HD to a new one. It may also alow you to fix problems on it (once again depending on how bad it is). You should be able to get files off your HD and put them on a new one with this program.

    I use BootIt (download.com has shareware) and that will alow you to do the same things. I prefer it, but there is something about using your manufaturers software with their hardware - its usually the best idea.

    I dont know what you mean by settings, but if the program says its okay for your HDs to do a full replications - you should be able to save everything. You should reinstall the OS over that though to make sure everything is nice and smoothe.
    Good Luck,
    PoBoy

    PS. copy *.* wont include directories and their contents. Right now I am drawing a blank on what the copy all comand is, but if you cant do a HD replication with the above software...let me know and I'll get it for ya. Doing that though probably wont alow your OS to work and you WILL lose setings.
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    539

    Post

    you can use nortan ghost to back up and compress it, but on another hdd or cdd if small, then foramt, probably better to reeisntall then ghosting it back as that will just make it the same as it was b4, cuppted files.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Post

    If I use maxblast, and then take out the Maxtor Hard Drive, will the computer boot up like normal?

  5. #5
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Post

    As long as you copy the boot partition too. I havent used maxblast in a good while, but I am pretty sure it will alow you to. If not, just install BootIt and it will create a boot partition for you and boot any OS(hence the name Boot It).

    PoBoy
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Post

    The hard drive is coming tomorrow, will keep you guys busy w/ questions i'm sure. thanx for the advance helP!

  7. #7
    Raw Wave wizardPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    2,635

    Post

    norton ghost copies everything the way it is, including corrupt files and bad clusters
    Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
    Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
    I'M DEBT FREE!!
    I'm now a reasonably successful gunblogger.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •