Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: CAN"T BOOT!

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Post CAN"T BOOT!

    Hey, sorry for another post! I installed the harddrive succesfully, and used MAXBLAST to copy the original hard drive. Unfortuantely MAAXBLASt did not copy the boot sector of the original drive to the new drive, so I cannot boot from the new drive. I can see the new drive in Mycomputer if I boot from the old drive. How can I transfer the boot sector from the old drive to the new drive?
    thanx

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    louisville,ky,usa
    Posts
    259

    Post

    boot from a windows startup disk (or a boot disk with fdisk on it), and issue the command

    fdisk /MBR


    that should fix it.
    I cheat, I own an empeg.
    Meskimen's Law: There's never time to do it right, but there's always time to do it over.
    http://civic.mp3car.com

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    7

    Post

    ADEDDENDUM: Maxblast did put a bootsector on... it was the bootsector for a Win98 startup disk (to install that OS) I'm srunning Win2k though. So i'm not sure if fdsk /mbr will just keepthe hd with the win98 bootdisk

  4. #4
    Low Bitrate radioman193's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Dansville NEW YORK
    Posts
    81

    Smile

    ghost!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Raw Wave wizardPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    2,635

    Post

    yes, this is a prime candidate for ghosting.

    I dont know if you have access to Norton Ghost, but it kicks. Every time I install a new OS, I make a ghost and put it on CD, so when I have to reinstall, it takes 15 minutes instead of 2 days for me to get everything set up how I like it
    Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
    Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
    I'M DEBT FREE!!
    I'm now a reasonably successful gunblogger.

  6. #6
    Retired Admin Aaron Cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,464

    Cool

    I will third the opinion of using Ghost. It is an excellant program. I use it several times a week, and have always had great success.
    Player: Pentium 166MMX, Amptron 598LMR MB w/onboard Sound, Video, LAN, 10.2 Gig Fujitsu Laptop HD, Arise 865 DC-DC Converter, Lexan Case, Custom Software w/Voice Interface, MS Access Based Playlists
    Car: 1986 Mazda RX-7 Turbo (highly modded), 1978 RX-7 Beater (Dead, parting out), 2001 Honda Insight
    "If one more body-kitted, cut-spring-lowered, farty-exhausted Civic revs on me at an intersection, I swear I'm going to get out of my car and cram their ridiculous double-decker aluminium wing firmly up their rump."

  7. #7
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Post

    If ya dont like ghost (ive never used it so i dont know much about it) BootIt seems like it will do the same thing. It finds OS's on all you HD's and gives you option of which to boot.

    Have you tried taking out/disabling your old HD yet and making sure your new one is the C: according to your bios? Then boot it up and see if it takes over. Simple solution is to go with one of those programs above though.
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •