Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: How do I Sync all my mp3s?

  1. #11
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Are your files in the same drive\directory on both computers?
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  2. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    3

    Try SyncBackSE

    http://www.2brightsparks.com/ has a program called SyncBack. This freeware program is the best sync program I have ever seen. It can sync over ftp, local, network, etc. The shareware version (SyncBackSE) provides even more functionality, especially in the area of FTP.

    This is a great program even for those not trying to sync mp3's... it has a lot of uses.

    Charlie

  3. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by blurp
    Are your files in the same drive\directory on both computers?
    No but I can make it the same on my home PC. Have enough room there to copy my music to a new directory for the sync.

    I did find one program that might work for what I need, SmartSync Pro. Has a feature to sync 2 PC that are not on a LAN over disk. Just what I'm looking for but it needs to copy all files into a compressed file first. Dont have the room on my office PC for that. I have 15Gigs of music at work and only 6gigs of disk left. Hope theres more opptions out there.

  4. #14
    Newbie NitroNic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by UntenOps
    No but I can make it the same on my home PC. Have enough room there to copy my music to a new directory for the sync.
    If you make the new directory... instead of copying the files to the new directory... just move them (This is assuming that they are on the same logical drive). It'll go A LOT faster (if you do it this way it doesn't actually rewrite the files, it just changes their location in the directory structure. And I might have used some incorrect jargon there... but... trust me it'll go faster).
    Nic

  5. #15
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Here ya go. There are 3 files in this zip. Put them all on your flash drive.
    Edit the first 2 lines of List_A.bat and List_B.bat to match the drive letter and root directory you want to sync on Computers "A" and "B", respectively. These two lines look like this:

    Code:
    set rootdrive=c:
    set rootdir=\downloads
    This means that your MP3s are in the c:\downloads directory and subdirectories. Be sure to format the lines EXACTLY like these. No trailing \'s or anything like that.

    All of these scripts are to be run from the flash drive, or external hard drive.

    First, run List_A.bat on Computer "A".

    Plug into Computer "B" and run List_B.bat. Then run sync_files.vbs.

    --->Now move the files off of your drive onto Computer "A". Run List_A.bat and then run sync_files.vbs.

    --->Now move the files off of your drive onto Computer "B". Run List_B.bat and then run sync_files.vbs.

    Continue repeating the steps with arrows in front of them until the only popup message you get on both computers is "Done".


    If you have any trouble, give me a shout, and I'll see what I can do. I wrote this between major problems at work. So i didn't have time to make the code pretty. For all you code monkey snobs out there, I understand, but it's free.

    edit: attachment removed: revised script in later post
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  6. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by blurp
    Here ya go. There are 3 files in this zip. Put them all on your flash drive.
    Edit the first 2 lines of List_A.bat and List_B.bat to match the drive letter and root directory you want to sync on Computers "A" and "B", respectively. These two lines look like this:

    Code:
    set rootdrive=c:
    set rootdir=\downloads
    This means that your MP3s are in the c:\downloads directory and subdirectories. Be sure to format the lines EXACTLY like these. No trailing \'s or anything like that.

    All of these scripts are to be run from the flash drive, or external hard drive.

    First, run List_A.bat on Computer "A".

    Plug into Computer "B" and run List_B.bat. Then run sync_files.vbs.

    --->Now move the files off of your drive onto Computer "A". Run List_A.bat and then run sync_files.vbs.

    --->Now move the files off of your drive onto Computer "B". Run List_B.bat and then run sync_files.vbs.

    Continue repeating the steps with arrows in front of them until the only popup message you get on both computers is "Done".


    If you have any trouble, give me a shout, and I'll see what I can do. I wrote this between major problems at work. So i didn't have time to make the code pretty. For all you code monkey snobs out there, I understand, but it's free.

    I'll give this a try next week. If this works you da man.
    Sound like just what I was looking for. Just wish I had the time to learn to program. Never made it past GWBasic.

  7. #17
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    Is this supposed to happen? I get a message that is can find the directory. Here is a screen shot. Hope it shows everything. The error, and the file that it made, and its size. Also my music location. I even copied and pasted the location to make sure it was right. Iím sure I screwed something up, but I just canít find what. Can you please help me again?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #18
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Oh, I see. It isn't liking the spaces in the directory names. Use the shortnames of the directories, so there are no spaces.


    i.e. \Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\My Music
    becomes \Docume~1\Owner\MyDocu~1\MyMusi~1

    This is the 8.3 compatibility interpretation of the long filenames. I'll look into making a more robust, slicker solution. Maybe I'll get some time Monday, but for now the shortnames should work. Sorry about that. Like I said, I threw this together between production downtime problems and tons of phone calls that i had to take care of.
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  9. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by blurp
    Oh, I see. It isn't liking the spaces in the directory names. Use the shortnames of the directories, so there are no spaces.


    i.e. \Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\My Music
    becomes \Docume~1\Owner\MyDocu~1\MyMusi~1

    Thanks That worked, it made the ListA.txt file all 252K of it. Thats kewl. I'll try the other half monday at work. I think this little program will work great for the guys that want to sync all there files in there car with there desktop, if they dont have a wifi. Maybe, take little longer then just running a cable out to the car. Anyhow, Thanks again.

  10. #20
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349

    New script, fewer steps, accepts spaces

    Try this...unzip this onto your flash drive. It's only 2 files now. Then edit sync_files.ini and it will accept spaces in the names of your directories. Then all you have to do is run the script on each computer. No more bat files.

    Just run the script on A, then on B
    Then move files to A, then run script on A,
    Then move files to B, then run script on B,
    etc... until all you get is "Done" on both computers.

    I've tested it, and it works, but it contains some of the ugliest code I've ever written. And I'm just to sleepy to care right now. So if it doesn't work, just go back to the old one.

    Note: To "reset" everything to sync new computers or new directories, just delete the ListA.txt and ListB.txt files from your flash drive.


    edit: attachment removed, look at later post for new script.
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. mp3's only playing on right speakers
    By 3onDubs in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 10:53 AM
  2. file sync for WiFi - SFFS
    By satmanuk in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2005, 02:55 AM
  3. what are you using to sync your mp3's
    By liquid_smoke in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 05-04-2005, 04:06 PM
  4. sync files
    By psuter in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-25-2005, 04:11 AM
  5. MP3s cutting out/playing choppy..
    By SLAYER6669 in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2005, 10:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •