Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: How do I Sync all my mp3s?

  1. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    Kewl I'll give it a try. I ran the first program but it didn't work. Might be my fault. I forgot to put my musik in the same directory on both PCs. When i ran the script it just told me how many files needed to be copied then poped up again about a min later and said done, when no files had been copied yet.

  2. #22
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    I tryed the new code, and had a little problem here 2. I ran it at work first and it made ListA.txt. Kewl. Then i ran it again at home (with same directories on both machince) and it made ListA.txt again. Did I do something wrong? No ListB.txt, and no files copied, just a popup telling me to run on other machine.

  3. #23
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Do both machines have the same hostname?
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  4. #24
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    No different names.

  5. #25
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    I played with the List files a little and got it to work.
    Took a long time to transfer the files. About 2 hours for around 450 Mb. Thats not to big of a problem, I'm just happy that its working. Thank you

  6. #26
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Good. What was wrong with the list files?
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  7. #27
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    It seems like the program always makes ListA.txt even if its already there. So I have to first rename ListA.txt, ListB.txt. Then I run the program and it makes ListA.txt, and then it runs and copies the files to my card. Then when I go to the next computer, copy files over, I need to rename ListA.txt, ListB.txt and then the program again makes ListA.txt and it transfers the other way. Oh and do you happen to know why it takes so long for the program to copy the files over? Its really like 2 hours for 450Mb on to my SD card, on a 2.4 Ghz Pentium and on a 3000+ AMD. But again it works with out much problems so I'm happy. Much better then trying to do this manualy file by file. Thank you again.
    UntenOps

  8. #28
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Quote Originally Posted by UntenOps
    It seems like the program always makes ListA.txt even if its already there. So I have to first rename ListA.txt, ListB.txt. Then I run the program and it makes ListA.txt, and then it runs and copies the files to my card. Then when I go to the next computer, copy files over, I need to rename ListA.txt, ListB.txt and then the program again makes ListA.txt and it transfers the other way.
    That's strange. It seems that the .FileExists method is not working on your SD card. I tried it again, and it works on my flash drive.

    Quote Originally Posted by UntenOps
    Oh and do you happen to know why it takes so long for the program to copy the files over? Its really like 2 hours for 450Mb on to my SD card, on a 2.4 Ghz Pentium and on a 3000+ AMD. But again it works with out much problems so I'm happy. Much better then trying to do this manualy file by file. Thank you again.
    That is probably due to the speed of your SD card, or the device that is writing to it. Is your card reader USB 2.0? What speed is your card?
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Try something for me. Copy the script and the ini file to your desktop. Run the script. Then edit the ListA.txt that it creates. Change the first line by adding a letter to it. Save it and run the script again to see if it creates a ListB.txt.
    .
    .
    .
    .
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  9. #29
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by blurp
    Try something for me. Copy the script and the ini file to your desktop. Run the script. Then edit the ListA.txt that it creates. Change the first line by adding a letter to it. Save it and run the script again to see if it creates a ListB.txt.
    .

    .

    I gave that a try running it from the desktop, and it did the same thing. I added a letter to the first line, (change the name of the computer i guess) and when I ran the script again, it just changed the name back. Some reason When I run it it never creats a ListB.txt. But like I said its not a problem for me, I understand what I need to do, so it works for me. This thing is great. Thanks you.

    As far as the speed thing at work I'm only have USB 1 but still I can manualy copy file to and from my card in a lot less time. Probly to fill the card and then read it back off would take maybe, 20,25 min. Oh well.
    UntenOps

  10. #30
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    El Paso
    Posts
    2
    blurp, one request, can you make a change to the script so that when it compares the files, its not case sensitive? Some reason some of my files are cap on one PC and not on the other. So every time I run it, it copies the same files again and again. If it’s not too difficult. I really wish I knew enough to do this myself.
    UntenOps

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. mp3's only playing on right speakers
    By 3onDubs in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 10:53 AM
  2. file sync for WiFi - SFFS
    By satmanuk in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2005, 02:55 AM
  3. what are you using to sync your mp3's
    By liquid_smoke in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 05-04-2005, 04:06 PM
  4. sync files
    By psuter in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-25-2005, 04:11 AM
  5. MP3s cutting out/playing choppy..
    By SLAYER6669 in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2005, 10:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •