Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Legal Question

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    178

    Post Legal Question

    I have a copy of office 2000 professional that I am going to sell. I registered it, and had it installed on my comp for about a month before I "found" a better version and started using that. My question is whether or not it will be a big mess when the guy who buys it tries to register it.

  2. #2
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568

    Post

    Maybe I shouldn't say this, but register MS software? Bill doesn't need to know my info. Anyways, long as the software is only installed on one computer I won't worry.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    37

    Post

    Office 2k requires registration within so many days or some programs will stop working. The forerunner to XP's registration.

    I lent a copy to a friend so he could use powerpoint, and it would have worked fine for the time he needed it, but he regged it, we have it regged, and so far the feds haven't come knocking on either of our doors.

    However I did smack my friend around a little bit for that.

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    178

    Post

    Funny.

  5. #5
    Retired Admin Aaron Cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,464

    Cool

    Not to nit pick, but Office 2K does not require registration. It's an optional step. XP requires registration.
    Player: Pentium 166MMX, Amptron 598LMR MB w/onboard Sound, Video, LAN, 10.2 Gig Fujitsu Laptop HD, Arise 865 DC-DC Converter, Lexan Case, Custom Software w/Voice Interface, MS Access Based Playlists
    Car: 1986 Mazda RX-7 Turbo (highly modded), 1978 RX-7 Beater (Dead, parting out), 2001 Honda Insight
    "If one more body-kitted, cut-spring-lowered, farty-exhausted Civic revs on me at an intersection, I swear I'm going to get out of my car and cram their ridiculous double-decker aluminium wing firmly up their rump."

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    178

    Post

    The version that I have requires registration. Without it the program becomes non functional after 30 days. Are you saying there is a way around that?

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milford, CT USA
    Posts
    91

    Post

    if i recall correctly, there are student versions of Office out there, and its those ones that need the registration. I used to run Office 2000 Pro and never had that problem. Ive since moved to a hax0red version of Office XP that doesnt give me any bull****.

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    178

    Post

    Yeah, I have a similar office program that I actually use. But this one is the full retail version that they sell for like $600 new or whatever. Anyway, I think I will just sell it and whatever happens happens.

  9. #9
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Post

    Dont register online...call the 1-800 number they give you (5 minute wait)...say you dont have internet access. Then they will give you the code to unlock the 30-day lock. If you already regged online...call up anyways and say the comp crashed and you got a new one. They'll give you the code as long as its only going to be installed on one computer...try not to laugh when you say "I promise".

    Ive had the problem of trying to put it on a second comp and regging online (after I uninstalled it off the first computer of course). Got a nice little message back saying that it was already installed on another computer..cant proceed. Thats when I called and "Promissed" I deleted everything.


    Student versions of Office 2000 DO require registration.
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  10. #10
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Media, PA, USA
    Posts
    100

    Post

    i believe that the first version of office 2k did not. after you install it, it simply asks if you would like to register. yes or no. sr1 and later does require you to register.

    jeremy

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •