Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Point to Point Wifi-anybody know where to get info on parts

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate riddle14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    511

    Point to Point Wifi-anybody know where to get info on parts

    I am in Iraq and I have a Satellite Internet connection. Which by the way is actually pretty good. Anyways I only have the connection at my Hangar and I would like to have it back in my room which is a mile away. I have no line of site issues between the two places. I have found some websites that sell Point to Point systems but they are anywhere from 500 dollars and up. Here is one that i have found(http://www.jackwireless.com/product_...products_id=28) that will work but the parts seem so simple that there has to be a place where i can get it for cheaper. So if anybody could help me out and point me in the right direction i would appreciate it. Especially with a list of parts that i would need. Thanks.

    Also here is a list of parts that i already have:

    Satelite Dish
    Satelite iDirect Modem
    24 port switch

    If have to have these 3 at the Hangar.

    Linksys wireless G router (extra)
    "I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I know so!!!!" Now I'm here!!

    By "ToneRiddle"

  2. #2
    Calm
    Down
    Or
    Get
    A
    2
    Week
    Vacation
    -Love
    The
    Forum
    Policeman
    Wiredwrx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,605
    Quote Originally Posted by riddle14
    I am in Iraq and I have a Satellite Internet connection. Which by the way is actually pretty good. Anyways I only have the connection at my Hangar and I would like to have it back in my room which is a mile away. I have no line of site issues between the two places. I have found some websites that sell Point to Point systems but they are anywhere from 500 dollars and up. Here is one that i have found(http://www.jackwireless.com/product_...products_id=28) that will work but the parts seem so simple that there has to be a place where i can get it for cheaper. So if anybody could help me out and point me in the right direction i would appreciate it. Especially with a list of parts that i would need. Thanks.

    Also here is a list of parts that i already have:

    Satelite Dish
    Satelite iDirect Modem
    24 port switch

    If have to have these 3 at the Hangar.

    Linksys wireless G router (extra)
    Sure, check out the "cantenna" You might be able to build it yourself, but you can definitely buy it. Then you will need some wireless cards capable of using the cantenna. if you can find the Orinoco Silver cards, that would be good. There are others.

    The other issue will be getting the wireless system to interface with the Sat Link. Not sure how you can do that. You will probably need a computer or a router/ap.

    If you use a router/ap, then you just set it up as any other Wifi System, but if you are using a computer at the Sat end, you can use an AD/HOC setup.

    Michael
    ...I love the French language...especially to curse with...Nom de Dieu de putain de bordel de merde de saloperies de connards d'enculés de ta mère. You see, it's like wiping your *** with silk, I love it.

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate will1384's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Jefferson, AR U.S.A
    Posts
    331

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate riddle14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    511
    thanks guys. as for the satellite system, all i would have to do is hook an "AP" into the 24 port switch. I can then configure the ip address's. No big deal there.

    i have been to most of those sites that will1384 had listed. I was kind of trying to find a "lazy mans" method. As apposed to building it myself. I stay pretty busy here and wouldn't really have the time to build and test. I kind of just want to be able to hook it up, point the dishes or antennas, configure the network and be done. so i guess i might just have to shell out the 500 bucks to make it that easy. anybody else have any ideas?? thanks
    "I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I know so!!!!" Now I'm here!!

    By "ToneRiddle"

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    86
    You could get a couple of wrt54g's and put them in their shared bridge mode (requires a firmware hack which should only take 5 minutes of your time). Then you would just have to use a set of antenna's on either end. The best part of that is that you "could" isolate that connection from your 24 port switch to put it in a DMZ with no direct connections to your other wired network. Either way with a line of sight you could probably do it with 2 $20 cantennas off ebay. All told I would not think more than $100 in parts (then you have ot get it shipped).

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate riddle14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    511
    the linksys router i have is a wrt54gs is it different than a wrt54g. The model i have has two antennas. I did some reading up on it a while ago and they said that i would have to put two antennas on it because of some reason. It had something to do with picking the better signal from one of the antennas. Basically you couldnt just use one. Do you think the power of these routers and a cantennas would go the mile distance?
    "I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I know so!!!!" Now I'm here!!

    By "ToneRiddle"

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by riddle14
    the linksys router i have is a wrt54gs is it different than a wrt54g. The model i have has two antennas. I did some reading up on it a while ago and they said that i would have to put two antennas on it because of some reason. It had something to do with picking the better signal from one of the antennas. Basically you couldnt just use one. Do you think the power of these routers and a cantennas would go the mile distance?

    First, the GS is just an upgraded G. It has the speed boast, more memory and better circuits. Everything I listed will work better with the GS with one catch. If you have the one with the "EASY Setup Button" on the front you are SOL. That one runs ?Windows CE? but either way you cant flash it the same. Now as for 2 cantennas...Yeah 2 will give you a better chance of getting a good signal in an omni mode, but what I do is leave one antenna the stock omni directional, and replace the other with the directed cantenna. If you are truelly worried about the cantenna not being up to par then spend the extra $100 and instead of 2 cantennas get 2 nice yaggi. As for the range...Once you flash the firmware you will actually be able to boost the signal strength of the wrt and the fact that you are in a very flat desert should help. Now if you dont want to chance all of this your last option is...Moonblink... http://www.moonblink.com/pd_super_range.cfm That thing is a BEAST. 400mw... Technically it is illegal to turn on in the US without a special licence.

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate riddle14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    511
    do you happen to know where to get that firmware for the wrt54gs? Luckily i dont have the one with the "Easy Setup Button". The Moonblink option, it is mini-pci. Now i know this might sound "noobish" but does mini-pci go in a regular PCI slot? If so, we wouldn't be able to use that. All we have are laptops.
    "I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I'm going back to Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), Cali(Iraq), I know so!!!!" Now I'm here!!

    By "ToneRiddle"

  9. #9
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    86
    just google openwrt (that is the name of the firmware you should flash), as for the mini-pci yeah you wouldn't be able to use that in a laptop but that same sight has the pcmcia cards that are used to win the wifi-shootout, and I know that people have used yaggi and cantennas with those to get GREAT distnaces. You should good wifi-shootout and read about it, I think the current record is over a mile.

  10. #10
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,949
    Also, the linksys model you reference has two antennas to allow both 802.11b and 802.11g adapters to connect simultaneously. One is for 802.11b and the other is for 802.11g.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Similar Threads

  1. Access point as WiFI client?
    By greenman100 in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 12:08 PM
  2. Power line homeplug wifi 802.11b access point network
    By Jammer in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2005, 04:23 PM
  3. External WiFi Receiver w/ Ethernet Port?
    By VanMan69 in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-18-2004, 11:31 AM
  4. FS: Misc. Laptop Parts on EBay (also wifi card)
    By Bama5150 in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 12:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •