Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Internet help?

  1. #11
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by dovla
    Check your WRT54G rules. Which firmware are you running?

    But then, you already tried bypassing router did you renew (change) your IP then?
    upgraded to the latest firmware...

    renewed the IP about 100 times, both as a wireless product and a direct connection...

    Now I'm in minute 41 of being on hold with Dell support. So far I've talked to 3 people and described the problem in detail. Yet somehow they keep transferring me to the wrong department for help.

    I mean...I CAN'T CONNECT WITH A WIRELESS CONNECTION ON M LAPTOP

    Can I make that ANY clearer? So far I've been sent to the desktop department, the LAN department, and the monitors department. Of course no one in any department is trained to help with wireless connections on a laptop so they just pawn me off on someone else.

    I'm about 10 minutes away from boxing the whole thing up, shipping it back to dell for a refund with a big note on it saying "The reason you're giving me a refund is because no one in your company gives a **** about fixing this"

  2. #12
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    We're in minute 54 of that phone call now. Still nothing.

  3. #13
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    1 hour and 2 minutes to get to the wireless department and all the guy wants to do is argue with me on the spelling of my name. As if that's relevant in the first place!

  4. #14
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    I hate Dell. I truely do. They are a ignorant, deciteful, stupid company.

    AFter 1 hour and 38 minutes on the phone they tell me the hardware is functioning perfectly. I agree with them on that. I can ping websites from the command prompt perfectly.

    That's as far as they care though. Since it's not a hardware problem they tell me I have to deal with their pay for service software department, who will charge me money to get help with my BRAND NEW COMPUTER.

    PAy for someone to tell me how to fix something they just sold me?

    NOT IN THIS LIFETIME!!!!!!

    Screw Dell and all they stand for. I might even sell my mutual funds because they invest in Dell on matters of general principle.

    Anyone have any suggestions for the software problems since we've ruled out hardware?

  5. #15
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    What browser(s) are you using?

    Are any programs that access the internet working? Since you can ping a hostname, will an Instant Messenger program work? Windows update?, etc....

    I definitely feel your pain as far as Dell is concerned. And I just can't stand windows networking issues.
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  6. #16
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    HAHAAH!!!!

    I just called the pay per service number. They want $239, that's two hundren thirty nine, to tell me how to fix this.

    That's almost half the purchase price of the computer! It's a week old!

    I find that commical.

    Unless someone can tell me how to fix this issue myself, Dell's attempt to weasle $239 out of me is going to cost them $600. That has to be the worst customer service I have EVER dealt with in my life, and I've had some doozies.

  7. #17
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by nkotch
    What browser(s) are you using?

    Are any programs that access the internet working? Since you can ping a hostname, will an Instant Messenger program work? Windows update?, etc....

    I definitely feel your pain as far as Dell is concerned. And I just can't stand windows networking issues.
    No. Nothing works.

    Internet explorer, Forefox, Instant Messanger...nothing. It acts as though there's not an internet connect within 1000 miles in every way, except that it tells me it's online.

    Is a system restore a viable option?

  8. #18
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    You could try that, I personally don't like system restore b/c I've never had good luck with it.... I would probably do a full reinstall if you have the windows cd. Has the internet worked at all since you've had it? (Did it just all of a sudden crap out one day, or after something specific was installed).

    EDIT: By the way....nice setup in your car, nice job!
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  9. #19
    Maximum Bitrate Skipjacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by nkotch
    You could try that, I personally don't like system restore b/c I've never had good luck with it.... I would probably do a full reinstall if you have the windows cd. Has the internet worked at all since you've had it? (Did it just all of a sudden crap out one day, or after something specific was installed).

    EDIT: By the way....nice setup in your car, nice job!
    Thanks on the car. That computer works fine. I design one to use completely outside the parameters of what the components were made for and it works flawlessly. I buy a friggin' laptop and the thing is haywire out of the box. Go figure, right?

    Yeah teh internet just crapped out yesterday. I installed the internet on it in the morning and it worked like a charm. I restarted teh machine 5 hours later and crap.

  10. #20
    Bowel movement jjh221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    not sure yet.
    Posts
    1,645
    try to reset your router then reset your modem then reboot your computer.

    oh and only have one connected computer to your modem. So only go from modem to router.

    Then after your router is reset, meaning all passwords and stuff erased to default. Try your wireless first. If it doesnt work then connect to it with cat cable, or try and repair your wireless network. I wont work but it will refresh the list im pretty sure. Then refesh your list and try again.



    Or like me, Reformat all new computers!
    I GIVE FREE HUGS!
    Buy Sell or Trade
    If my pm box is full, please feel free to call me any time. 440-328-3382
    Thank you
    Forex
    Rate Mp3car @ FXroot.com


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Instructions on getting FREE wireless internet from T-Mobile using GPRS
    By bankingdom in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 298
    Last Post: 08-16-2011, 02:37 PM
  2. Need wireless internet advice / help !
    By coffeejolts in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2006, 05:35 PM
  3. Drop-down menus don't work? Read this!
    By gnomad in forum Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 01:15 PM
  4. how do i get the basic internet
    By carchrism5 in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-14-2005, 11:24 PM
  5. Any using Nextel for wireless carputer internet?
    By Rireal in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2003, 09:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •