Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Pulling video off of a DVR

  1. #1
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500

    Pulling video off of a DVR

    There's got to be a way to do this!

    I have a friend who has his TiVO set-up to do it, but we don't have TiVO, just 2 DVRs...

    does anyone have any ideas?
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  2. #2
    Maximum Bitrate 3onDubs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Anaheim Hills, Ca
    Posts
    847
    Quote Originally Posted by Red GTi VR6
    There's got to be a way to do this!

    I have a friend who has his TiVO set-up to do it, but we don't have TiVO, just 2 DVRs...

    does anyone have any ideas?
    I have seen advanced video cards that allow you to plug in A/V cables and you can record and edit video feeds with the software. This would work the same way with DVR. Just run your A/V cables into your pc, so that your pc monitor now becomes your TV and use the software that came with the video card to record video off DVR. You can then change the file format, save it, upload it, send it, burn it to a cd...or anything else you would do with a video file.
    PostCount++


    - SrCsTc's Bezel
    - Alpine W200/H701
    - ED Nine.2X
    - OZ Matrix Elites
    - ED Nine.1
    - Idmax 12's

  3. #3
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    hrmmm- that MIGHT work - but I'd have to get one hell of a long AV cable...lol
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  4. #4
    What can I say? I like serial. Curiosity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florence Yall, BFKY
    Posts
    2,684
    Does the DVR have USB or firewire? Lots of people are hacking the cable and sat DVR boxes to pull the video off. I don't know how though.

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate cpjolicoeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    83
    you have any more info about exactly what type of DVR's they are and what service you use them with (DirectTV / Comcast / etc...)

    most of the company specific DVR's are handled differently. a little more info might lead to an answer.
    STATUS: Planning / In Progress / Completed
    COMPLETE: [*********] 100%
    CAR: '02 Mitsubishi Lancer OZ Rally
    SYSTEM: EPIA M10000
    GPS: HaiCOMM 303e GPS, Routis 2004
    DISPLAY: 7" Xenarc 700TSV
    POWER: OPUS PW-70a + ITPS Combo
    MISC: DVD, WLAN

  6. #6
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    comcast

    http://broadband.motorola.com/dvr/dct6412.asp

    it's got the USB ports on em (front and rear)...
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Quote Originally Posted by Red GTi VR6
    hrmmm- that MIGHT work - but I'd have to get one hell of a long AV cable...lol
    http://www.cablesforless.com/index.a...S&Category=421

    50 ft. RCA x3 = $20
    75 ft. RCA x3 = $25
    100 ft. RCA x3 = $30


    I have the 50 ft, and have been very impressed with the quality. I use it from a computer to my kids' room so they can watch their movies. I have ripped their movies to iso, and use daemon tools so that they don't touch the original DVDs any more.

    Note: These cables have separate shields, not shared. This helps cut down on crosstalk a lot.
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

  8. #8
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    Oh - I don't have to worry about actually GETTING one....My fiance works at Electrograph (www.electrograph.com) - the nations largest distributer of Plasma and LCD tvs....they also get peripherals (sp?)..all at less than what it would cost someone who works for a retailer...

    I think that I'll just have to move the computer closer to a TV...but first I need a better video card and in order to run a better video card I need a faster processor and in order to upgrade the processor I need to upgrade the mobo, then my old memory won't work...blah blah blah

    I guess I'll just have to start saving as this is the only way that makes an sense!

    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  9. #9
    What can I say? I like serial. Curiosity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florence Yall, BFKY
    Posts
    2,684
    LOL
    There is no end to upgrading.

    I've heard of people getting into that Motorola box through firewire, but on some they don't have it or the USB enabled so it's not a sure thing you can do anything. Recording directly to the PC is much easier.

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate blurp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, TN
    Posts
    349
    Quote Originally Posted by Red GTi VR6
    Oh - I don't have to worry about actually GETTING one....My fiance works at Electrograph (www.electrograph.com) - the nations largest distributer of Plasma and LCD tvs....they also get peripherals (sp?)..all at less than what it would cost someone who works for a retailer...

    I think that I'll just have to move the computer closer to a TV...but first I need a better video card and in order to run a better video card I need a faster processor and in order to upgrade the processor I need to upgrade the mobo, then my old memory won't work...blah blah blah

    I guess I'll just have to start saving as this is the only way that makes an sense!


    Ah, yes, electrograph. I used to buy monitors from their Atlanta office, IIRC. By the way, I've got an Nvidia personal cinema AGP card running on the compuer that is hooked up to my kids' TV. It's only an Athlon XP 1700+ w/ 512MB RAM. Of course, the XP 3000+ with 1GB RAM runs it better, but mainly the benefit is only in the rendering/encoding time. I have the same card in both systems. I have all the iso's on one pc, and mount them across GbE. We can watch 2 movies in 2 rooms at the same time off the same hard drive with no problem.
    www.bradleyjacobs.com

    There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life. -- Frank Zappa

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble with PCI video card install ... help!!!
    By DonkeyBoy in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2005, 05:22 PM
  2. Build my PC?
    By diddy0071 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-11-2005, 01:00 AM
  3. onboard video vs a video card, power and cpu usage
    By stapan in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 03:43 PM
  4. Extreme video playback choppyness with HVAC software
    By Dexter in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-11-2005, 02:24 AM
  5. Media Car video player
    By MatrixPC in forum MediaCar
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2004, 01:33 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •