Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: stupid 16x9 tv question can not figure out

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate michaelrj9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    288

    stupid 16x9 tv question can not figure out

    I have a 16x9 HD TV.
    Why does the DVD movies or shows that are made in 16x9 still have the black bars on the top and the bottom?

    What is the purpose of a 16x9 tv if you still have the bars on the top & bottom.
    Thanks
    Michael

  2. #2
    Raw Wave wizardPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    2,635
    Did you RTFM?

    I dunno, since I can't afford a 16x9 TV
    Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
    Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
    I'M DEBT FREE!!
    I'm now a reasonably successful gunblogger.

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    From the first few results of a google search:

    http://www.widescreen.org/widescreen_tv_qa.shtml

    http://www.hdtvsolutions.com/letterbox.htm

    Used to install custom home theaters so I pretty much heard this question every day!
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  4. #4
    FLAC PatO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Afton MN
    Posts
    1,120
    I use "Full" mode - Stretches the horizontal and crops the vertical so the picture always fits. Makes everyone fat, but with all the skinny girls on TV now, they look normal...
    http://www.jeepmp3.com/
    CarPC Stolen. Starting over.
    Ne1 recognize the avatar?

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    Michaelrj9: what kind of tv is it? (LCD, CRT, DLP, etc...)

    Different brands do stretch modes a little differently and some brands are better than others so find a couple modes that you can live with watching. Personally I like to see what the filmer/camera originally recorded and would rather deal w/ a few black bars than a distorted/stretched image
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  6. #6
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by PatO
    I use "Full" mode - Stretches the horizontal and crops the vertical so the picture always fits. Makes everyone fat, but with all the skinny girls on TV now, they look normal...

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate roadhog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    291
    It's the perennial square box oblong picture debate.
    Thanks to knotch for two excellent and informative links.

    To sum up:

    If your screen is rectangular (16:9 widescreen etc) and your film is square (well almost 1.66:1) –
    You either loose top and bottom or have two blank (black) areas right and left.
    The third option is to stretch the picture so everyone looks silly.

    If your screen is rectangular (16:9 widescreen etc) and your film is even more rectangular (2.35:1)-
    You loose left and right or have two blank (black) areas top and bottom.
    The third option is Mr PotatoHead meets the fat chicks.

    Your film has not been stolen, cut or otherwise interfered with, at least by your telly.

  8. #8
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,949
    I'm willing to bet the signal from your video source is RCA composite (the single yellow RCA video connection) and not component or DVI.
    Composite video doesn't cary the right signal to display HD at the dimensions you want.

    And no, I don't know the technical details behind it.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Similar Threads

  1. Stupid Dos question
    By Dustin Haug in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-07-2001, 07:01 AM
  2. a stupid question...
    By rep999 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-01-2001, 01:19 PM
  3. Stupid question...?again...
    By Meoff in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2000, 07:09 PM
  4. Can I ask a stupid question?
    By adjolley in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-24-1999, 02:58 PM
  5. Another question, re: MoBo w/ TV out
    By PeterMac in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-08-1999, 02:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •