Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Need Help with Linksys Routing, Please...

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate DJiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles (Winnetka), CA
    Posts
    864

    Need Help with Linksys Routing, Please...

    Hello People,

    I have been using a Linksys WRT54G (v.2) router for about 2 years now. Pretty much problem-free, I shall add.
    Today I bought a WRT54GS (v.2) at a garage sale for dirt cheap.
    I got it to work within about 10 minutes, upgraded to the latest firmware from Linksys (4.70.6), and made sure it's working fine.

    Well, so far so good, but here comes my question/problem/request:
    I'd like to use the 'GS' as a hub only, meaning, it'd get the internet from the 'G' and pass it along on a wired network to 3 client computers.
    (I've already disabled the wireless connection on that one, so wireless isn't an issue here.)
    The 'G', however, would still provide Wireless, Routing, and Maintain the DSL Connection it's getting from the modem (as it have done in the past).

    I've tried messing with the "Advanced Routing" settings in both Routers. I've also changed the DHCP and Static IP settings to what I thought was correct, but none of that helped.

    To be honest with you, I don't even know whether I should connect the cable coming from the 'G' router to the 'GS's' Internet or LAN port.

    If anyone has a clue, I'm down to try anything except for moving to someone else's firmware (other than Linksys's)

    Thanks in Advance.
    For Sale: Carputer (CarPC) & RCA Y-Adapter
    Newsflash: Take a look at my unsold stuff above, thanks!
    Up Next: Make an OBD to Serial cable & Redo the "MMI buttons"

  2. #2
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Use:
    The uplink port to LAN port. (Regular cable)

    Or

    LAN port to LAN port with a crossover cable.

    No settings need to be set on the 'GS' as it is just being used as a hub.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate DJiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles (Winnetka), CA
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by ODYSSEY
    Use:
    The uplink port to LAN port, or it might be uplink port to uplink port. (Regular cable)
    You mean use a regular RJ-45 from LAN-Out on 'G' into Internet Port on the 'GS'?
    For Sale: Carputer (CarPC) & RCA Y-Adapter
    Newsflash: Take a look at my unsold stuff above, thanks!
    Up Next: Make an OBD to Serial cable & Redo the "MMI buttons"

  4. #4
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Just checked linksys site. Neither of those routers have a uplink port, so just connect a crossover cable to a LAN port on each router.

    You also do the following: (Not the best option, but works)
    1) Connect LAN port of 'G' to WAN port of 'GS' (regular cable)
    2) Configure the 'GS' with a dynamic IP. (Also turn off DHCP)
    3) Place the dynamic IP of the 'GS' in the 'G' DMZ.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    If you want to keep it all in the same subnet just connect a regular cable from a normal LAN port on the G to a normal LAN port on the GS. Before you do that assign a LAN IP on the GS that's on the same subnet as the G and turn off DHCP on the GS.
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate DJiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles (Winnetka), CA
    Posts
    864
    OK Guys, thanks for the tips.

    Here's what I'm gonna do right now:
    1) Follow nkotch's advice because I don't have a crossover cable around (and don't really feel like crimping one at 1am).
    2) If (1) doesn't work, follow Odyssey's unrecommended advice.
    3) If (2) doesn't work, I'll get off my lazy *** and make a crossover tomorrow or something...

    I'll get back to you on this one in a few minutes (no internet while testing).
    For Sale: Carputer (CarPC) & RCA Y-Adapter
    Newsflash: Take a look at my unsold stuff above, thanks!
    Up Next: Make an OBD to Serial cable & Redo the "MMI buttons"

  7. #7
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Hub/Switch to Hub/Switch requires a crossover cable.

    http://www.zytrax.com/tech/layer_1/cables/tech_lan.htm

    The following diagram shows the Normal use of Crossed and Straight cables (see also the notes below).


    Notes:

    We show Straight cables as BLUE and Crossed as RED. That is our convention the cable color can be anything you choose or more likely the vendor decides.

    To avoid the need for Crossed cables many vendors provide UPLINK ports on Hubs or Switches - these are specially designed to allow the use of a STRAIGHT cable when connecting back-to-back Hubs or Switches. Read the manufacturers documentation carefully.
    Some devices have auto-uplink ports, but not these routers.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate DJiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles (Winnetka), CA
    Posts
    864
    I followed what you guys have said in the first two tips, and unfortunately neither of them helped.
    I was able to ping www.google.com from the 'GS' router but not from "cmd" on the computer (using the nkotch's method).
    DMZ didn't work at all...
    It does make sense to use a crossover cable.

    So far, thats all I've got...
    For Sale: Carputer (CarPC) & RCA Y-Adapter
    Newsflash: Take a look at my unsold stuff above, thanks!
    Up Next: Make an OBD to Serial cable & Redo the "MMI buttons"

  9. #9
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Does the 'GS' have an option to use as an access point?

    I know that option on my Belkin turns the router into a switch.

    Try over here: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/linksys
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate nkotch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    412
    On the linksys spec sheet it says all the ports do "auto-crossover" so you don't need a crossover cable....most are like this now.
    Nick
    '99 Ford Escort ZX2 CarPC <-- RIP Feb '07

    2006 Chevy Equinox LS (Current Project)

    **VIA EPIA PD 1ghz Mobo, OPUS 150, 7" LinITX LCD touchscreen, 512 Ram, 60Gig HD, DLink Bluetooth, Belkin 802.11g wireless,

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows XP w/wireless Linksys USB vs NetStumbler trying to wardrive
    By clean customs in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-07-2009, 11:18 AM
  2. F/S: Linksys Wireless G USB Receiver with moded Antenna
    By LESLIEx317537 in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-19-2005, 07:56 PM
  3. FS: LINKSYS Wireless Router (NEW)
    By oekundar in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2005, 08:23 AM
  4. Linksys KVM and Slimp3 network mp3 player and VoiP unit
    By PrimusSucks in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2004, 05:47 PM
  5. GPS Mapping and Routing on Linux
    By sumit_b in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2003, 05:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •