Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Changing MT fluid....my self?

  1. #11
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    yeah right.... you'll probably get that "deer in the headlights" look from the counter guy

  2. #12
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084
    no 24mm gaskets at the store. but got the ol $4 funnel with tube for ease of adding new fluid.

    I dont have the celica GT-S 6spd tranny, but from the image I got on another forum the gaskets looks metal and not rubber...maybe its grey rubber?

    Name:  hyoctane-E-fill-drain-bolts.JPG
Views: 207
Size:  97.8 KB

    you can see that thread here

    now that I think about it, was the "funnel with 1/2" tubing attachment" what I wanted, or do I need one with an actual "hand pump"?
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  3. #13
    Banned Motorcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    984
    Those are aluminum compression seals. Shouldn't re-use. May be a deasler only part. But they are cheap.

  4. #14
    Banned Motorcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    984
    Those are just like the copper seals on the banjo bolts for a disc brake caliper. Good for 1 tightening, then that's it. Re-use may cause leaks.

  5. #15
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084
    why does the celica and seperate matrix forum not mention anything about buying a new washer...

    for instance:

    Once you know what bolt's to remove to accomplish the task, lets get dirty ! First remove the top fill plug - which is the 17 mm bolt. This is to allow air to fill the space of the old oil while it is draining. After it is removed place it and the washer aside in a safe clean place, you'll need it again.
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  6. #16
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    I've reused compression washers hundreds of times without issues, that said it is a good idea to replace them if available

  7. #17
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084
    sooo, where would I get one of those?

    and is my funnel with tube the right thing for the refill job?
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  8. #18
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    to use a funnel you have to have gravity.... if you can get the quart of oil & the funnel above the level of the fill hole it will work, generally it won't work for a manual tranny refill unless you make a hole in the floor & pour through your center console on a rwd, front wheel drive shouldn't need a pump in most cases...

    if you can get a hose to drop down & in from the funnel you don't need a pump...... the reason for a pump is to pour the fluid in while it is above the level of the fluid... pressure to make the fluid go up & in...

  9. #19
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    the washers are going to be easiest to get from the dealer or a good parts store

  10. #20
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    go to the dealer for a new washer - it will cost you less than a dollar.

    the procedure for your car is like most (mine included) and it is a piece of ****. Jsut make sure you have the car flat and level as you fill the box up to the drain plug which is at a set height. if the car is on a hill or on a cambered road then you can under or overfill the gearbox.

    yes warming the oil by driving round can help but this can also mean there is oil on the gears so you dont get it all out. TBH i wouldnt bother and would do it when the car has been sat overnight as long as it is not freezing cold there.

    Also double check the sump plug everyday for a few days after you have done it to make sure you dont have a leak. park over some paper towel so you can see any leaks.

    it is slightly harder than changing your engine oil as the filler neck is in a more awkward place but tbh it is very easy so dont worry.

    from now on you will do all your own oil changes as well. As long as you have a proper drain tray (makes a difference for the sake of a few $'s) and maybe a filter wrench (i dont bother - i either use my hand or punch a large screwdriver through the old filter) and get a sump plug socket and you will be sorted for oil changes for ever!

    just put the old oil back into an old oil can (keep one spare as you never use a whole can) and then take it to the oil recycling place.

    oh and when at the dealer get a couple of spare sump washers (tranny and engine) so you have them in spare as the petrol you use to get them is more than the cost of the washers (gaskets).

    Oh and always buy your filters from the dealer. OEM filters are the satest bet as not all filters are made equal. My pug filters are many times better than the regualr motor factor ones and cost less (£6 each). The air filter is also cheaper than most car parts places own brands and the fuel filter is only about £4 more expensive but hardly ever has to be changed.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lane changing cams...
    By juve021 in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 05:26 PM
  2. Changing weather city in RR
    By nkotch in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 05:29 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 04:45 PM
  4. Xenarc changing colours ???
    By Sunglassesron in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2004, 01:20 PM
  5. resolution changing program please?
    By cus in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2004, 03:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •