Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Changing MT fluid....my self?

  1. #1
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084

    Changing MT fluid....my self?

    Anyone have experience changing their own transmission oil?

    Id like to say Im "mechanically inclined" but when it comes to cars, I know enough, but not enough to do everything myself.

    i dont change my own engine oil because of the cleanup and not having a garage, jacks etc etc.

    but when it comes to finally changing out my MT fluid/oil ive been quoted $60-75 just for the labor because I bought my own Redline MT90 oil.

    I think $60 is kinda crazy when I read up on how easy it is to change the MT fluid in my Matrix. Problem is the main forums i puruse have mostly the XRS (high end celica engine version) when people talk about doing their own MT changes. My engine is the smaller corolla engine.

    The Manual says it takes 1.9qts.

    I bought 2 qts....and I bought them online cuz no one in town sells it.

    I am scared to do my own change with only 2 qts, and find out its gonna take more than what I have, leaving me with air in my tranny....i guess I could recycle a tiny bit of the old used oil....

    anyone got any advice?
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  2. #2
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    the tranny should take 1.9 qts if those are the specs.... usually the procedure is to remove a lower drain plug... drain... then fill from an upper fill plug.....

    there are some that have no lower drain plug & you need to suck it out, then theres the problem of needing a pump with a hose to refill it, as it's underneith & can't be filled from the top like an engine....

    I'd say try to identify the drain & fill plugs, & if you have a way to pump the oil back in then you should be o.k.....

    the flip side of this is I have seen many guys screw there car up to try & save a few bucks doing it themselves, in general if your not confident that you can do it without a problem it may actually be the cheapest option of just having a pro do it on a lift..... with the right equiptment for the job..... the biggest variable is going to be the fill procedure & what's necissary for it, weather an injection pump or ???

  3. #3
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084
    From the DIY on here

    i know where that is on my car, there is alot of room under the car near the tranny so I dont think id even need to jack it up.

    everyone seems to promote getting a pump to avoid spilling and making sure all of it goes into where it should.

    i think ill pick up the pump on the way home...
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  4. #4
    MySQL Error MatrixPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Beach City, Socal
    Posts
    4,053
    Not that hard. Make sure park your car on a level surface. I did it on the Supra all the time, but not yet on the Matrix. Well, will do it soon. I think the bolts are 22mm or 24mm.
    - Unscrew the drain plug (just below the left driveshaft)
    - Let the oil drain while unscrew the fill plug.
    - When no oil left in to drain, screw the drain plug. Use new gasket and torque to 29ftlb.
    - Slowly fill new oil via the fill hole until oil spill out. That is the MAX level. If your are short on oil, check with your finger to see if the level is about to spill out. The manual state that the MINIMUM is 5mm from oil level to spill out and MAX is spill out. So if you are anywhere in between, you are fine. And if you still need more oil, either buy more or just reuse some old one. I am sure that you can't completely drain all oil off the tranny. So there is always "old" oil in there. Besure the nothing drop in that drain oil otherwise you can't "re-use" it.
    2004 Matrix XR A7N8X-VM/400 AMD XP-M 2500+, DS-ATX
    89 Supra Turbo P3 600E@750/Abit BE6 II, Alpine M-BUS Car2PC.
    Y2K Accord Dell GX150
    RoadRunner is the best FE PERIOD
    EmoRebellion is a SCAMMER

  5. #5
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    most of the times a pump is manditory..... there are things that look like a huge hypodermic needle, you suck it in by pulling the plunger back to fill it & then inject it to the fill hole.... when it's full it will actually spill out... that's the fill point, but the car has to be level..... be carfull with it jacked up... to much of an angle & it won't be filled properly...

  6. #6
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    beat me to it

  7. #7
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084
    So I need new gaskets? Are the gaskets rubber or metal? and I need two?
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  8. #8
    Self proclaimed spoon feeder TruckinMP3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,742
    It is generally easier if the new fluid is warm to hot. as most of it is very thick at room temps.

    Heat in a bucket of hot water (do not get any water in the oil)
    TruckinMP3
    D201GLY2, DC-DC power, 3.5 inch SATA

    Yes, you should search... and Yes, It has been covered before!

    Read the FAQ!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    the gaskets are the washers on the drain plug.... they compressed when used & are a good idea to replace, although you could do them a few times without issues, to be safe pick up new ones if there easy to get...

  10. #10
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,084
    so i need a 24mm gasket. right.

    I assume an auto parts guy would know what im talking about...?
    (0.0%-) starting over
    iPad 3G 64GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL10W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lane changing cams...
    By juve021 in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 05:26 PM
  2. Changing weather city in RR
    By nkotch in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-06-2006, 05:29 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 04:45 PM
  4. Xenarc changing colours ???
    By Sunglassesron in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2004, 01:20 PM
  5. resolution changing program please?
    By cus in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2004, 03:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •