I've seen the same thing for a charger once, and it was the same exact wording. same exact reason, except a different eu country. It has to be somekind of a scam.
I am shopping for a new(er) vehicle to lower my payments.
I run across this on craigs list
http://denver.craigslist.org/car/158673129.html
Seems too good to be true... I send the email asking for more information, Hehe.
This is the reply:
*******************
Hi,
First of all I must tell you that I worked for 4 years in US
and now I am back home in Sweden. I take the car back home with me
because I didn't have time to sell it before I leave. Unfortunately I
can't sell this beautiful car here because it does not have the Euro 4 on
it and it's made only for the US market with the US specs that only can
be used there.The shipping is free because I have someone who works for
a shipping company and he is abble to help me. The car is still
registered in States (which means that you will not have to pay any duty
taxes) and the title is clear. The price for this Toyota : 4Runner LIMITED V6
is: US$ 3000.
I ask a little for this great car, since I am passing through a divorce
with my husband and I need to get rid of it fast. The car is in perfect
condition, never been involved in any accidents or something like that.
Again the title is clean so you will have no problems when you will
registered. The car passed the test emissions and it will come with all
documents that you need for register.
I think that the best way to finish this deal is trough a third party
which means that they will keep the money until you receive and inspect
the car.
This are the car details :
Miles: 116495 Doors: 4 doors Transmission: Automatic Interior:
Tan
Year: 1998 VIN Number: jt3gn87r4w0088714 Title: Clear Exterior:
Silver
Engine: 6 CYLINDER 3.4 LITER
Standard Equipment:
POWER WINDOWS CRUISE CONTROL LEATHER POWER DOOR LOCKS
POWER STEERING AIR CONDITIONING ABS AM/FM RADIO
LIMITED 2 WHEEL DRIVE POWER SEAT DUAL DUAL AIR BAGS
Fenera.
*******************
Smells fishy, I have asked how much they will end up spending on shipping to the US. If the answer is greater than $3000 then they should just sell it for scrap.
What do you think?
Cheers
TruckinMP3
D201GLY2, DC-DC power, 3.5 inch SATA
Yes, you should search... and Yes, It has been covered before!
Read the FAQ!
I've seen the same thing for a charger once, and it was the same exact wording. same exact reason, except a different eu country. It has to be somekind of a scam.
..This posting has been removed by craigslist community.
Dr. Ron Paul for President 2008
Hope for America - http://www.ronpaul2008.com
Who is Ron Paul? - Why do we need Ron Paul?
__________________
CarPC Newbs Start Here: All your questions answered, as if by E.S.P.
CL also saysAvoid scams & fraud by dealing locally:
· non-local deals involving shipping, wire transfer, or cashier checks are usually fraudulent
· there are no such things as "craigslist payment system", "craigslist buyer protection", or "craigslist seller certification"
· please report scam attempts to abuse@craigslist.org
Dr. Ron Paul for President 2008
Hope for America - http://www.ronpaul2008.com
Who is Ron Paul? - Why do we need Ron Paul?
__________________
CarPC Newbs Start Here: All your questions answered, as if by E.S.P.
Like I said.... smells fishy
A more recent post indicates this is a type of scam that craigslist is looking to stop.
TruckinMP3
D201GLY2, DC-DC power, 3.5 inch SATA
Yes, you should search... and Yes, It has been covered before!
Read the FAQ!
Let me share my story.
I saw an ebay auction last summer for a 2005 gsx-r 750 with chrome wheels, all done up, with a buy it now price of 3000 dollars. I hit buy it now, and got in touch with the seller.
He told me he just moved to germany, paid to crate up the bike and all accessories and ship it... but due to him not having some blah de blah that german bikes need, he was unable to register it and couldn't take it out of the airport and was having to pay daily to store it.
He said he was square trade verified and had feedback of 1200. I checked his other auctions, it was mostly kids toys and antiques, so I got suspicious.
He said the sale would go like this...
1. Wire the money to him, but not give him the wire transfer details
2. Give the information to the escrow service, squaretrade
3. Recieve the bike and verify everything is acceptable
4. Contact squaretrade and authorize them to release the wire transfer details so the guy can pick it up.
5. Drive away happy.
I called western union and found out the transfer info, he can't get the money. I couldn't figure out the angle on this, but it just seemed wrong to me
Did a whole BUNCH of research.
Turns out squaretrade doesn't work like he said. My guess is he somehow had a spoof page set up looking like squaretrade that he expected me to put the info into, so he could recieve his money.
Either way, yes, that's a scam, and it's not really new. Your guy didn't cover his tracks or have explanations for everything like my guy did, but it's still bull****.
I actually asked him how he sleeps at night ripping off honest people, and the guy went so far as to email back saying that he lives in a big house on a lake and drives a porsche. Said he needed a guy in the states to work for him (probably take the fall for him) and offered me the job.
Really, jeez. What a dick.
Yep...scam. My favorites are the people in some foreign country saying they have a quarter mil and they need a US citizen to deposit it for them and they'll split 1/2 the money with them.
Yea...until they ask for a security deposit to know you won't run away with their money. Ironic.Originally Posted by Tibby93
SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM........prolly got your hopes up, same **** happen to me with a charger for 10 grand pretty loaded but like a dumbass i almost believed it, this is a scam FO SHO
Bookmarks