Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cable Modem Help

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    119

    Cable Modem Help

    I have a question for you guys...
    We rent a beach house yearly for one week, (2 hours away) and last year I signed up for road runner for one month while I was down there so we could have high speed internet. The closest place to get the modem was 45 minutes away from the beach. All they did was turn on the modem at the time warner store and hand it to me. It worked at both beach houses that we rent. My question is, can I just bring my activated modem with me to the beach and use it there? Or will it not work, b/c it's 2 hours away?

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    335
    It's worth a try. They did more than activate your modem though. They most likely logged the MAC address of the modem. How far apart were the two beach houses it worked at? Is the 3rd beach house use the same cable company?
    ~Puff

    View my worklog... I dare you... http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/worklogs/77267-2003-audi-a4-worklog-puffs-ride.html

    Carputer Progress [||------------------] 10%

  3. #3
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    119
    here is a map:

    http://www.blackboxcarputers.com/temp/map.jpg

    I live in raliegh (top), the modem was picked up in wilmington (green flag), and used at Holden Beach (red flag)...

    Time warner has the service in all 3 areas..the 2 beach houses are side by side.

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate RPI Geek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Schenectady, NY
    Posts
    175
    I worked at a cable company for a while (it was a few years ago but things probably haven't changed much), and there was no real way to tell exactly where the modem was located. There were large areas that it could be narrowed down to, but these areas were 20 to 30-ish miles in diameter. They _can_ find out the MAC address, and know that it was your modem that you brought to another area, but usually only if it's the same cable company, and sometimes it's hard to track them across large distances.

    Another story: I lived for a summer in Connecticut, and one of the guys I lived with had about 3 cable modems... He would just rotate them out when they got switched off... They lasted anywhere from a week to a month. Sometimes he could even rotate the oldest one in and get service back on it!

    You're probably better off just piggybacking on someone's WiFi, though.
    Old plans out the window because of an accident .
    Have: M1-ATX, EPIA M10000, 256MB, 60GB 2.5", slim slot load DVD
    Need: Time, HU integration, ideas for Lilli

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    119
    thanks for the info..so I'm probably best off getting the 1 month of service to make sure it works. Last year when we were there, there was no wifi around.

Similar Threads

  1. Help! VX6100 USB cable
    By BiohazrD in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 PM
  2. Need help on extending the Lilliput cable
    By nthai in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-27-2005, 01:59 PM
  3. Phone compatible by cable
    By aguiu in forum PhoneControl
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-27-2005, 03:14 AM
  4. vga cable for lilliput
    By JaxPt in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 11:52 PM
  5. A cable I found.
    By masterful in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-17-2003, 10:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •