Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: help on network diagram

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    490

    help on network diagram

    I have to make a simple network diagram for class. He says he wants an external mail server and a web server. My question is, do I connect the web server to the router? Or does it get connected to something else? Here a diagram.


  2. #2
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,950
    Do your own homework.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    490
    Quote Originally Posted by DarquePervert
    Do your own homework.
    thanks for the help, i wouldent expect anything more of you.

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    335
    Not sure about it, but it looks right, or maybe it would attach to the firewall (unless that firewall is the one in the router). Isn't Visio cool though?
    ~Puff

    View my worklog... I dare you... http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/worklogs/77267-2003-audi-a4-worklog-puffs-ride.html

    Carputer Progress [||------------------] 10%

  5. #5
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Seattleish, WA
    Posts
    823
    You should leave it on the router, it'll reduce the traffic load on the workstation switch ports.

    The public will be able to get access to it by either declaring it's MAC address as DMZ or you could setup a port forward to it.

    There's a potential issue of having it behind the firewall. It can work that way, but if that server's gonna get beat on, then it's gonna slog your firewall. BUT - putting it outside of the firewall means that the machine itself will have to deal with all the crap that comes in across the 'net, plus it means that you'll have to have a 2nd IP address for it.

    I bring this up in the scope of what your teacher is looking for. You may get bonus points for knowing that there are multiple ways of doing this "right".


    Also.. is showing VPN part of the assignment? That's not common in a day-to-day public access network.
    :: Mark

Similar Threads

  1. mappoint wont install on network
    By chewEboy in forum GPS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2006, 05:39 PM
  2. Connecting laptop to Carputer via Network Cable.
    By norek in forum WinNT Based
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-16-2005, 10:55 AM
  3. Tv(UK SKY) over a network
    By Jimbo1978 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-06-2005, 04:11 PM
  4. Network connection detection in 1.12
    By ecoleman in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2005, 04:34 PM
  5. Wireless G - Wire'd Network Problems (Remote Desktop)
    By nFiniteTuning in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 06:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •