Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Desk or Lap for DJ Rig

  1. #1
    Raw Wave lostreception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,806

    Desk or Lap for DJ Rig

    maybe djexclusive and or some of the other djs might be able to help me out

    i just got rane serato whichis a digital dj program that allows me to control m3s in a physical enviornment thru turntable or cd decks by playing tinecode encoded tracks and interpreting them

    the requirements are anthing > 700mhz but they reccomend 1ghz

    im thinking ill get something running at like 1.5 to be safe

    the problem is i can't decide whether i should go laptop or desktop for the rig

    moeny at this point isnt an issue but im looking for cheap because i want the desktop or laptop to be unappealing to me so that i dont use it for anything else except dj software this way its 100% stable no internet viruses spyware etc

    so this leaves me with the dilemma i have a ruggedized dj case (grundorf) and it has room in it for either a small micro atx possibly (not sure) or a laptop

    desktop has some advantages as
    its cheaper
    the hard drives will fit inside rather then having to buy external enclosures and the keyboard i can paint and vinyl the hot keys right onto an old KB
    i wont be tempted to connect to the internet as i will just not add a wifi card
    most of the laptops are overkill for what im doing but i dont really wanna buy used if i can help it for fear of a non stable machine


    the laptop also has advantages for example
    if power is lost the battery will save the exact spot its at rather than having to reboot.
    its smaller and doesnt require buying a lcd
    its also more ruggedized


    what direction should i go with this
    .______
    | '_ |__\___
    [(o)|___(o)] XB
    ._________
    | I__I I_I|_\__I
    [(o)______(o)]b VanPimpin'

    LostReceptions Apps D/L Here

    GPSGasoline- Rewriting

    Draw- SkribblePad for Touchscreens

    iGQwerty-iG3.0 Qwerty Keyboard

    CarPCNetwork

  2. #2
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084
    I would go with a laptop, you have less things to pack up...

    You can get a decent laptop brand new for like $600 these days at CompUSA/Best Buy/Office Depot/etc....

    Peace,

    Rafster

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    20
    if you're going to use it for a dj business, dont puss out, get a good laptop to be sure that this one will play your music for a long while

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate DJiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles (Winnetka), CA
    Posts
    864
    Hey lostreception,
    Going desktop is a *****!
    I remember that back in the days I used to carry a 17" CRT monitor, a desktop, a full sized keyboard, all of the DJ equipment, and a bag of nothing but cables.
    The only good thing with the desktop was that I had three different audio cards with which I could record a live event.

    I've been doing this for 3 years now, and have finally bought the equipment to DJ out of the laptop.
    I purchased a FireWire external HD enclosure and an SB Live! external audio card.
    The laptop itself is a 3.0GHz 17" HP (ZD7000 series).
    For Sale: Carputer (CarPC) & RCA Y-Adapter
    Newsflash: Take a look at my unsold stuff above, thanks!
    Up Next: Make an OBD to Serial cable & Redo the "MMI buttons"

  5. #5
    Banned xdjxklusivex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Diamond Bar, CA (909,951)
    Posts
    2,742
    hey wats up nice that serato pulled in another member lol id go laptop forsure but make sure its stable as hell!! runs cool and isnt too big like djiks portable desktop on a lap hahaha

    ive got serato i run it on my averatec it runs great dont remember the proc speed off the top of my head but its got 512 ram and a 80 gig hd its a amd mobile only thing id like to change is how hot it gets other then that i love it

    btw how much did u pay for serato

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate DJiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles (Winnetka), CA
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by xdjxklusivex
    id go laptop forsure but make sure its stable as hell!! runs cool and isnt too big like djiks portable desktop on a lap hahaha
    You're just jealous because mine is 17 inches!
    For Sale: Carputer (CarPC) & RCA Y-Adapter
    Newsflash: Take a look at my unsold stuff above, thanks!
    Up Next: Make an OBD to Serial cable & Redo the "MMI buttons"

  7. #7
    Banned xdjxklusivex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Diamond Bar, CA (909,951)
    Posts
    2,742
    :-P its too big lol but hey whatever floats ur boat :-)

  8. #8
    Raw Wave lostreception's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,806
    Quote Originally Posted by xdjxklusivex
    hey wats up nice that serato pulled in another member lol id go laptop forsure but make sure its stable as hell!! runs cool and isnt too big like djiks portable desktop on a lap hahaha

    ive got serato i run it on my averatec it runs great dont remember the proc speed off the top of my head but its got 512 ram and a 80 gig hd its a amd mobile only thing id like to change is how hot it gets other then that i love it

    btw how much did u pay for serato
    539 plus tax then i found a great deal afterward for 499 and no tax i was ****ed and the dj shop is under new management and takes no returns BASTARDS

    how important is proc speed i was thinking any new 1.5intel or 1.4 amd or greater will do the job but i dont want and audio drops
    how important is the L1/L2 cache?
    .______
    | '_ |__\___
    [(o)|___(o)] XB
    ._________
    | I__I I_I|_\__I
    [(o)______(o)]b VanPimpin'

    LostReceptions Apps D/L Here

    GPSGasoline- Rewriting

    Draw- SkribblePad for Touchscreens

    iGQwerty-iG3.0 Qwerty Keyboard

    CarPCNetwork

  9. #9
    Banned xdjxklusivex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Diamond Bar, CA (909,951)
    Posts
    2,742
    honestly u can run it on n e thng but if ur gonna use alot of music like me over 12k songs id go wit a 2.0 atleast 1.5 WILL do it tho especialy since ur gonna use it as a dedicated dj computer which i really dont (shud but dont) atleast 512 ram id try to do 1 gig if u can it will run way smoother

    what the hell is l1 and l2 cache? lol

Similar Threads

  1. Lap top monitor jerry rig
    By qball008 in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-24-2006, 06:58 PM
  2. Racers Lap Timer
    By eastcoastbumps in forum Hardware Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2005, 12:35 AM
  3. LAP TOP HD 2.5"
    By lepinos in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2004, 03:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •