Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: engineers/networkers step in ... major DSL issues, any thoughts?

  1. #11
    Variable Bitrate nadir_s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    289
    damn .. well i have the first generation speedstream 5100A ...

    besides that, I am no noob to telephone/networks ... i've verified everything to the teeth. I've pulled a direct line from my phone box outside to my room just to avoid any old lines or interference from within my house.

    I do have wireless connection, but everything is mac filtered and I've kept tabs on connected devices to my router - it's clean.

    I have 3-4 comps running @ home ... i've shut them all down, i've even disconnected the router and connected straight to the modem to test.

    I know my speeds are slow because browsing is signficantly more slower, and when online speed tests (att.com & dslreports.com) verify the same thing. My DSL download speed is crippled, yet my upload is totally fine.

    I actually took some time again and sat down and called them from the beginning ... got to their maintenance tech. I told him straight up from one engineer to another, give me your thoughts on the prob ... he said it sounds like something is being set off by a timer between 9-midnite ... could be anything, ie. pool filter that turns on and disrupts my connection. My line is on a repeater, meaning it's twice the distance out from the central office so I guess i am as far as it can really get.

    Either way, we're back to square 1 sending tech out to my house. I thought it was completely ridiculous that he would say that they coudln't tech out during the times i'm having problems (9-midnite) ... i was like, are you kidding me. You guys claim to be commited to total customer service, and you woudln't do whateveri t would take to fix my problem??

    Needless to say, i'm getting another tech during the daytime tomorrow. BTW, again on their end, they have verifid that my line shows up in the red on all tests ... ******* morons.
    [ 5-spd 1996 M A X i M A SE ]

  2. #12
    FLAC FC3S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Seoul, Korea
    Posts
    1,040
    Quote Originally Posted by DarquePervert
    DSL doesn't work that way. The bandwidth on your line is yours and yours alone.
    Cable does share bandwidth, so you may see slowdowns during peak usage hours.
    u kno, i knew that too, but its like, 3am here in korea

    and its hot and sticky, and like hell am i thinking straight

  3. #13
    Variable Bitrate nadir_s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    289
    so this time a chick showed up to take a look at my problem for the millionth time ... i'm amazed.

    Well the real test is going to be in 2 hours (9AM), but she was able to rewire the outside connection because it was "messy" and she got my speed already up by 1mbps!!!!!!!!! that's freakin AMAZING TO ME. All this time ******* sbc did a **** job on my wiring outside which cost me a meg/sec. ****!

    Will hopefuly be able to post at 9....


    if this is fixed, first thing i'm going to do on monday is to call the maintenance department and the local manager to request this lady get a freakin promotion! Of all the useless 20 techs that came out, she was able to get me 1 whole Mbps + identified and hopfeully fixxed my problem.

    DAMN!
    [ 5-spd 1996 M A X i M A SE ]

  4. #14
    Bowel movement jjh221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    not sure yet.
    Posts
    1,645
    eh, if i get half the speed im paying half the price or im leaving the company. Simple as that. Dont let big corps bend you over because they can afford lube.
    I GIVE FREE HUGS!
    Buy Sell or Trade
    If my pm box is full, please feel free to call me any time. 440-328-3382
    Thank you
    Forex
    Rate Mp3car @ FXroot.com


  5. #15
    I see dead kittens Quattro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,922
    Yeah, I think what you guys pay for yahoo/sbc/att/whatever is a major rip off. Your bascially paying $20 a month for 1.5.

    for just $20 more I get 10x the speed. I'm paying $45 for 15 down and 2 up.
    Installed
    Asus A7N8X-VM - AMD Mobile Athlon 2400
    512 Ram - 60GB HD - Opus 150w
    Lilliput 7" - Rikaline 6010
    [00000000000001100010-] 98% Completed

    Check Out My Install!!!

  6. #16
    I see dead kittens Quattro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,922
    he hasn't posted an update, I guess he's still experencing problems.
    Installed
    Asus A7N8X-VM - AMD Mobile Athlon 2400
    512 Ram - 60GB HD - Opus 150w
    Lilliput 7" - Rikaline 6010
    [00000000000001100010-] 98% Completed

    Check Out My Install!!!

  7. #17
    Variable Bitrate nadir_s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    289
    yeah haha , gay**** .. same issue but a bit better .. but hasn't been fixed yet. Goin to call this woman on Monday and see if she can come up with some other ideas.

    See, if I had the option of paying 20 bux more for 10x the speed, I WOULD TAKE IT. But you gotta work with what you can get ... and we just don't get those speeds out here.

    I would like to move to cable, but we have dish right now - especially for the international channels my parents order & you can't get those unless you're payin for regular channels too ... such a dilemma.
    [ 5-spd 1996 M A X i M A SE ]

  8. #18
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    You can still get cable internet without cable tv.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  9. #19
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Quote Originally Posted by Quattro
    Yeah, I think what you guys pay for yahoo/sbc/att/whatever is a major rip off. Your bascially paying $20 a month for 1.5.

    for just $20 more I get 10x the speed. I'm paying $45 for 15 down and 2 up.
    Bastard. I only get 384K up, but I do get 5MB down, soon to be 8MB.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  10. #20
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Quote Originally Posted by nadir_s
    Well the real test is going to be in 2 hours (9AM), but she was able to rewire the outside connection because it was "messy" and she got my speed already up by 1mbps!!!!!!!!! that's freakin AMAZING TO ME. All this time ******* sbc did a **** job on my wiring outside which cost me a meg/sec.
    Get them to run a (new) dedicated line from the NID to the modem. Then a new line from the NID to the splice box.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Iguidance and Centrafuse Lowering volume?
    By fenderbender in forum GPS
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 03:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •