Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: engineers/networkers step in ... major DSL issues, any thoughts?

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate nadir_s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    289

    engineers/networkers step in ... major DSL issues, any thoughts?

    alright ... i've been having alot of dsl issues for the past 2-3 months.

    First of all, i've been a customer of SBC YAhoo! DSL @ their pro package (1.5mbps down/512kbps up) for the past 5 years ... no prob, everything is cool.

    However, everytime summer rolls around, the service gets ****ty, but this summer is the absolute worse.

    ATT acquired SBC recently so now it's ATT dsl ... fine whatever, i'm assuming hardware all stays the same.

    Alright ... the basic problem I am having is that every night, exactly between the time of 9PM-MIDNITE (i'm talking about right on the dot, to the minute), the DSL is **** - either completely froze up or slow as ****. It still remains connected to the dsl (according to the modem light), but the actual activity is crippled.

    In the time period of about a month or more, they sent 15+ techs out to my house and the district manager to figure out what's goin on. They came back saying that we're barely getting the speeds promised because of our distant.

    Wtf? I've had those speeds, no prob, for the past 5 years. Don't tell me my house got up and moved further away. That answer didn't satisfy me at all.

    So they dropped my DSL package to basic and that didn't fix anything. Then they do remote testings and figure out my dsl connection is unstable ... the last resort was for them to connect my house from one circuit to another in the neighborhood.

    That actually worked for me for about a week .. but i was still unhappy because I wanted the pro package like I used to have ( i want higher upload speed most importantly). I called them up and ordered the elite package. Now, I know I wasn't going to achieve the speeds promised, but I didnt' care ... I wanted to see how fast I can really get it and see if them changing my circuit would help. First day & night, everything is great ... my download was still at the same speed as my pro (about 1.6mbps) but my upload is at 620 kbps now (which is over their advertised speed).

    Awesome ... until the next day, back to square 1! WTF!

    This is CLEARLY some sort of software issues on their end! I did some diagnoses on my end ... my bandwidth is as follows:

    download: 150 kbps
    upload: 640 kbps!!

    My download is severely crippled, yet my upload is totally fine! This is absurd .. it's not a hardware or line connection problem IMO... sounds like a software bug in their servers since the problem happens exactly at 9:00:00PM - 12:00:00 AM.

    What do you guys think ? It is so difficult to get in touc with their customer support which actually have brains instead of a goddamn script in their hand.

    BTW, it's nothin to do with my internal network or phone lines ... personally tested it all out, as well as the techs.

    It also doesn't comfort me that I see so many of the SBC tech trucks around my neighborhood everyday... definately looks like something is ****ed up but i'm not getting straight answers? i dunno ... my neighbors don't have this prob, then again they're on the basic package.
    [ 5-spd 1996 M A X i M A SE ]

  2. #2
    I see dead kittens Quattro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,922
    Quote Originally Posted by nadir_s
    First of all, i've been a customer of SBC YAhoo! DSL @ their pro package (1.5mbps down/512kbps up) for the past 5 years
    Thats your problem right there. Get cable!!
    what do you pay for the service?
    Installed
    Asus A7N8X-VM - AMD Mobile Athlon 2400
    512 Ram - 60GB HD - Opus 150w
    Lilliput 7" - Rikaline 6010
    [00000000000001100010-] 98% Completed

    Check Out My Install!!!

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate nadir_s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    289
    Quote Originally Posted by Quattro
    Thats your problem right there. Get cable!!
    what do you pay for the service?
    17.99 for pro / mo
    [ 5-spd 1996 M A X i M A SE ]

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11
    You are lucky as I cannot get DSL via Yahoo in Georgia. I have been dealing with BellSouth DSL Lite and it randomly drops out or seems to slow down.

    Same as with you, tech "support" plays '20 questions' with me and we end up getting nothing done.

    I think I will have to switch to cable as I guess there is no 3rd choice.

    Yes, I think probably you are suffering from software issues on their end but also it sounds like they are not handling bandwidth well enough (maybe 9-12 are peak hours?).

    Good luck!

  5. #5
    FLAC FC3S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Seoul, Korea
    Posts
    1,040
    could be in the summer all the kids who usually have school are at home hogging all the bandwidth with games and other downloads?

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate nadir_s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    289
    Quote Originally Posted by FC3S
    could be in the summer all the kids who usually have school are at home hogging all the bandwidth with games and other downloads?

    yeah but i find it hard to believe that it's the same symptoms, consistently, from exactly 9 to midnite.
    [ 5-spd 1996 M A X i M A SE ]

  7. #7
    Banned Motorcity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    984
    They may be throttling you. If you say your issues occur at the exact moment nightly, sounds like the program they use to limit your use is set to go on at 9, off at 12. Of course they will not tell you they throttle users, since they don't want the bad press. However, I can tell you for a fact that SBC, AT&T, Ameritech or whatever the hell they are calling themselves this week has absolute **** for tech support.
    It only took them 5 days to confirm that my Speedstream 5100 took a ****, and that I need a new modem. Oh, and just curious, they are selling you Pro for 17.99 and only giving you 1.5 on the DL? That shows how they jack people in certain geographical areas. I have Pro and my service is listed as up to 3.0 DL, 784 UL.

  8. #8
    Neither darque nor pervert DarquePervert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    13,949
    Quote Originally Posted by FC3S
    could be in the summer all the kids who usually have school are at home hogging all the bandwidth with games and other downloads?
    DSL doesn't work that way. The bandwidth on your line is yours and yours alone.
    Cable does share bandwidth, so you may see slowdowns during peak usage hours.


    Quote Originally Posted by nadir_s
    My download is severely crippled, yet my upload is totally fine! This is absurd .. it's not a hardware or line connection problem IMO... sounds like a software bug in their servers since the problem happens exactly at 9:00:00PM - 12:00:00 AM.

    What do you guys think ? It is so difficult to get in touc with their customer support which actually have brains instead of a goddamn script in their hand.
    You need to call them and speak to a level 2 tech (or whatever they call them at ATT/SBC/Yahoo/whoever they ware this week). The first line phone support will tell you to clear your browser cache, reset the modem and go from there. They have a script and the will not deviate from it, so you have to go over their heads.
    The easiest way to do that is refuse to work with the person that answers the phone and demand the next level support or a manager/supervisor. It's frustrating, to be certain (I've dealt with SBC's support before), but if you're persistent and don't give up, you'll get to someone who actually has the ability to diagnose your problem.
    It may require a tech being at your home during the hours when the problem happens. Maybe not. It all depends on the problem.

    I had a client of mine with DSL problems, and it was affecting her business (She does CC authorizations through the internet). It took a number of phone calls and eventually an SBC technician onsite to realise it was a faulty DSL modem. Why the jackass in level 1 couldn't diagnose that or even suggest that as a possibility, I have no idea. It took some persistence and patience, as I said, but it did get resolved.

    Good luck.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?



    Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

  9. #9
    FLAC IntellaWorks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    1,173
    First off, how do you know your up/down speeds are getting worse at the specific times in the night? Are you checking with a bandwidth calculator or are you just experianceing a slow network?

    Secondly, are you using a Wifi network? Is someone else stealing your bandwidth each night that you didn't know about? Do you have a peice of failing hardware or network cables? Is there another device on your network that may be stealing bandwitdth (i.e. playstation,laptop,MediaPC).

    Finally how about your PC, are you SURE your PC is totally clean of malicious software? I'd trust what the company is telling you, in that everything is fine on thier end and focus on your equiptment.

    Hope this helps and good luck!
    Progress [I will seriously never be done!]
    Via EPIA MII
    512MB RAM
    OEM GPS (embedded)
    nLite WinXP pro on
    1GB Extreme III CF card
    Carnetix 1260 startup/ DC-DC regulator
    Software: Still, re-Writing my existing front end in .Net

  10. #10
    Maximum Bitrate yrean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    540
    first. if you have another pc, try the other pc and see if you get the same effects.

    second. as darque pointed out, dsl is supposed to be for you and you alone. unlike cable which is a block of users all sharing. Unfortunatly if your area is over sold even though you are supposed to be all by your lonesome, but all of you connect to a switch in an ILA somewhere. if its overloaded you will experience the same slow down as a cable user. Next time your talking to tech support you can also ask how far away from the switching station you actually are. then you can see for yourself if your too far away which i doubt if they gave you service in the first place. just so you know SBC's tech support sucks for the most part and they take forever to get anything done. To be honest if they offer cable in your area it really would be to your benifit to switch. SBC does throttle bandwidth during peak hours like was mentioned before.

    one last thing. what modem are you using? have you looked to see what the maximum dl speed is for that modem. I know the speadstream modems they originally used were capped at 1.5mbps down.
    MII12000 | 512MB PC3200 | 60GB 2.5" Samsung
    M2-ATX 160W PS | SlotLoad DVD/CDRW | BU353 GPS
    7" Lilliput 619 | WinTV | WIFI | Bluetooth
    Audigy2 ZS | HQCT | Kyocera KR1 Mobile Router(3G)
    Roadrunner | LSXvoid | IGuidance 3


    My Worklog

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Iguidance and Centrafuse Lowering volume?
    By fenderbender in forum GPS
    Replies: 99
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 02:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •