Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problems Installing Win 98 In My Home PC

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boise ID
    Posts
    48

    Problems Installing Win 98 In My Home PC

    He he, me again, I'm currently trying to reinstall windows 98 on my 667 p3, and heres whats happening. I reinstalled everything like i normally do (windows has crashed more than one of my HD's) and everything goes fine untill the point where i have to first reboot the computer, When it goes to boot up i get a:

    "Disk I/O Error
    Replace the disk and then press any key"

    I have never gotten this before when installing windows, can anyone help?
    --
    "We'll do this the old navy way, the first one to die, looses."

    Looking For A Second Gen 4Runner, CarPuter To Follow! :-)

  2. #2
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH USA
    Posts
    694
    Hmmmm.... Are you doing a clean install after a full format, or are you just reinstalling it on top of what you currently have? I highly suggest a clean install.

    http://support.microsoft.com/search/...;en-us;Q128730
    http://support.microsoft.com/search/...;en-us;Q150532
    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/Maveric/ M.A.V.I.C. System
    Asus MB, PII 266, 192 MB Ram, 6.8" LCD, 6 Disk CD-ROM, 21 Gig HD, All-in-Wonder Video w/ TV Tuner, Irman, Windows ME, Winamp, Cobra III -- All in a custom acrylic case.

    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/listings/ MP3car Listings - Please add to it! :)

  3. #3
    Retired Admin Aaron Cake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,464
    What kind of system is it? Is the BIOS set correctly? Are you leaving the boot disk in the drive? Does the HD have any bad sectors? What do you mean by "windows has crashed my HD"?
    Player: Pentium 166MMX, Amptron 598LMR MB w/onboard Sound, Video, LAN, 10.2 Gig Fujitsu Laptop HD, Arise 865 DC-DC Converter, Lexan Case, Custom Software w/Voice Interface, MS Access Based Playlists
    Car: 1986 Mazda RX-7 Turbo (highly modded), 1978 RX-7 Beater (Dead, parting out), 2001 Honda Insight
    "If one more body-kitted, cut-spring-lowered, farty-exhausted Civic revs on me at an intersection, I swear I'm going to get out of my car and cram their ridiculous double-decker aluminium wing firmly up their rump."

  4. #4
    Rob
    Rob is offline
    Maximum Bitrate Rob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Missing In Action
    Posts
    779
    Also check to boot sequence in the bios, if the drive your trying to boot from isn't listed it'll never work.

    Rob
    And you say people actually pay money for M$ Windows?
    www.mp3mini.co.uk (Does what it says on the URL) www.openclassic.co.uk (The new car, with zero rust!) www.rob-web.co.uk (My other site)
    Total re-design underway: on the whole progress is very slow as the car is taking up too much time :)

  5. #5
    jol
    jol is offline
    FLAC jol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Mellansel, Sweden
    Posts
    1,299
    hey, and a very easy one: check if there is a non-boot floppy in the drive, gives the same error

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate CrazyLittle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    649
    Make sure that the hard drive is partitioned as an Active Primary partition. Extended partitions are not bootable. Also, if it is already partitioned correctly and still giving you crap, try:

    fdisk /mbr

    Which recreates a proper master boot record on your drive.

  7. #7
    FLAC PatO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Afton MN
    Posts
    1,120
    Try threatening it with a shotgun. I've heard that works.
    http://www.jeepmp3.com/
    CarPC Stolen. Starting over.
    Ne1 recognize the avatar?

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boise ID
    Posts
    48
    Thanks for the suggestions guys, I got it working late last night, Re- Fdisked it and Reformated it and went on like a snap. And as far as windows crashing my hardrive(s) I'm not sure of the exact cause of that, but in the two years I've had this computer I've had two hard drives go bad (aka start making grinding sounds). Maybe i"m just really anti-MS, it might not have been windows at all :-) Anyways Later
    --
    "We'll do this the old navy way, the first one to die, looses."

    Looking For A Second Gen 4Runner, CarPuter To Follow! :-)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •