Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Help with wireless network

  1. #1
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,386

    Help with wireless network

    Well my neighbor has a foreign exchange student from Germany and she just bought a wireless router so the girl can get online. I set up the router, the home pc works fine but the girls laptop with the wireless recognizes the wireless signal, says that is sees a strong signal but cannot get on the internet. What is it that needs to be done for her to get on the internet? Is her wireless a different signal?? The wireless receiver is linksys and the wireless router is linksys. I have to go over there and help fix it but everything is in german lol!! Any ideas?
    2002 Mitsubishi Galant
    Progress: 90% [-▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓- ->

    Carputer Specs:
    Via M10K
    512mb Ram
    60GB HDD
    Souund Blaster Audigy2 NX
    OPUS ITX PC Case


  2. #2
    Bowel movement jjh221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    not sure yet.
    Posts
    1,645
    check software setting on router, like encryption codes.... seeing that the wireless is enabled...etc. There are A,B,G signal routers. G is both A and B i think. If you have A, it wont work with B, but if you have G router... then you are all gravy baby.
    right?
    I GIVE FREE HUGS!
    Buy Sell or Trade
    If my pm box is full, please feel free to call me any time. 440-328-3382
    Thank you
    Forex
    Rate Mp3car @ FXroot.com


  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate BarryWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    551
    B and G both use 2.4ghz, A is 5Ghz, not compatable with B and G. Also check to see if Mac filtering is on or off, if it's on add the mac address of whichever wireless card isn't connecting. Also see if the laptop gets an ip address from the router. If the router is giving out the wrong ip addresses that could be the problem.
    Failure is not an option....



    It's installed by default on every version of Windows.

  4. #4
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084
    Yeah... Make sure that the laptop isn't set up with a Static IP...

    Peace,

    Rafster

  5. #5
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,386
    Well after 3 hours yesterday! I was on the phone with linksys for over an hours and i still got no where! The ip was dynamic, mac filter was off! I checked everything, I was able to ping the router and the other PC. but no connectivity to the web. I also bought another router thinking it was the router but still the same problem. So i have come to a conclusion. Her broadband service is "AOL BROADBAND" provided by timer warner cable. but they really suck cuz with that service in order for you to go on the web you need to be signed into aol since it is the Primary ISP. but even while i wazs trying to do the testing, i was on aol on the desktop PC and was online but the laptop still couldnt get on. I also brought my laptop over to see but mine couldnt even get on!
    2002 Mitsubishi Galant
    Progress: 90% [-▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓- ->

    Carputer Specs:
    Via M10K
    512mb Ram
    60GB HDD
    Souund Blaster Audigy2 NX
    OPUS ITX PC Case


  6. #6
    The Lavender Tie Just
    Made It Obvious
    Rafster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,084
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheekz185
    Well after 3 hours yesterday! I was on the phone with linksys for over an hours and i still got no where! The ip was dynamic, mac filter was off! I checked everything, I was able to ping the router and the other PC. but no connectivity to the web. I also bought another router thinking it was the router but still the same problem. So i have come to a conclusion. Her broadband service is "AOL BROADBAND" provided by timer warner cable. but they really suck cuz with that service in order for you to go on the web you need to be signed into aol since it is the Primary ISP. but even while i wazs trying to do the testing, i was on aol on the desktop PC and was online but the laptop still couldnt get on. I also brought my laptop over to see but mine couldnt even get on!
    AOL SUX!!!!

  7. #7
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,386
    Quote Originally Posted by Rafster
    AOL SUX!!!!
    SURE DOES!
    2002 Mitsubishi Galant
    Progress: 90% [-▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓- ->

    Carputer Specs:
    Via M10K
    512mb Ram
    60GB HDD
    Souund Blaster Audigy2 NX
    OPUS ITX PC Case


  8. #8
    FLAC PatO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Afton MN
    Posts
    1,120
    .
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    http://www.jeepmp3.com/
    CarPC Stolen. Starting over.
    Ne1 recognize the avatar?

  9. #9
    Calm
    Down
    Or
    Get
    A
    2
    Week
    Vacation
    -Love
    The
    Forum
    Policeman
    Wiredwrx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,605
    While True, you should be able to connect with AOL using PPOE. Not sure if every AP supports it, but you should be able to set it up.

    Michael
    ...I love the French language...especially to curse with...Nom de Dieu de putain de bordel de merde de saloperies de connards d'enculés de ta mère. You see, it's like wiping your *** with silk, I love it.

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Altoona, PA
    Posts
    0
    You need to configure PPPoE in the router, to use the username and password that you are using on the home PC...then you need to NOT sign into AOL on the home PC. Basically, your router will be the one connected to AOL...then each computer connects to the router and can browse. If you are not able to browse then, see if you can ping an outside IP, like 4.2.2.4. If you are, see if you can ping google.com. If you can't, then you need to set static DNS, and point it at the IP of the router.

Similar Threads

  1. Securing a wireless network? HOW?
    By bosstone74 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 09:30 AM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 03:38 PM
  3. network wireless connection question...
    By icet in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-27-2005, 12:19 PM
  4. Wireless G - Wire'd Network Problems (Remote Desktop)
    By nFiniteTuning in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 06:34 PM
  5. ME stops with wireless network card
    By M pro in forum Media Engine
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-29-2004, 12:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •