Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Win 98 spanish version...

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Win 98 spanish version...

    Anyone know how to change the spanish version into english?? Got all these computers in at work that have spanish version on them. Is there just a simple option to check somewhere??

    PoBoy
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  2. #2
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Posts
    729
    No Habla espanol?

    I'm not sure, possibly somewhere in the software uninstallation window is Spanish support that could be uninstalled.
    Personally I'd format and ghost any new machine I recieved.
    Clarion 200watt head unit w/ Aux in.
    Kicker 800watt 4 channel amp
    In a 96 Grand Prix SE.

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Cant format em

    The computers are from overseas US Marshals. HQ wants to know what's on them.

    Hablo un poco. But tyring to set these damn things on our network is a ***** when everything is in spanish.
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  4. #4
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    Control Panel -> Regional Settings. Changes some programs to use different languages.

    You could try installing mult-language support. Its under Add/Remove Software, Windows Setup.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

  5. #5
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    No luck...

    Tried those things...Multi Language support only gives Bulgarian and a few others...I guess its just a pure spanish computer. Even the BIOS posts in Spanish and they have pretty cool spanish keyboards that came with them.

    If I really wanted to, I could probably learn more spanish using the damn things than all 4 years of Spanish I had in High School. Ohh well...THanks for yall's help

    PoBoy
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    185
    i know spanish fluently......why dont u try using a spanish to english dictionary??
    Also most computer terms come from english so they can be easily understood in spanish......

  7. #7
    Maximum Bitrate PoBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    St. Louis-MO
    Posts
    490

    Problem...

    Well the goal was to be able to put them to use by our employees (american ones). And why should we make them learn spanish...plus they are US Marshals...no need to make them do something else on top of what they are already doing.

    Okay so why not just format and load an English Version. You see the government HATES getting rid of stuff. The word format makes them squirm because they know that there is probably something valuable on these computers. Most of these comps came from the Puerto Rico Marshals division. So there is potentially all sorts of Criminal Investigation docs. Plus, if one of these Marshals ever gets investigated for something...his computer is siezed and basically searched bit by bit looking through "deleted" files. So its basically hit the switch and make em english or pile them in a warehouse.

    Ohh well...it was worth a shot. Just trying to save you tax payers from having to buy us 20 more computers.

    PoBoy
    I'm a ghost...email me if you have any questions on my old setup

    My way outdated website: http://www.poboytech.net

    FYI: I sold my 96 4Runner and bought a 1985

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Milton, MA
    Posts
    36
    I know you've already concluded this, but no is the answer. Windows has a complet different version for the different languages. Unless you install multi language support (which will only convert abo 30% of the computer) there is little hope in getting americanized.

    BEN

  9. #9
    FLAC MP3DUB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicagoland, IL
    Posts
    1,782
    It can't be that hard to get them on the network can it? i mean the menus are the same, just in spanish. id get them on the network, get the files off, and rebuild them.
    -Nick

    _____________________________
    Since when is insanity a bad thing?
    Monthly MP3Car Chicago Meets
    www.mp3vw.com Last updated: 07/07/2008

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •