Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BIOS doesn't POST

  1. #1
    FLAC XC-C30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Abele, Belgium
    Posts
    1,260

    BIOS doesn't POST

    This is the story:

    I went to get an extra serial USB controller today, hooked everything up, and when I rebooted my PC I didn't get any further than the ASUS startup logo.... No post or anything, couldn't even get into the BIOS or anything....

    So I disconnected the controller and tried to reboot with my previous setup that always worked, but still no post....

    Than I went on and disconnected every USB device eventhough it had been working properly before, and yes, finally my PC posted and went on with booting.... WinBlows started just fine, so I connected every USB device I was using before I bought the extra controller, and still ok....

    Than I shot down the PC again, disconnected everything and connected the controller again, but without hooking up any other USB device and yes, the computer booted just fine and when WinBlows was fully opperating I connected all the devices, but this time to the extra controller instead of the on-board USB I was using before and all went well, although windows showed an error that said the controller wasn't working.....

    I shot down the PC again and try to reboot, but again I got no further than the ASUS logo, and again couldn't get into the BIOS.... And again it only booted when there were no devices attached, and again, when WinBlows was fully running I could attach the devices and got them working properly without any trouble.....


    Anyone who can help me out with this problem?

    Sorry for the long story, But I have to search for the right words since my english isn't all that great......

    Thanks!!
    Xenia & Isabelle, totally in love!

    'T SQiekenkot: VOLVO 740GL 2.3

    CarPC: none at the moment
    CLARION HX-D2
    CLARION APA4300HX => Fountek NeoCd1.0 + TB W4-1337SD
    CLARION APA4300HX => CSS Trio8
    CLARION APA2100 => Dayton IB385-8

  2. #2
    FLAC XC-C30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Abele, Belgium
    Posts
    1,260
    OK...... This is weird.....

    All of a sudden my system shuts down from its self and reboots without any trouble and everything works fine where it didn't a few hours ago.... although I still get the message there's been a problem with the installation of the USB-controller and that it might not function properly.....
    Xenia & Isabelle, totally in love!

    'T SQiekenkot: VOLVO 740GL 2.3

    CarPC: none at the moment
    CLARION HX-D2
    CLARION APA4300HX => Fountek NeoCd1.0 + TB W4-1337SD
    CLARION APA4300HX => CSS Trio8
    CLARION APA2100 => Dayton IB385-8

  3. #3
    Calm
    Down
    Or
    Get
    A
    2
    Week
    Vacation
    -Love
    The
    Forum
    Policeman
    Wiredwrx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,605
    Quote Originally Posted by IC-C30 View Post
    Than I shot down the PC again, disconnected everything and connected the controller again, but without hooking up any other USB device and yes, the computer booted just fine and when WinBlows was fully opperating I connected all the devices, but this time to the extra controller instead of the on-board USB I was using before and all went well, although windows showed an error that said the controller wasn't working.....
    Could this be the problem? A broken controller?

    What kind of controller. What system are you using? What are the specs? What PS?

    Michael
    ...I love the French language...especially to curse with...Nom de Dieu de putain de bordel de merde de saloperies de connards d'enculés de ta mère. You see, it's like wiping your *** with silk, I love it.

  4. #4
    FLAC XC-C30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Abele, Belgium
    Posts
    1,260
    I thought so too.... But both controllers (on-board and the extra controller I bought today) seem fine, cause every device is working properly....

    I don't have a clue what brand the controller is, It's a $4 one

    I'm using an asus p5pe-vm board with a pentium D945 (3.4GHz), 512 kingston DDR400.... and a 300watt desktop PSU (I'm still testing everything, and when I have all the hardware and it runs fine on the desktop PSU, I can look what DC-DC will fit my needs, but probably DSATX) Do you need to know the rest of the hardware too?

    By the way..... after the pc rebooted its self, I rebooted it once more myself and everything went fine...... seems as if the problem's solved, but I still don't know what caused it though....
    Xenia & Isabelle, totally in love!

    'T SQiekenkot: VOLVO 740GL 2.3

    CarPC: none at the moment
    CLARION HX-D2
    CLARION APA4300HX => Fountek NeoCd1.0 + TB W4-1337SD
    CLARION APA4300HX => CSS Trio8
    CLARION APA2100 => Dayton IB385-8

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    146
    If it's so cheap, why not just look into a different controller to see if it works better? USB is like that sometimes

    If I saw errors like this, I wouldn't trust it to work reliably.

  6. #6
    MySQL Error MatrixPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Beach City, Socal
    Posts
    4,053
    I would think that you don't have enought power on 5V rails. Try a different PSU with more output on 5V.
    Also, If I remember correctly, most Asus mobo has a jumper setting for USB power source. You can set it to use 5V standby or regular 5V rail. I am not sure if this is the case, but you can try.
    2004 Matrix XR A7N8X-VM/400 AMD XP-M 2500+, DS-ATX
    89 Supra Turbo P3 600E@750/Abit BE6 II, Alpine M-BUS Car2PC.
    Y2K Accord Dell GX150
    RoadRunner is the best FE PERIOD
    EmoRebellion is a SCAMMER

  7. #7
    FLAC XC-C30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Abele, Belgium
    Posts
    1,260
    Thought about a power-issue too, but it all works well now, so that couldn't be it..... also, my PSU puts out 30amps at 5volt and I couldn't imagine 150watts wouldn't be enough to power it all.....
    Xenia & Isabelle, totally in love!

    'T SQiekenkot: VOLVO 740GL 2.3

    CarPC: none at the moment
    CLARION HX-D2
    CLARION APA4300HX => Fountek NeoCd1.0 + TB W4-1337SD
    CLARION APA4300HX => CSS Trio8
    CLARION APA2100 => Dayton IB385-8

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 08:26 PM
  2. New Bios Logo Problem
    By phatbenny in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 09:25 AM
  3. 800x480 V8000 BIOS & Driver from VIA GmbH Support
    By ShawJohn in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 12-08-2004, 03:02 PM
  4. Who else has had problems with Via M10k Bios v1.16?
    By tom2112 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2004, 12:33 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-21-2004, 11:09 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •