Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Make all your phone jacks work with VOIP

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate techy101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    511

    Make all your phone jacks work with VOIP

    So I just took the plunge and got a VOIP service (ITP) for my house. The only issue is that they say you can't hook it into your existing telephone wiring, so you have to use cordless phones and have the base-station plugged into your VOIP box.

    This is because the voltage from the phone system will damage the box. Which is quite true.

    Most residential phone systems are a star topology, which means every jack connects to every other jack.

    So if you go outside to your Telephone Interface Box (if you have one) you can open it up. There's a "Customer access" section, that's just a screw to open. Open it up, and unplug all the connectors, and you've solved the issue of power. That disconnects your houses phone lines from the phone company.

    The phone system should now be 100% isolated. Now you can go and plug your VOIP box into any phone jack in the house... and all of your other phone jacks will now work!! (there is a limit to the number of phones you can have hooked into the system at once. I'm not sure what that is though. 3 or less should be fine)

    So now I pay $9.99 a month for local/long distance to the US and Canada, and I can still use all the phone jacks. Instead of the $39.99 a month, plus $50 of install fee's Comcast wanted from me.

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate daclothe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    233
    who are you going through for the voip service?

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate techy101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    511
    ITP

  4. #4
    Unregistered User ODYSSEY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Raleigh, NC USA CarPC Ver3: [▓▒▒
    Posts
    1,568
    You might want to place a tag (VOIP installed, do not reconnect) on the NID, just incase the phone company decideds to hook the wiring back up.
    ODYSSEY

    Quote Originally Posted by Tidder View Post
    Hey, as long as it's not any particular race I'm offending, I can stand to be a pedophile.
    All information expressed in this post is my opinion, and should not be regarded as a statement of fact.
    Digital-Car UK|

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

Similar Threads

  1. What do I need to make this LCD work with compoosite video?
    By pigseye in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-19-2002, 08:36 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2001, 11:43 AM
  3. Whats requried to make the EIO.com 5" display work
    By Squeezer in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2000, 02:20 PM
  4. Can you make a portable TV work?
    By type2guy in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-1999, 10:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •