Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Windows 10 Preview

  1. #1
    FLAC SNOtwistR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keswick,On Canada
    Posts
    1,645

    Windows 10 Preview

    Hi guys and gals Windows 10 preview release is out and they have implemented a new system to get your hands on legal copies and lots of them by joining the Windows Insider Program "free of charge" I did say this was free https://insider.windows.com/ just sign up and download, 32 or 64 bit is available via upgrade or iso and you get a free key Enjoy! SNO

  2. #2
    Mod - Driveline forum
    Auto Apps:loading...
    ClockWorK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    752
    It looks like it should just be called Windows 8.2, since it's pretty much Windows 8.1 with some of the things that should have been there from the start. I usually try out new operating systems before official release, but I'm not even bothering with this one.

    Microsoft has forever tainted the number 8 so bad that other companies are avoiding it.
    AMD and Nvidia both skipped an '8' series with their video cards.
    My guess is that both companies were like 'please do not ruin the number 9 as well' so MS went with Windows 10. Which I guess also brings some parity with Apple (OS X). I anxiously await Windows Z.

    So, by my measure, Chrome is winning the version wars, now at version 37. That's more than 3 times as good as IE 11.

    I'm just rambling about marketing nonsense. I'm sure the OS is an improvement. But this is getting to be like the opposite of the original Star Trek movies, where only the even-numbered movies were any good.

  3. #3
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    990
    I'm grabbing an ISO copy of 32 bit, I'll give it a try...I guess.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    3
    I'll be downloading it when I get home tonight

  5. #5
    Mod - Driveline forum
    Auto Apps:loading...
    ClockWorK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    752
    The jump from 8 to 10 may have something to do with this:

    Code:
    if(version.StartsWith("Windows 9"))
    	{ /* 95 and 98 */
    	} else {

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate
    Auto Apps:loading...
    VegasGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    611
    Well, Centrafuse runs fine on Windows 10. I didn't expect anything else, but still nice to confirm.

  7. #7
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Grandville, MI
    Posts
    631
    My expectation is similar to Windows 7 when it replaced Vista...

    (win 8 is the "new" vista....)

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Maximum Bitrate
    Auto Apps:loading...
    VegasGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    611
    So all the love for Windows 8 has me wondering: how many people make their living on a computer (it is your 8 hours a day primary tool)? I do (more like 14 hours a day), and I've been doing it on Win8 since it was released to beta. Fast, stable and every bit as productive as Win7 has been my experience. I especially like that my personal profile is the same on all my devices. I have 2 tablets, two desktops and one virtual machine, and my user experience is pretty much identical on all of them.

    But I can see how the casual user might not have the same reaction. My PC is how I make my living, so I take the time to learn how to use it. A lot of folks are too set in their ways, or don't have the inclination to take the time to learn something (anything) new. But again, I've always been an early adopter. I used (and liked) Vista, but will readily admit that Win7 was an improvement. I understand and wholeheartedly agree with what Microsoft is trying to do with Win8/8.1/10 and believe they will ultimately succeed.

    Hehehe...I've teed it up boys, so feel free to step to the plate and take a swing.

  10. #10
    Maximum Bitrate rray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    743
    I build and repair semiconductor manufacturing machines, ran by PC's running flavors of windows or unix for a living. All networked for data sharing. I have to be productive so I learn as much as I can too, but very little code work.

    I do hate too much change. It kills productivity for a few months till I find where they hid everything and what the new names for stuff are.

    All the changes are not necessary, keep a running classic mode with added features would be fine, but instead they change so much its like French is the new national language this year, Mandarin next year, and we will go Cuneiform for our next release.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 8 ultra fast cold boot preview
    By RipplingHurst in forum Operating System Optimization
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-11-2012, 12:39 AM
  2. Flash player RR , windows 8 release preview
    By anuchit in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-04-2012, 06:59 PM
  3. Windows 8 Consumer Preview
    By DaveDog in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-03-2012, 12:41 PM
  4. Windows Mobile 2005 Microsoft Device Emulator ( Preview )
    By ccsnet in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2006, 04:25 AM
  5. linux app preview (windows too)
    By hijinks21 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-29-2003, 09:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •