Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 62

Thread: OPUS 320W Intelligent DC-DC PSU FAQ Thread

  1. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    14
    Hey does anybody know of anywhere there has been testing done on this power supply (to see variation under load, power output on 12 vs 5v and 3.3v) im trying to figure out if this is a solution that will run a stable pc or if it will be the source of instability in a pc.

  2. #22
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    14
    Can anybody do any testing with thier power supply to see if and under what type of load this power supply falls outside of the ATX DC voltage regulations listed on page 13 of the ATX 2.2 Standards? I would realy like to know how much these things variate and if they even come close to falling into the ATX standards. Most desktop power supplies fall short on the ATX standard due to DC voltage issues.

  3. #23
    Newbie DJMikeT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Katy, Texas
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by dMand View Post
    I'm using the Opus DCX6-320 and have been very satisfied with it. Just to give you a rundown on what it can power from my experience, read the list below:

    I have it connected to an Shuttle FT20 motherboard with three thermaltake 80mm fans while running a 2.2Ghz dual core socket 939 processor, 2x2GB of system ram, a dedicated PCI-Express GPU card - the BFG Nvidia GeForce 8500GT 1GB DDR2, Sound Blaster X-Fi Professional series add-in sound card with 64MB of XRAM.

    For the hard drives, I have two 3.5", WD150AFD 10,000 rpm Raptors in RAID0 (the pair have since been replaced by a 300GB, 10,000 RPM VelociRaptor, and a 7,200 RPM, 1.5 Terabyte Seagate Barracuda). Also connected to the power supply is a full sized 24X Samsung lightscribe multi-format dvd burner, a Dynex 30 in 1 multi-format USB memory card reader, three four-port USB hubs daisy chained, totaling twelve peripherals that are always on. Drive letters B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, O, P, are in use by Windows Vista.

    If you thought like I did, that the PSU was already at maximum overload, get this- the DCX6-320 is also providing a constant 12Volt regulated power output to my seventeen inch widescreen flat panel LCD display!

    Rest assured, tried, tested, and approved...this is the only power supply you would realistically ever need for automotive purposes.

    Bang for the buck, I'll admit the Opus DC6-320 is a tad bit on the high side, nevertheless, it has been in use for over a year now and has outperformed the actual PSU that came with the Shuttle ST20G5 gaming PC box, and also the Antec450 aftermarket PSU.

    I ordered mine online, through www.opussolutions.com. The package arrived on time as promised, double boxed with popcorn foam. Included were the wiring harness (2 ea), external mount LED with connector, various jumpers, and installation instructions.

    The DCX6-320 is assembled with superior craftsmanship using some of the finest electronic components. I give it a 10 out of 10 kick*** product rating

    ~DMand

    This is almost the configuration that I want to run in my CarPC. I have a Shuttle BareBones XPC that I want to use, would this Power Supply work or does the MOBO have to support it, or would I have to go the Inverter route?

  4. #24
    Newbie DJMikeT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Katy, Texas
    Posts
    49
    Nevermind, I found the answer to my question. Sorry to be such a Noob but there's a lot of stuff to read in these forums. Looks like the 360W OPUS is the newer version so I'll probably go with that. Thanks for the review!!

  5. #25
    FLAC bosstone74's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Japan, Oregon
    Posts
    1,180
    Quick question...The ground wires (3 of them), and the 12v to the battery (3 of them) , should those just be "tied" together?? And why was it done like that?

    Why not just one for each? Example...one to the 12v one to the Battery ground, one to the ACC?
    BossTone74

  6. #26
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by bosstone74 View Post
    Quick question...The ground wires (3 of them), and the 12v to the battery (3 of them) , should those just be "tied" together?? And why was it done like that?

    Why not just one for each? Example...one to the 12v one to the Battery ground, one to the ACC?
    The OPUS 320, handles 320 Watts, so you have to use a heavy gauge wire. I think rather then using a heavy 8 gauge and lower, which may be hard to work with, they simply made them seperate. For me this idea worked. I split the end of my 8 gauge wire into 3 areas, tied the 3 OPUS wires onto the 8 gauge, then weaved them into one, then soldered them.

    So basically it was done to make it easy to work with. So yes, use all three on each side. It could have also been for financial reasons. Its cheaper to have 3 smaller wires then one big one maybe? I think its my first conclusion though.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  7. #27
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    380
    i have the opus 360 w....

    i just received it..


    but there is three input for the 12 volt et 3 for the ground??..i dont understand...

  8. #28
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    380
    could i plug just one of them?

  9. #29
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by summer69guy View Post
    could i plug just one of them?
    summer69guy, you know better. I answered this very question for someone else a few posts up.

    POST:

    The OPUS 320 (360), handles 320 (360) Watts, so you have to use a heavy gauge wire. I think rather then using a heavy 8 gauge and lower, which may be hard to work with, they simply made them seperate. For me this idea worked. I split the end of my 8 gauge wire into 3 areas, tied the 3 OPUS wires onto the 8 gauge, then weaved them into one, then soldered them.

    So basically it was done to make it easy to work with. So yes, use all three on each side. It could have also been for financial reasons. Its cheaper to have 3 smaller wires then one big one maybe? I think its my first conclusion though.

    So YES, use all the wires!
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  10. #30
    Maximum Bitrate S4Per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    782
    I'm looking at a mobo that requires a 24pin power connector AND a 4pin (CPU) power connector. Will this PSU work for that?

    TIA,
    Per

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ITX PSU - What Alternitives Are There To The Opus One
    By ccsnet in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-28-2003, 07:41 AM
  2. What to look for in a PSU some info for you
    By cproaudio in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 02:07 AM
  3. Opus DC - DC
    By souljetta in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 02:07 PM
  4. wtb: harddrive, dc dc psu and slim slot dvd
    By kardas in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2002, 06:11 AM
  5. Must have for those using Aztec Laptop DC PSU
    By DodgeMp3Enabled in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2001, 10:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •