Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 62

Thread: OPUS 320W Intelligent DC-DC PSU FAQ Thread

  1. #41
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by S4Per View Post
    Just FYI: as per email from Opus today, the 12v output operates off of one regulator, which means the total 15A draw for the 12v line on the 360w PSU can be split however you want it between the motherboard power connector and the additional 12v regulated output (orange wire) as long as it doesn't exceed 15 amps.

    I might power one 5v POL off of the regulated 12v knowing this, just because it's easy for me from a wiring perspective (connect both constant and on/off of the 5v to the regulated 12v output), then again, I might not ;-).
    Only the ignition from ythe 5V POL needs to go to the OPUS. It is made to have constant unregulated power. Putting it on trgulated may cause issues.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  2. #42
    Maximum Bitrate S4Per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    782
    ok, didn't know that..thanks.
    now - using standby - how do I make sure my hub, which would be powered via the POL, is still getting juice during standby? Won't the Opus shut it down when the PC goes into standby making my USB devices disappear causing issues on restart???

  3. #43
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by S4Per View Post
    ok, didn't know that..thanks.
    now - using standby - how do I make sure my hub, which would be powered via the POL, is still getting juice during standby? Won't the Opus shut it down when the PC goes into standby making my USB devices disappear causing issues on restart???
    That Im not sure of..... I would think that as long as the 5V POL is back on when the PC wakes up, it shouldnt be an issue. My understanding is that when you sleep, the only thing that stays powered is the RAM, to store an image for fast access.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  4. #44
    Maximum Bitrate S4Per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    782
    Yeah, I'm starting to get my own wires crossed thinking about this

    Facts are: most mobo's these days keep the USB bus powered during standby. In the past, this has killed me because it drained the battery way too fast. I finally found the solution (see here) which shows how to take a certain hub and modify it to only rely on an external power supply for power (vs. USB bus) but does so without messing anything else up.

    So, I think I'll stick with that modified hub and things should be fine (unless I'm really losing it now...could be: I'm on vacation, it's 11:30pm here, and I've had a few glasses of wine) ;-)

    As long as power immediately goes back to the hub, should be no issue...and if I tap the 12v line for the 'on' - like you said - I should be set.

  5. #45
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by S4Per View Post
    Yeah, I'm starting to get my own wires crossed thinking about this

    Facts are: most mobo's these days keep the USB bus powered during standby. In the past, this has killed me because it drained the battery way too fast. I finally found the solution (see here) which shows how to take a certain hub and modify it to only rely on an external power supply for power (vs. USB bus) but does so without messing anything else up.

    So, I think I'll stick with that modified hub and things should be fine (unless I'm really losing it now...could be: I'm on vacation, it's 11:30pm here, and I've had a few glasses of wine) ;-)

    As long as power immediately goes back to the hub, should be no issue...and if I tap the 12v line for the 'on' - like you said - I should be set.
    I agree..... Dont overthink the install.... Trust me, I ve done that alot and it hasnt helped, lol.... I say try it the normal way, allowing the PSU to shut it off, and then turn back on the devices on start up, and if its an issue, then go from there.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  6. #46
    Low Bitrate SenatorIvy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    85
    I've been wracking my brain and time trying to find the lowest TDW CPU for my upcoming carPC, and am still nervous about having enough power for the computer, but also making sure the carPC isn't a drain on the system/increase gas mileage/kill battery & alternator. I've been looking at the M4-atx, but just now found the Opus 360w.

    Should I be considering a tank circuit for use with my carPC and this psu, or no?

  7. #47
    Maximum Bitrate S4Per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    782
    Of course, it all depends, but a firm 'no' IMO. I have a Zotac H55 with an i5 processor, 2 GB of DDR3 RAM, 2 HD's (one SSD one notebook drive) and about 14 USB devices, all powered by one Opus 360 and 2 5v POL's.
    I use standby with a Sears branded Odyssey battery that fits my Audi. I use standby and have for the moment even removed all low voltage shut off's on the Opus. I drive my car daily, and on weekends, usually just Sunday's.

    After 3 weeks with the current setup: no battery or power issues.

    Hope it helps,
    Per

  8. #48
    Low Bitrate SenatorIvy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    85
    Thanks, that's good to hear. I'm going to be buying one of these probably today or tomorrow.

    What are these POLs?

  9. #49
    Maximum Bitrate S4Per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    782
    POL = Point of load power supply. Great way to power USB hubs / DVD drives amongst other things. Check out the store for examples.

  10. #50
    Low Bitrate SenatorIvy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    85
    Neat. I don't know enough about electrical things to put it in my head where those would be used on the line, but I can certainly understand the function.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ITX PSU - What Alternitives Are There To The Opus One
    By ccsnet in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-28-2003, 07:41 AM
  2. What to look for in a PSU some info for you
    By cproaudio in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 02:07 AM
  3. Opus DC - DC
    By souljetta in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 02:07 PM
  4. wtb: harddrive, dc dc psu and slim slot dvd
    By kardas in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2002, 06:11 AM
  5. Must have for those using Aztec Laptop DC PSU
    By DodgeMp3Enabled in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2001, 10:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •