Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 62

Thread: OPUS 320W Intelligent DC-DC PSU FAQ Thread

  1. #51
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by S4Per View Post
    Of course, it all depends, but a firm 'no' IMO. I have a Zotac H55 with an i5 processor, 2 GB of DDR3 RAM, 2 HD's (one SSD one notebook drive) and about 14 USB devices, all powered by one Opus 360 and 2 5v POL's.
    I use standby with a Sears branded Odyssey battery that fits my Audi. I use standby and have for the moment even removed all low voltage shut off's on the Opus. I drive my car daily, and on weekends, usually just Sunday's.

    After 3 weeks with the current setup: no battery or power issues.

    Hope it helps,
    Per
    My setup is doing something similar. I have the OPUS 320, then want to install three M4-ATX for my rear computers. i plan to power anything 5V off of those. For some reason my OPUS 320 acts weird when I try to power anything off the 5V rail. I have 31 USB devices.

    Is the Zotac you have mini-itx? Sound like a very powerful board. I went with the Zotac 9300. Going to pair it with 4 GB RAM with a Quad Core S processor.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  2. #52
    Low Bitrate SenatorIvy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    85
    Yeah the Zotac I have is a mini-ITX. It's the H55-ITX-A-E. I have 4G of DDR3 in it (wanted 8 just for 8's sake, but couldn't justify the extra 200 bucks) and an Intel Core-i5 650 desktop processor on it with the stock intel heatsink. I've had it running exposed off a desktop PSU and it's quiet enough to be put in the trunk, that's for sure.

    I'm currently trying to design a case to be made for everything. I just got the Opus 360 in the mail yesterday. This thing is huge compared to the M2-ATX I have elsewhere.

    I need to see what others have done to contain theirs; I'm mocking the case up in Google SketchUp, but my fear of noise/interference has me making baffle panels between drives and boards.

    Do any of you have any pics of your cases/etc that you've put an Opus in?

  3. #53
    Who am I? HiJackZX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    6,557
    Quote Originally Posted by SenatorIvy View Post
    Yeah the Zotac I have is a mini-ITX. It's the H55-ITX-A-E. I have 4G of DDR3 in it (wanted 8 just for 8's sake, but couldn't justify the extra 200 bucks) and an Intel Core-i5 650 desktop processor on it with the stock intel heatsink. I've had it running exposed off a desktop PSU and it's quiet enough to be put in the trunk, that's for sure.

    I'm currently trying to design a case to be made for everything. I just got the Opus 360 in the mail yesterday. This thing is huge compared to the M2-ATX I have elsewhere.

    I need to see what others have done to contain theirs; I'm mocking the case up in Google SketchUp, but my fear of noise/interference has me making baffle panels between drives and boards.

    Do any of you have any pics of your cases/etc that you've put an Opus in?
    I built my own case too.... but mine is in the cabin. I put it under a new center console I made.

    i do agree though, the OPUS 320/360 is massive. Its half the size of the mobo, which isnt a compliment, lol.
    Nirwana Project, the Android/Win 7 hybrid system!

    1X Ainol Novo Flame Tab
    4X MK808b
    3x Perixx Touchpads
    3x 7 inch Screens
    1X 7 inch motorized Screen
    1x Win 7 PC

  4. #54
    Variable Bitrate Wayne613's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    306
    I recently switched my motherboard out, as the Zotac was having issues. I replaced it with the Intel DQ45EK. Works great, other than the fact that the initial latching time is too long from the OPUS, as it briefly comes on, then goes off from the auto-start up. Not critical, as I just wait, then press the in-line start button made to start it manually and all is well, but it is annoying.

    Can this be flashed into being changed easily?
    2008 Ford Mustang GT/CS CARPC(99%)
    Software: Ride/Road-Runner, Digital FX skin 5.x, iGuidance 2011, GPSgate on Win7 64bit

  5. #55
    FLAC bosstone74's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Japan, Oregon
    Posts
    1,180
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne613 View Post
    I recently switched my motherboard out, as the Zotac was having issues. I replaced it with the Intel DQ45EK. Works great, other than the fact that the initial latching time is too long from the OPUS, as it briefly comes on, then goes off from the auto-start up. Not critical, as I just wait, then press the in-line start button made to start it manually and all is well, but it is annoying.

    Can this be flashed into being changed easily?
    there isn't
    a flash that you can do, however there are some jumper settings that you can look at in the manual to change the startup time and the voltages as well
    BossTone74

  6. #56
    Variable Bitrate Wayne613's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    306
    Yeah, was hoping to avoid having to either build or get a PIC, perhaps this is just JTAG, which would be easier. Time to send in a ticket to them to ask what's needed, as nothing is mentioned as to what is required or how.

    The manual's startup/shutdown timing are not the issue, the latching or pulse time for it's startup pulse on the motherboard's powerbutton +/- is. As in it holds it too long on this new motherboard. I've been using this current opus supply for 5 years...It's outlived a few motherboards now.
    Last edited by Wayne613; 12-01-2011 at 09:27 AM.
    2008 Ford Mustang GT/CS CARPC(99%)
    Software: Ride/Road-Runner, Digital FX skin 5.x, iGuidance 2011, GPSgate on Win7 64bit

  7. #57
    FLAC bosstone74's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Japan, Oregon
    Posts
    1,180
    this sounds strange, I've never heard of an issue like this before, it almost sound like you are not getting enough power and it's shutting down.

    Write the folks at opus and see if that can help you trouble shoot...

    I can't imagine the "pulse" is too long...it's just a momentary pulse. It would have to be held longer than 4 secs.


    Check your Bios for the proper settings, as you are supposed to have.
    Recommended Installation Steps
    Step 1. Configure DC-DC JU1 jumpers. STBY-ON and Start-up and shut down voltages. Install OPUS DC-DC in the system.
    Step 2. Configure ATX/ ITX motherboard BIOS: Turn off AC power loss auto restart, ACPI: S3, Push btn: Instant off.
    Step 3. Configure operating system: Power-down, hibernate or Stand-by mode.
    Step 4. Test the PC for proper operation. If all passes then, configure the DC-DC shut down delay jumpers if required.
    Suggestion: Configure and test system with a standard AC- DC ATX power supply first. Then switch over to OPUS DC-DC power supply.

    http://www.opussolutions.com/support...er%20Guide.pdf
    BossTone74

  8. #58
    Variable Bitrate Wayne613's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    306
    Already have.

    And yes, step 2 was done at the start. It works fine for it's shutdown pulse, and the inline momentary switch works fine. I just have to wait for the 5 seconds after starting the car, since it senses the correct >13v, sends and holds the pulse, comes on briefly, then shuts off again. Then I'm free to actually use it. I have the manual as well.

    Motherboard now has the latest firmware, checked the polarity of the lines, etc. I just want to update the firmware of the OPUS unit so it will function correctly.


    EDIT: So I'm at lunch and decided to screw with it again. It appears this MB needs "stay on" setting for the power loss section. I thought I'd tried all 3 repeatedly(last state, turn off, stay on) already, but apparently not.
    Tested a couple times now, working. Thanks.
    Last edited by Wayne613; 12-07-2011 at 02:32 PM.
    2008 Ford Mustang GT/CS CARPC(99%)
    Software: Ride/Road-Runner, Digital FX skin 5.x, iGuidance 2011, GPSgate on Win7 64bit

  9. #59
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    121
    I was thinking of buying an Opus, but then I read on their page that the minimum turn on/off signal delay to the computers on/off switch is 10 seconds. Is that true? You cant go below 10 seconds? I even find the 3 seconds of my M3-ATX too much.

  10. #60
    Variable Bitrate Wayne613's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    306
    Pretty much, at least for the 360 that I use:
    http://www.opussolutions.com/product...specifications

    Far better product though. They "may" be willing to alter that default setting in a custom flashed one for you, should you contact them directly. http://www.opussolutions.com/contact.html
    2008 Ford Mustang GT/CS CARPC(99%)
    Software: Ride/Road-Runner, Digital FX skin 5.x, iGuidance 2011, GPSgate on Win7 64bit

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. ITX PSU - What Alternitives Are There To The Opus One
    By ccsnet in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-28-2003, 06:41 AM
  2. What to look for in a PSU some info for you
    By cproaudio in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-04-2003, 01:07 AM
  3. Opus DC - DC
    By souljetta in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2003, 01:07 PM
  4. wtb: harddrive, dc dc psu and slim slot dvd
    By kardas in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-21-2002, 05:11 AM
  5. Must have for those using Aztec Laptop DC PSU
    By DodgeMp3Enabled in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-02-2001, 09:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •