i hope the have taken permission from Guino and the creator of the skin!! or else we WILL have trouble again in here..
i was watching Fox 5 here in DC this morning when they did a segment about carputers. The company customcarputers.com was advertising there car PC with Road Runner. Was also interesting to see the digital FX skin being used as well as the native GPS gas features to sell a product. I know it was someone on this website because they were using the centrefuse-like reshack in iguidance 2. So cmon ... show yaself![]()
NOVA, MD, DC Monthly Meets Here
Ride Runner and Centrafuse 3 plugin creator
mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
Live mp3Car Facebook Chat
i hope the have taken permission from Guino and the creator of the skin!! or else we WILL have trouble again in here..
I just hope that whoever is learn the lesson from the freedom skin thread before doing it.
2004 Matrix XR A7N8X-VM/400 AMD XP-M 2500+, DS-ATX
89 Supra Turbo P3 600E@750/Abit BE6 II, Alpine M-BUS Car2PC.
Y2K Accord Dell GX150
RoadRunner is the best FE PERIOD
EmoRebellion is a SCAMMER
Dude, you are kidding! Thats kewl. I don't mind people using the skin at all for their puters, of course, but selling it is another story. Wow, I DO NOT want to start another Freedom thread here. I have contacted them, and will see what they have to say.
Tyey make NO MENTION of selling Road Runner, or my skin, or any other skin for that matter on their website. That is staying 100% in the terms that Guino has laid down, and is not problem with me either right now.
If ANYONE is in the DC area, and could capture a rerun of this, say the 5:30, 6:00, 6:30 or 11:00 edition I would be eternally grateful. I would LOVE to see it!
Edit: I found the Video:
Its located HERE.
It is the 3rd Video down Below the large "truck Image"
For any of you web Guru's out there, if someone could find a way to save that video, I would really appreciate it! It is in Flash Video.
Front End of Choice: Ride Runner (Is there anything else??? ) & Powered by the DFX5.1 Skin Available in the Mobile App Mart
My Fiero Build Thread
i have the video, i dont want to post it here since everyone can just view the link.
But thanks to a firefox extention called firebug that lets you inspect the contents of all the traffic to and from a site as well as the source for all there jscripts and flash files and pretty much anything else.
video is 12mb John hop on IM so i can send you the link
01101100 01101001 01110001 01110101 01101001 01100100 01011111 01110011
01101101 01101111 01101011 01100101
beer replenishment fund
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/rr-faq/
mp3car live search
i have joost invites, just hit me up for one.
As some in the forum know, I am an attorney.
I read the entire Freedom thread and am sympathetic to the positions of the developers in that thread. Putting the issue of legality aside for the moment, using someone's hard work as a catalyst for selling a commercial product seems to violate the spirit of this forum and likely also violates the expectations of many of the people who contribute their time and effort to create the front ends, skins, plugins and fixes that we all enjoy using. At its core, this site is about hobbyists contributing to make the hobby of carputing enjoyable for all who participate. As I see it, using the work of other members to promote one's commercial interests violates an unspoken trust among the members.
That being said, there's obviously also a legal component. Any member who develops a product that he or she wants to protect from commercial use must draft and prominently display a clear licensing statement. The statement should make clear not only that the software can't be sold, but also that it may not be used or displayed in any manner which promotes or facilitates the sale of anything whatsoever. The developer holds all the cards and can impose whatever limitations on use he or she wants.
It's also very important to know that since the users of the software have not paid for it, they have no continuing rights to use it according to the terms of the licensing agreement that existed at the time of download. That means that developers can change the licensing terms any time they want and all current and future users will be bound by the new terms.
Much of the discussion in the Freedom thread concerned whether the commercial use of the software (software displayed in order to facilitate sale of hardware) was prohibited by the language of the licensing agreement. My point in this post is simply to let developers know that if they wish to protect their software from commercial uses such as described in the Freedom thread and this thread, it's easy to do so by changing the license agreement appropriately.
http://www.customcarputers.com/
theres their site. cool, i guess. does kind of suck in my opinion that in the video of the interview if i didnt know john or guino or any of the other people that contribute to all that we do in this community; i would think that guy made it all :-/
the software on their site for sale is called "iMobile Executive" for $420 or lite for $130.
although its kind of cool to see your hard work on a tv news show. Its also VERY not cool when someone else is getting the credit and potential money from all your hard work.
First freedom, now this. Its really ****ing me off for one. I knew that there would be people that would do this but i would have at least expected them to try to be discreet about the whole thing, but what do you have, people showing your **** at carshows as if its something there company can provide, people showing your **** on the evening news (wtf) like no one is going to notice!
And lets be honest here, reguardless of what anyone doing this will tell you, they are selling carputers with RoadRunner preinstalled and with other peoples skins also preinstalled. Do you think they are going to tell the guy who just dropped over a grand that oh, if you want it all to work like i showed you in the demo, and hand him a list of urls to check out. Hell no.
This **** makes me want to pull all my links to all my **** down. This **** is ******* ridiculous. If you have a ******* company obviously you have some money, ******* hire someone to build you a skin, and frontend or license one. But stop trolling these boards stealing other peoples ****. The more i type the more ****ed im getting. arrrraghg;aldkl;akjdsf;asdf
01101100 01101001 01110001 01110101 01101001 01100100 01011111 01110011
01101101 01101111 01101011 01100101
beer replenishment fund
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=93
mp3car live search
i have joost invites, just hit me up for one.
here is their site. it shows on the site they sell software called iMobile Executive COST: $419.95. It makes me mad that someone would do this. Especially when there is such a great community of people that are here for the hobby, not to make money. I have learned so much from the people on this forum and it makes me happy when I start up my carputer to know there are people out there with such dedication to their work, yet people who will turn that around and use others work just makes me angry. If I had never seen these forums or followed them for so long lurking and learning and saw that video I would think all that hardwork was done by that guy and his company, really sad.![]()
Makes me wanna release Renesis with phoco's security patches lol
NOVA, MD, DC Monthly Meets Here
Ride Runner and Centrafuse 3 plugin creator
mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
Live mp3Car Facebook Chat
Bookmarks