Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: skin browser preview image

  1. #1
    THE EXPERIMENTER
    Auto Apps:loading...
    carputer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK,Surrey
    Posts
    1,979

    skin browser preview image

    as far as i'm aware this cannot be done, but hopeing i'm wrong or can be added to RR .

    at mo in skin browser, you can see the skin you have selected preview if the skin has a Menu_0ff.jpg in its skin file , this is what shows up in preview.

    what i was hopeing is that the splash.jpg can be used as well,
    i'm thinking along the lines like DFX4 splash screen would look better than a menu screen,

    sorry john for useing your skin as an example , but it dose have a very good splash.jpg,

    Thanks

    ENJOY

  2. #2
    RoadRunner Mastermind
    Auto Apps:loading...
    guino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    You're correct: menu_off.jpg is the image used for preview in the skin browser, however any jpg file can be used for the off layer of a skin. With that in mind, you can rename your curren menu_off.jpg to menuoff.jpg and adjust the 3rd line of menu.skin accordingly then place a menu_off.jpg file in the skin folder (with anything you want), to be used solely as a skin preview in the skin browser.
    Ride Runner RR's Myspace

    "Being happy is not about having what you want, it's about wanting what you have."
    "The best things in life are always free - but that doesn't mean money can't buy you good things."

  3. #3
    THE EXPERIMENTER
    Auto Apps:loading...
    carputer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK,Surrey
    Posts
    1,979
    mmmm yes , but i use png as my skin, as it is set for trans.

    and i was hopeing to use splash.jpg or menu_off.jpg for skin browser and loader screen .

    or am i misunderstanding you

  4. #4
    FLAC Sal R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sun Diego
    Posts
    1,448
    Quote Originally Posted by carputer1 View Post
    mmmm yes , but i use png as my skin, as it is set for trans.

    and i was hopeing to use splash.jpg or menu_off.jpg for skin browser and loader screen .

    or am i misunderstanding you
    Then why don't you just rename your splash.jpg file to menu_off.jpg so that your "splash" screen shows up in skin browser preview?
    Pico-ITX / XP Home with EWF-HORM / RR v12/02/2009 / Winamp v5.13 / RRMedia v1.2.2

  5. #5
    THE EXPERIMENTER
    Auto Apps:loading...
    carputer1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK,Surrey
    Posts
    1,979
    then you loose splash screen, so its back to having 2 jpg's thats all,

  6. #6
    FLAC Sal R.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Sun Diego
    Posts
    1,448
    Quote Originally Posted by carputer1 View Post
    then you loose splash screen, so its back to having 2 jpg's thats all,
    Well, if you really want just one jpg, what you're asking can easily be done w/ an extension plugin.
    Pico-ITX / XP Home with EWF-HORM / RR v12/02/2009 / Winamp v5.13 / RRMedia v1.2.2

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Auto Apps:loading...
    JohnWPB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    West Palm Beach, Florida
    Posts
    4,717
    Blog Entries
    1

    Splash screen image

    As the DFX skin does not use jpg's, (Menu_Off.png) The simplest way to do it, as mentioned above, is just copy the splash.jpg and name the copied file to menu_off.jpg. Yes, there are now 2 of the same image.... but considering all of the images in most skins, an extra 100k is certailly not going to hurt anything. Heck it would take 50 of those "duplicate images" to equal the size of just a single MP3
    Front End of Choice: Ride Runner (Is there anything else??? ) & Powered by the DFX5.1 Skin Available in the Mobile App Mart

    My Fiero Build Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Skin Editor [ v0.7.8 Updated 4/17/11 ]
    By Blue ZX3 in forum RR Skins
    Replies: 262
    Last Post: 01-30-2013, 05:47 PM
  2. problems with navigation in streetdeck
    By customaudioman in forum StreetDeck
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 01:46 PM
  3. Holux GPS Trouble
    By mangus580 in forum StreetDeck
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 09:56 PM
  4. Roadrunner Skinning Tutorial
    By Meelobee in forum RR Skins
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-30-2005, 08:28 PM
  5. Preview: Color-coded skin
    By ruairi in forum RR Skins
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 04:32 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •