Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 54

Thread: grayvader's 2005 Ford F150 Supercrew FX4 -- Pride of the Empire :)

  1. #11
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151

    Installing it...

    I know I've skipped a lot of what went on between all these pictures, and I've done a really bad job of summarizing but hey, I'd rather be working on the stuff than typing here. So here's where I ended up. (much thanks to my bother in law for kicking me in the pants to finish -- so we could start on his car computer) Feel free to ask specific questions...

    (but don't ask about that skinny *** leg)

    I really love the way it turned out. Now I just need to get all the software working the way I want.
    At this point, I keep bouncing between different front ends with Centrafuse and Streetdeck vying for screenspace.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #12
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151

    Wow!

    Holy Cow! Now that it's in -- it's so very cool. It has definitely exceeded my expectations.

    My thanks to everyone who has posted on these forums. It's everyone's previous experience that helped me get to something that works so well.

    And let me say, the transflective upgrade is worth every penny! It means the difference between something ok and something GREAT!

    Now I just need to get the other tweaks all setup..
    Next: elmscan, attach steering wheel controls (i need some harness stuff for my steering column), install the backup camera...

  3. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    4
    Nice setup man! I'm going to be doing something similar in my 04.

    I didn't see any, but do you happen to have any pics of how the case fit into the dash? I've been debating putting it in the dash or under the back seat, but can't really decide which.

    Did you hack up your stock console or did you buy an after-market one?

  4. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    4
    Hey, looks awesome!

    I have an 04 that I'm getting ready to install a carputer in.

    Do you have any pics of how the PC case fit by chance?
    Did you hack up your stock dash or did you find an after-market one somewhere?

  5. #15
    Constant Bitrate popi79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    150

    Awesome!!!

    Looks almost stock from factory!!!

    And thats the trick!!!

    Great I like it a lot!!!

    Cheers.
    "Most of the users you'll see in this site are still learning specially me"

  6. #16
    Maximum Bitrate hd54321's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    839
    WOW!!! Big props. Setup looks excellent! How's the Clarion unit working out for you? Are you using any AM/FM receiver?

  7. #17
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by Leviathan8up View Post
    Nice setup man! I'm going to be doing something similar in my 04.

    I didn't see any, but do you happen to have any pics of how the case fit into the dash? I've been debating putting it in the dash or under the back seat, but can't really decide which.

    Did you hack up your stock console or did you buy an after-market one?
    I really meant to put up more pics, but here's the pc after we put it in. You can see all the wires floppin' around.

    Also, the first pic in the thread is the stock console if I understand your question. Maybe I don't. Didn't buy anything aftermarket that is part of the truck.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #18
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151

    inside the pc case

    It's hard to see what's going on, but here's a pic of inside the case as I was putting the 2 halves together.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #19
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by hd54321 View Post
    WOW!!! Big props. Setup looks excellent! How's the Clarion unit working out for you? Are you using any AM/FM receiver?

    It's working great. It really brings it all together and makes the pc feel like is just another audio component in a car radio. No pops or weird noises or anything. I love it. For the price it's hard to beat. In fact, now that it's a year after I bought the 2 clarion pieces, they're even cheaper. With some digging around the 'net, my brother in law just picked up both the DVC920 and DVH940 for about $240 total (shipped!).

    If you mean AM/FM receiver like a head unit, then no. If you mean one attached to the PC, yes -- the Silabs digital reference design. Guess I should add that in my description above. There's another great thread about it here:
    USB FM RDS Solution with sofware

    I should mention though, that it is delicate. I soldered a motorola socket connector onto it so i could plug into my stock antenna -- this was all fine and dandy until i started trying to tape up the connection to make it a bit sturdier for install. Well, that hosed the little usb card -- probably the USB interface chip. So, I had to get another one. It's awesome for $35. I'm using the dll from that other thread with streetdeck. The SW isn't perfect by any stretch (there are some quirks) but it's way good enough for the light radio use that i have. I really only care about weather and local traffic sometimes. Otherwise, why would I have a car pc?

  10. #20
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Central Illinois
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by grayvader View Post
    I really meant to put up more pics, but here's the pc after we put it in. You can see all the wires floppin' around.

    Also, the first pic in the thread is the stock console if I understand your question. Maybe I don't. Didn't buy anything aftermarket that is part of the truck.
    Thanks for the extra pics! I guess I'll need to start digging in to see what kind of space I have behind my console.

    I guess the question stems from owning Motorcycles for most of my life and, while enjoying custom paint jobs, would never paint the stock sheet-metal/fiberglass... I would buy new pieces and have them painted, leaving the old ones in storage in the case that I ever wanted to take it back to stock. If I start tearing up a console, I would want to buy a new one to modify rather than the one in the truck.


Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where to DL old version of RR?
    By accentsound in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 12:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •