Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 54

Thread: grayvader's 2005 Ford F150 Supercrew FX4 -- Pride of the Empire :)

  1. #21
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by Leviathan8up View Post
    Thanks for the extra pics! I guess I'll need to start digging in to see what kind of space I have behind my console.

    I guess the question stems from owning Motorcycles for most of my life and, while enjoying custom paint jobs, would never paint the stock sheet-metal/fiberglass... I would buy new pieces and have them painted, leaving the old ones in storage in the case that I ever wanted to take it back to stock. If I start tearing up a console, I would want to buy a new one to modify rather than the one in the truck.

    Ah, then yes, I understand. I bought a bezel from Ford. My original is still just as it was and safely tucked away. It took me a year to do this thing and sure didn't want to drive around all that time with no bezel.

  2. #22
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Great Job

    I just got into this carputer thing and I have a F150 2005 and i'm ready to go a head and do my own trukputer, i just have a question do you have the steering controls working with the setup you have in yuor truck?

  3. #23
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151
    I haven't really gotten the steering controls working yet. Have tried a bunch of things (I bought a lariat steering wheel and have been tinkering with the buttons). So far, nothing I've tried really works completely. It's all been some buttons work, some dont or the software overhead of writing a program was too high. I probably won't ever bother doing it. I don't miss having them that much anyway.

    Quote Originally Posted by jacardozo View Post
    I just got into this carputer thing and I have a F150 2005 and i'm ready to go a head and do my own trukputer, i just have a question do you have the steering controls working with the setup you have in yuor truck?

  4. #24
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    65
    What did you use to cut the metal?
    in progress

  5. #25
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151
    If you mean the metal for the chassis -- I just used my table saw or jig saw. The TS blade cut aluminum just fine. However, it's not really fit to cut anything else again.

  6. #26
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151

    Car'puter 2 point oh

    Well, after less than a year in the truck, both my HDD and CDROM drive kicked the bucket.
    The HDD went out -- probably because of the extreme heat here in Austin TX. Funny, though, it waited until it got cold to really die. Anyway, I have no idea how long the CDROM drive was bad, since I hardly used it.

    So, i decided an upgrade/improvement was required. Since I hardly used the CD/DVD drive, I decided to remove it completely from the case. Besides, I can always use an external on if I HAVE to.

    In order to avoid another potential HDD crash, I decided to install the OS and associated front end stuff on an SSD. I came by a 32GB drive that's plenty big for holding what's on it.

    Then I got this cool SATA cartridge thingy and installed it in the front of the case. Now I can pull out the 80GB SATA drive I bought any time I want to dump a bunch of files onto it. The cartridge has a USB port and SATA port so you can transfer files either way. When it's in the car'puter, it uses the SATA connection. If the driv efails -- oh, well, nothing lost and I can just pop it out and pop a new one in.

    Also, I was always wishing I had more than 2 USB ports on the front so I got a new hub to integrate. Here's what the new stuff looks like so far.

    I'm having to re-tool the front bezel to make the appropriate changes -- the big hole is where the cartridge slot mounts.

    More to come after I get it done.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  7. #27
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    149
    eVER BEEN TO fORDtRUCKWORLD DOT COM ?

    Check it out

  8. #28
    Maximum Bitrate Kimota's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale ,Florida
    Posts
    468
    Very nice install amazing fab work cant wait to see more pics.

    I had one of my hard drives die too in less than 1 year lucky it was still under factory warranty .

  9. #29
    Constant Bitrate grayvader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by russoxley187 View Post
    eVER BEEN TO fORDtRUCKWORLD DOT COM ?

    Check it out
    of course. why?

  10. #30
    Variable Bitrate bambam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    276
    Beautiful installl!
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge." -AE

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Where to DL old version of RR?
    By accentsound in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 01:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •