Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: my opinion as Linux as an OS for carputing

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate churnopol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Delaware!!!
    Posts
    455

    Talking my opinion as Linux as an OS for carputing

    Ok. I've played with Redhat, Mandrake, MorphixLITE, and Peanut Linux. Wow Linux is great. But is it for carputing? For me the answer is now leaning toward - no. But I'm jumping to conlcusions too fast. I'm really caught in a struggle, it's mainly Winamp3's fault.

    Anyways, here's the pros about Linux OS's:
    Boot time - Very fast especially for MorphixLITE and Peanut
    GUI - I think is just like XP (each OS has it's differences)
    Opensource (no activation crap like on XP)
    The smaller OS's install in a faster time than Windows 2000 takes to boot.
    There are millions of distros to choose from***

    Cons
    Winamp is for Windows! (I'm a hardcore winamp fan)
    No simple plugin-play detection
    More bugs than windows (this excludes the big boys, Redhat/Mandrake)
    Getting online is harder - cant find "obtain address automatically"
    No IE
    There are millions of distros to choose from***

    *** - both a con and pro

    If Winamp3 and IE were on linux, I'd definatly jump on the Linux wagon. I am very impressed with linux. Now i know what OS is used in the movies. I've never seen windows on the big screen.

    I hope this help any newbies (like me) find the perfect OS for their carputer.

    But I'm still looking for the perfect OS, there are still many more distros to discover

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    West Orange, NJ USA
    Posts
    39
    XMMS (formerly X11amp) is very similar to Winamp in both feature set and look and feel. I use both daily and I'm happy with both of them.

    And as far as Linux GUIs go, you've got a choice from a seemingly endless number of them.

  3. #3
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bethesda, MD
    Posts
    64
    Have to agree with you on Linux as a good OS. I run it on my laptop and am tinkering with setting up a file server at home running samba or PC netlink.

    Anyway, I am not anti-m$ but tend not to use their products if similar alternatives exist. But for me Windows is ideal for the carPC environment.

    I use XP and use the magnifier a lot. (Not sure if Linux has something similar, but XP has it built-in and it's nice)

    I too love Winamp and XMMS although strong, isn't Winamp.

    Windows has a wider software base and that's sadly one reason why it's so dominant on desktops.

    I think all your pros are right ... especially plug and play

    -- Vikram
    5.6" Indash LCD | Sony MDX-610 HU | Sony XA-300 (USB Audio!)
    Apple iPod 30GB | Treo 600 with GPS |

    www.vikrampant.com

  4. #4
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803
    dhcpd for getting an ip address.. works fine.

    kudzu for plug in play in redhat.. has always found hardware i put in that is supported in the kernel.

    xmms is just as good as winamp.

    all that said i don't even use linux in my car
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    West Orange, NJ USA
    Posts
    39
    Originally posted by vikrampant
    I use XP and use the magnifier a lot. (Not sure if Linux has something similar, but XP has it built-in and it's nice)
    xmag is the standard X11 magnifier program and there are more modern alternatives available.

    As far as PNP goes, I've not had a problem with modern Linux distros not automatically detecting any of my hardware. I'm sure my success is due in a large part to the fact that I check devices for their Linux support before purchasing them. Some manufacturers just won't cooperate with the Linux developers

    And I'm curious as to where you find XMMS lacking because I haven't noticed any shortcomings myself. (Not challenging you, just friendly and curious.)


  6. #6
    FLAC
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Sef'Kylar
    Posts
    1,421
    I haven't used *nix (FreeBSD) regularly since '97 when i was in college.. I had it on my laptop for a brief while recently and linux seems go have come a long way since then.

    The real problem linux has though, is that it's not dumby accessible. You can't just click on a site and download something, bang boom, icons all over the place, you've got some installed software (and plenty of spyware to boot!)

    I think I would be infinitely more likely to switch over to linux in my car (which I really would like to do.. but it doesn't seem so feasible right now) if there were an open source project ala MediaEngine available. Also.. from what I've seen, there is no real gps software available either. If I'm wrong let me know, I'd like to make some changes
    aka Kumaneko
    "Don't make me moderate your ***!"
    Maxima of Doom - project thread - photo gallery
    mp3car system is currently FUBAR and finances do not allow for a correction of that situation
    Real computer hackers use a rotary cutting tool on their motherboard.

  7. #7
    Raw Wave hijinks21's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Albany, NY
    Posts
    1,803
    i've wanted to look into programming a gui for linux. Thats the only thing that's holding me back also. one of these days I'm gonna go out and buy a few books and see what I can do.

    There is a pretty good open source gps app out there. Its called GPSdrive. There are a few other also.

    There's an app out there called DashPC for linux that was coded by someone in the forums along time ago.. I think its almost a dead app but it works.. its just not "pretty" looking like media engine is.
    '98 Explorer Sport
    http://mp3car.zcentric.com (down atm)
    AMD 800mhz 192megs RAM 60gig hard drive 9 inch widescreen VGA
    80% done

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    West Orange, NJ USA
    Posts
    39
    GPSDrive will do moving-maps but won't due turn-by-turn direction finding. I seem to remember a package (still in its infancy) for Linux that attempted to do turn-by-turn but I can't find it now.

    And one great thing about Linux is that someone can put together a LinuxCar distribution and make an entire plug-and-play system. Once I get off my butt and build another car PC I'll probably do something like that.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    5

    Re: my opinion as Linux as an OS for carputing

    Originally posted by churnopol


    Cons
    No IE
    I find that more as a pro. Mozilla is available for windows and linux and in my opinion a better browser. It actually follows standards, and it even has built in popup blocking.

  10. #10
    FLAC
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Sef'Kylar
    Posts
    1,421
    there are ample web browsers available. Mozilla, among them, conquerer, and many many more.
    aka Kumaneko
    "Don't make me moderate your ***!"
    Maxima of Doom - project thread - photo gallery
    mp3car system is currently FUBAR and finances do not allow for a correction of that situation
    Real computer hackers use a rotary cutting tool on their motherboard.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •