Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Windows 8 Consumer Preview

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate DaveDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenacres, WA
    Posts
    606

    Windows 8 Consumer Preview

    Looking forward to downloading and seeing what works/doesn't work! Set aside next 2 days for testing.
    TruckPC - gutted, being used for test setup
    BoatPC - All in 1 in cuddy, N7 using VNC on dash, RR
    BlazerPC - Nexus 7 with Timur's USBROM

  2. #2
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    982
    Yes, I'm looking forward to it as well. I have been running the Developers edition since fall on my car PC and livingroom media PC. I have had virtually no issues with it and the boot times/shutdown times are amazing!
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  3. #3
    FLAC SNOtwistR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Keswick,On Canada
    Posts
    1,603
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/iso link should be good to go! SNO

  4. #4
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    982
    I've got it installed and running. Yes the start button is gone. Drivers don't seem to be an issue. I still have a couple of devices to sort out but it is running fine. Now I will add RR to it and see what happens. I doubt there will be any issues; it ran fine on the preview edition.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  5. #5
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    73
    sound fun, is it complicated to install this over windows 7. i've reformatted before but never ventured into installing an entire new operating system. Can you jot down a quick tutorial or is this something more... involved lol

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate DaveDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Greenacres, WA
    Posts
    606
    Results so far on my BlazerPC, Atom 1.6 single core 1G RAM, which used to be Win 7

    Used the USB key install method, was quicker than Win7 install using the same method, however I did use a different USB key.

    Didn't recognize the onboard audio, Win7 didn't either, gotta go find the drivers.

    Windows Update already has 6 updates!

    Boots fast, but apps take longer to open up. I had trouble finding Control Panel, noticed there's an ambient light sensor setting in power options.

    Winamp and WPC-Home Theater installed, but both reported needing latest version of DirectX.

    Iguidance installed correctly.

    Flash and RR are next!

    I'll update with more specifics/results later on.
    TruckPC - gutted, being used for test setup
    BoatPC - All in 1 in cuddy, N7 using VNC on dash, RR
    BlazerPC - Nexus 7 with Timur's USBROM

  7. #7
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    73
    looks nice, but whats this gonna cost for upgrade... 100+ right. Not sure if its gonna look THAT nice.
    To really take full advantage you have to:
    1. Like fishies
    2. search with bing... nah
    3. be willing to give up google maps/earth and use microsofts attempts... nah
    4. buy an x box... meh
    5. buy a windows phone... nah
    6. buy music through microsoft... nah
    7. shop for apps though microsoft... i'm sorry but in the app market you have android/apple and microsoft/blackberry lol, stick to what you know microsoft

    All in all its apparent their new OS is centered on you taking your focus from google/apple and giving ol billy gates some love like he's never had before. Its only a matter of time before you see their new "social networking" app pop up.

    If this came on a new machine i bought, i'd probably keep it on, but i'll not be buying an upgrade.

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Rochester, NH
    Posts
    616
    I agree with you bossman137, but people like shiny new things. Also, on here, people are looking for boot improvements primarily as well as new features that might improve the car pc expirience.

    I still run XP in my car for a bunch of reasons but the reality is Microsoft is still the #1 os. History has shown that every other release by Microsoft is good:

    2000 - good
    ME - bad
    XP - good
    vista - bad
    windows 7 - good
    windows 8 - (my initial response... bad)

    Either way, people will get it when they buy a new machine and deal or downgrade. In the business world... people will likely skip it as usual. We are just moving to windows 7 from XP here. I will be very interested to see what Win8 looks like hooked to a domain. The dev preview added junk and removed good from a business standpoint IMO.

    I wouldn't buy it either but I might pull it off my msdn subscription

  9. #9
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    982
    I am not a MS or Apple fanboy, I have never really been excited for a new OS launch other than W95 however I will be buying the W8 upgrade when available and here is why.

    I don't use any social networking, Itunes, iphones, gaming machines and apps at this point really don't matter to me for a car PC. I switched from XP due to the superior manner that W7/W8 handles audio which is the most important feature to me on a car PC. The touchscreen friendly interface might be a bonus too, I don;t know because I disabled metro in the Dev edition of W8.

    So last fall, I thought "why buy W7 when I can run W8 for a year no charge then buy the latest OS available at that time?". I love XP, but I want the more current audio management.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

  10. #10
    FLAC PhilG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    982
    More great news. The Griffin Power mate is working again. That was the 1 big loss I had when I installed the DP Edition of W8.

    It only does volume & mute but thats all I need it for anyways.

    FYI, I installed only the newer drivers (v2.01PC), the program opened and I configured it for Global settings only. Now the Griffin config program won't reopen but it's working so I really don't care.

    If a full shutdown is done, the Griffin program must be selected after boot but them seems to work without issue. If the system is just put to sleep (which is the default action in W8), it works immediately upon wakeup.
    My 2007 Ford F350 Work Log located HERE

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 8 ultra fast cold boot preview
    By RipplingHurst in forum Operating System Optimization
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 11-11-2012, 12:39 AM
  2. Skin preview / skinning futures preview
    By Borte in forum OpenMobile Skins
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 07:47 PM
  3. Windows Mobile 2005 Microsoft Device Emulator ( Preview )
    By ccsnet in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-19-2006, 04:25 AM
  4. linux app preview (windows too)
    By hijinks21 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-29-2003, 09:18 PM
  5. CONSUMER ALERT!!! : ddt
    By CptnDipshit in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2003, 09:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •