Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Best CD Ripper software - Opinions

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate AlienEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dunedin - New Zealand
    Posts
    424

    Best CD Ripper software - Opinions

    I have found that with moving my MP3 from hard drive to hard drive and back and forth between NTFS and FAT32 partitions, the quality has degraded (god knows why).

    Any who, i thought about reripping my entire collection at a higher bitrate (192+ kbps). I usually use EAC, but its not the fastest and i have trouble with it seeing my drives (ASPI problem).

    WHAT ARE YOUR GUYS OPINIONS ON THE BEST CD RIPPING SOFTWARE.

    I'm looking for speed & quality (i know i can't have both at the top)
    Free or paid
    Anything thats awsome.
    We are, will have and forever will be...
    But not tommorrow!

  2. #2
    Maximum Bitrate fluffy2097's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Fremont, CA
    Posts
    594
    Bad error handling is my guess.

    I personaly use CDex for my ripping. freeware and excelent flexability. It allows you to rip to any audio codec you have installed on your system as well as wave files. CDDB, configurable filename output. The list goes on.

    The one down side is that it can have some issues with ASPI when you first run it.
    A digital mind lost in an analog world.

    Learn to ask smart questions!
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    My car PC: The Lost Cause!

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate PTCruiser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    476
    Eac & lame VBR 192+
    Epia M9000, lili 7" vga&touch & 2xTM-7002S compo, camera with reversed image, 2.5" 60 GB, 256Mb DDR, Opus 90W, GPS usb... AND MEDIACRUISER of course!

  4. #4
    Raw Wave Confused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    2,224
    EAC along with LAME at 192+kbps, or I personally use 192kbps Ogg Vorbis

    EAC is the only ripper that will give you no errors such as pops, hiss, scratches etc in the sound, because it reads it twice and compares the data to make sure it's the same before saying it's right


    Garry
    Co-Developer of A.I.M.E.E
    www.aimee.cc

  5. #5
    Raw Wave Defiler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Temple Terrace, Fl.
    Posts
    2,647
    How many times do we need the same questions asked. Please search before posting...

    search for "cd AND ripping"
    Aura MR62 (F and R)
    My Current MP3s
    IamDefiler.com

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate AlienEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dunedin - New Zealand
    Posts
    424
    Quote Originally Posted by Defiler
    How many times do we need the same questions asked. Please search before posting...

    search for "cd AND ripping"
    Ok its not the end of the world. I know all over the internet there are opions on this matter, but i want fresh/new/up-to-date answers.
    We are, will have and forever will be...
    But not tommorrow!

  7. #7
    FLAC guitar333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    IDAHO
    Posts
    1,112
    the last post about this was about 2 weeks ago, never hurts to search
    92 Taurus SHO - Daily driver - Epia M10000 80GB 512mb 7" touchscreen, Opus PSU etc

    93 Black SHO - 30mpg cruiser

    90 Silver SHO - 419whp fun/project car, CarPC to come (for tuning)

  8. #8
    Low Bitrate aultl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    110
    I will drop my reccomendation, Cdex. Not had any problems. I rip my cd's to ogg and just finished converting my entire music collection to ogg using dBPower Amp Music converter.

  9. #9
    FLAC chut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX. USA
    Posts
    1,375
    I've only used dbpower converter, but it works great for me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •