Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Hardware Review: License mount camera

  1. #1
    FLAC DodgeCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    DFW area
    Posts
    1,386

    Thumbs up Hardware Review: License mount camera

    EDIT: New Pictures.

    You can see by the pictures it is a Rearview camera that mounts to your license plate holder.

    I posted a picture of the packaging, so you can figure out what brand it is...I have no idea, I got it off Ebay for under $80.



    Specs:
    1/3" CMOS (I know they are supposed to be crap...what are you gonna do)
    12V
    NTSC
    2.0 LUX



    You get the camera, and about 30' of RCA cable.

    The camera body itself can be tilted (by hand) to about +/- 10deg.

    FOV is not listed, but you can look at the pictures...and it is a wider FOV than all my rear view mirrors combined (overhead and door).

    It has a pretty good low light capability...and it has 8 IR LEDs to light up nearby stuff...and your reverse lights should light up everything else.

    The photo of the screen shows the curb beside the truck, and where the concrete driveway changes to the asphalt street, then the curb and yard across the street.

    It tries to auto balance the image, so sometimes light things get washed out so it can show the darker images clearer.

    I have it wired to my Reverse lights, with the entire 30' video cable snaking to the front of my truck, into the cab and back to the computer (that is where the monitor video input is).
    When I put it into reverse the camera powers on. In addition my monitor has an auto switching feature, so I wired that to the reverse light wiring at the front of the truck, so the monitor auto switches to the reverse camera, and the reverse camera automatically turns on when I put it into reverse.

    I have had it for a week now. The video cable is pretty small...the turn signal creates a tiny interference on the screen.

    But it works great!

    I wish I had had this years ago...I can see so well out the back now...and it will make hooking up trailers a snap.








    Ok...this picture didn't come out so good...but I will let the viewer decide.

    This is the same view as the other screen photo looking across the street to the neighbors house.

    I rolled the black trash can behind the truck...it is being illuminated by the reverse lights...so what looks like glare is actually the trash can itself.

    The bottom line is...if there is nothing behind you...then the IR lights or your backup lights won't illuminate anything...and my backup lights suck...I got a better view with the brakes pressed.



  2. #2
    Low Bitrate maniaxzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, NYC
    Posts
    109
    nice review! but the nightvision seems to be lacking in performance.

    btw, whats the model of your lcd screen?

  3. #3
    FLAC DodgeCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    DFW area
    Posts
    1,386
    I am not sure about the night performance...I have walked behind the truck with it on, and could see my shirt glowing brightly in the display (through the rear window)...

    I will try to go to a more realistic location...but even so it won't be a night vision goggle image.

    The monitor is the Dynamix ...revewed a couple of threads down.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    55
    Nice Review anyone else have a review? thanks

  5. #5
    FLAC DodgeCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    DFW area
    Posts
    1,386
    Some updated pictures.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    55
    I just bought a rear camera, I'm having ship to my country and will have install asap

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11
    i had a question, is it bad to have the camera run 24/7 while im in my car? i dont usually drive too long, i would say up to 3 hours max a day of being on? is that bad?

  8. #8
    FLAC DodgeCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    DFW area
    Posts
    1,386
    In my opinion all electronic devices wear out over time...so running it all the time would shorten its life.

    However power surges with constantly turning things on and off greatly shortens life span also.

    But in my case I just wired it up to the reverse lights...so it is powered when I am in reverse...and the screen switches to the reverse camera at the same time.


    In your case, I don't think running a camera 3 hours a day would be a big deal at all.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by jgdynamics View Post
    i had a question, is it bad to have the camera run 24/7 while im in my car? i dont usually drive too long, i would say up to 3 hours max a day of being on? is that bad?
    I have the same Issue, I install my rear back camera and is always on, I wish there was a Off and On button or something like it .... can this option be install on it?

    anyone

  10. #10
    Low Bitrate loginfailed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by Octavio View Post
    I have the same Issue, I install my rear back camera and is always on, I wish there was a Off and On button or something like it .... can this option be install on it?

    anyone
    Just get a relay and use the reverse lights to trigger the relay. most reverse lights are positive polarity so do it like this

    bosch type SPDT (single pole double throw) automotive 30 amp relay

    terminal 85 to ground
    terminal 86 to your reverse lights
    terminal 30 to the power source you are using to power the camera
    terminal 87 to the power input on your camera

    when you put it in reverse the camera will turn on and it will go off when the car is not in reverse

    Relay info in case you need it:
    http://www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 120 deg Wide-Angle Rear View Reverse Camera off Ebay - REVIEW
    By tbird2340 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 136
    Last Post: 01-11-2005, 04:30 PM
  2. Building a Car Camera Mount
    By xBrady in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2004, 09:43 PM
  3. Multiple Hardware Questions (camera, DVD...)
    By GMCVOY in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 03:45 AM
  4. Where to mount a video camera.
    By fluffy2097 in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-30-2003, 09:39 PM
  5. Flex-arm mount , good for LCD or keyboard
    By gizmomkr in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2001, 04:17 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •