Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Hardware Review: Soundstream Rearview Camera

  1. #1
    FLAC DodgeCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    DFW area
    Posts
    1,386

    Hardware Review: Soundstream Rearview Camera

    I bought this one right after I bought the other one I reviewed...thinking that this one would be better.

    I bought this off ebay, prices range from $95 plus shipping (ebay), to $319 (woofersetc.com). I am reviewing it because of a large lack of rearview camera reviews here...this will allow the shopper to see what features he should look for in a camera etc.


    Soundstream VLP-1C

    * Ultra mini sized rear view car camera with top of the line image quality
    * water, fog, and dust resistant
    * One chip package
    * Wide angle lens - 150 Degrees
    * Installs on any license plate (Universal)
    * Damage and scratch resistant
    * Back-Light compensation circuit automatically adjusts camera to the light (only found in high end models)
    * Views up to 70 feet in back of you
    * Compatible with all car monitors
    * Easy to install
    * 1/3" CCD 1 LUX Low Light Color Camera
    * Multiple Camera Angle
    * Din Connector & RCA Outputs
    * Reversed Image

    My impressions...

    In daytime it gives a much crisper view...and a bit wider angle than my other one.

    However at night it is not as good as the other one.

    The big drawback for me is the electronics to run the camera are in an non-weatherproof box with small wires to the camera. This unit is designed to be installed into a trunk or hatchback...not the back end of a pickup. The camera itself is waterproof.

    The way you install it is drill a hole for the camera mount to slide through (don't need to use their plastic frame), bolt it in place with a rubber washer to seal the hole, then plug it all in.

    It comes with about 20' of cable that houses the electrical power and video signal...you can power the camera from either end of the cable. (front of vehicle or back)
    (note the white mark on the camera indicates top)


    Day shot. (note these are taken at exactly the same time as the other license plate camera I reviewed)


    Night view (here is where the camera suffers a bit)


    Like I said, these screen captures and the ones for the other camera were taken at the same time with the same lighting...and me pushing the trash can in the night view.


    Oh, and I don't need this camera, so I am putting it up for sale...cost me $100...make an offer if interested.

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    55
    Thanks for that helpful review, from what I can tell the picture is not clear I may be the camera shot? may be

    question here, can you do a screenshot on windows instead of taking a picture with a camera?

    thanks

  3. #3
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    1,386
    hey thanks for the reviews... I bought an MP3Car backup camera but I cannont install it for technical reasons. SO i am leaning towards buying a license plate backup camera. Has any1 tried this one:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/License-Plate-Re...QQcmdZViewItem
    2002 Mitsubishi Galant
    Progress: 90% [-▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓- ->

    Carputer Specs:
    Via M10K
    512mb Ram
    60GB HDD
    Souund Blaster Audigy2 NX
    OPUS ITX PC Case


  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheekz185 View Post
    hey thanks for the reviews... I bought an MP3Car backup camera but I cannont install it for technical reasons. SO i am leaning towards buying a license plate backup camera. Has any1 tried this one:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/License-Plate-Re...QQcmdZViewItem
    That's to much ... you could find better thing here check it out

    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/cat_i...w-cameras.html

  5. #5
    FLAC DodgeCummins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    DFW area
    Posts
    1,386
    For all the recent review pictures, two for this camera, and the last two for the other camera, I used my digital camcorder to capture an image directly off the camera.

    A photo of the display can be seen in the other review.

    So no, the camera does not get any better than that.

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    30
    I know I'm late in posting (don't get on here much) but I just wanted to thank you for your time and efforts in creating this review. It is very helpful when considering a purchase and helps to keep the rest of us from having to go through the search and experiment phase. FOr me that is worth a LOT.

    Thanks again - for BOTH reviews.
    Truck PC about 90% done.....Most of the work lies in mounting the LCD (as usual).
    '04 Chevy 2500HD 2.4g P4 ATX, Display = 10.4 inch Samsung TFT/LCD
    Live on the edge, but first, learn good balance.

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: ElmScan 5 ODB-II scanner with StreetDeck
    By RedGTiVR6 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-03-2008, 08:13 PM
  2. EASY rearview camera support (w/ a little help)
    By Custommx3 in forum MediaCar
    Replies: 120
    Last Post: 01-21-2005, 06:40 PM
  3. Multiple Hardware Questions (camera, DVD...)
    By GMCVOY in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 03:45 AM
  4. Is non-IR rearview camera visible at night with reverse lights on?
    By hd54321 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-23-2004, 04:21 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-06-2002, 03:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •