Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Hippo HiFi Bloat USB DAC Review

  1. #1
    Maximum Bitrate Caelric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, NE
    Posts
    834

    Hippo HiFi Bloat USB DAC Review

    I've tried numerous different sound card solutions throughout my two carPC's now, including a SB Audigy 2 NX, a SB X-Fi PCI, an M-Audio Firewire, the on board sound (two different motherboards), and one other I can't think of right now. So, I have some broad experience on what different sound solutions sound like.

    Based on some threads here, I ordered a Bloat, from Hippo HiFi, with all the options, including the upgraded DAC, caps, etc..., as well as RCA outs. I got it yesterday, and while I was going to wait until I had some time, I decided to install it last night, since it is so easy.

    Design: It has one USB in on one side, and two RCA outs (left and right) on the other side, so the install is very easy. It requires no drivers, (if you are using Win XP), as Windows automatically detects it as a USB DAC speaker. It is up and running in less than 5 minutes. The whole thing is slightly smaller than a deck of cards.

    Sound Quality: Out of all the DACs I have used, this is the best. It is even better than the M-Audio Firewire, which is relatively high quality DAC. I'm sure some of the $1000+ DAC's are better, but for the price, this is great. The sound is fuller, more speration between the channels, overall just better quality. My MP3's, while not FLAC quality, are encoded at 320 kbps CBR, so they are about the best quality MP3's. They sound much, much better with the Bloat than anything else I have heard.


    All in all, I would highly recommend this. The website is www.hippohifi.com which seems to be down right now as I type this, but it should be back up at some point.

    Dave
    2005 Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe Black/Black
    Core Duo CarPC
    CarDomain page

  2. #2
    _
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Little Elm, Texas
    Posts
    13,500
    Thanks for the review!
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

    Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

  3. #3
    Car Audio Moderator durwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland (St. Charles,IL)
    Posts
    2,028
    Cool thanks! If I wasn't trying to do software processing I'd buy one of these in a heartbeat over a soundcard. Maybe this should go in the review section?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    are you running this bitperfect or is this still running through the windows k-mixer? if not, are you planning on playing with bit perfect?

  5. #5
    Maximum Bitrate Caelric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, NE
    Posts
    834
    I assume it is running thorgh Windows K-Mixer, not sure, though. I don't plan on worrying about bit-perfect, since the MP3s I play are already compressed and not bit perfect (although they are 320 kbps CBR)
    2005 Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe Black/Black
    Core Duo CarPC
    CarDomain page

  6. #6
    Maximum Bitrate Caelric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, NE
    Posts
    834
    As a note, I wasn't even thinking about the review section, but maybe it would go better over there. Red, if you want to move it, fine by me, if not, fine as well. Either way it works.
    2005 Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe Black/Black
    Core Duo CarPC
    CarDomain page

  7. #7
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    this is now in the reviews section

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate Caelric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, NE
    Posts
    834
    Ok, thanks!
    2005 Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe Black/Black
    Core Duo CarPC
    CarDomain page

  9. #9
    Maximum Bitrate S4Per's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    782
    Design: It has one USB in on one side, and two RCA outs (left and right) on the other side, so the install is very easy.
    I looked at their site, and nowhere do I see a mention of two RCA outs. Did you have to ask for this specifically? How did you order?

  10. #10
    Maximum Bitrate Caelric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bellevue, NE
    Posts
    834
    Yes, you just email via the contact page, and ask for the RCA's on the recent order (reference your order number) $10 extra charge, which he'll send you a bill for.

    Dave
    2005 Infiniti G35 6MT Coupe Black/Black
    Core Duo CarPC
    CarDomain page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Earthmate USB to Serial cable
    By New_Compact in forum GPS
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-22-2008, 02:55 AM
  2. usb power problem: solved!
    By susman in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-31-2004, 02:50 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2004, 10:52 AM
  4. Storix External USB 2.0 DVD Review
    By VWTronics in forum Input Devices
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-27-2003, 07:20 PM
  5. CrystalFontz USB LCD review...
    By Defiler in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2002, 08:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •