Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Hardware Review: Mobile Computing Solutions Mini ITX 2ghz Computer (and peripherals)

  1. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    4
    Just a quick question to those that have installed the older version without the power connector (just 3 wires coming out of the case).

    I bought my carpc from these guys last summer and just got around to actually putting it in the car today (spent alot of time fiddling with it in the house bypassing the m2-atx with a regular ps, loading windows and drivers and configuring).

    The 3 wire colors are red, black, and white. i assume black is ground, but which is the accessory and power wire? when i hooked it up first i had my stereo going with the key out (wrong way i'm guessing) and then i think i blew a fuse as now my stereo and monitor (also on the acc line) don't work at all. and i lost my install instructions at some point over the last 6 months.

  2. #12
    SD beats everything. So there. danielkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,538
    As long as black is ground, it shouldn't blow fuses either way you might hook up red and white. One is battery and one is ignition. Might want to open the case, see what wires go to what points on the power supply, then go to mo-co-so.com site and somewhere you can download the documentation for the ps. I think it's in the lower left corner of the page.

    Mine uses 5 wires (Green and Yellow for external 5 volts) so I wouldn't want to say yours is the same.
    My opinion is my own.

  3. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4
    I purchased one of these and everything is working great except for the DVD Drive. I checked it and 5 volts is going to the drive, so it appears the drive is doa.

    Looks like I will need to contact Chris for a replacement.

    I have been VERY impressed with their service so far.

  4. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    38
    I also got a PC from these guys but been having a good amount of problems. The USB cable was bad and I am still awaiting a replacement. My power connector was faulty but they sent a new one of them right away. The support was great the first week but I haven't heard much back over the past 5 days. I am still having a ton of trouble with my USB ports on this system. I have the bluetooth and wireless internally installed. I then have the 2 main USB ports and two others installed. I try connecting my DVD drive directly through a 10ft cable and my touchscreen through a powered hub which is directly connected to the PC through a 15ft active USB. All seems fine for a little while until the touchscreen stops working and then I can't read from the DVD drive anymore. So I leave the DVD disconnected and just the GPS and touchscreen connected works fine but then my bluetooth starts acting goofy and won;t always make a connection or I get a terrible signal trying to use the audio gateway. Then if I try to connect my ODBII to my powered hub with my touchscreen, it works until I rev my engine and then my touchscreen disconnects. I have no idea what could be wrong but this PC has caused me some headaches so far. If any of you had similar problems, please let me know and how it can possibly be fixed.

  5. #15
    SD beats everything. So there. danielkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,538
    Quote Originally Posted by jjakes24 View Post
    If any of you had similar problems, please let me know and how it can possibly be fixed.
    Haven't seen anything like that, but it sounds like a possible PSU problem. Might check your voltage out. I run 8 USB ports active and a 7 port powered hub on top of it.
    My opinion is my own.

  6. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    38
    Voltage out is 12 steady and 4.95 on the molex which powers my hub. My USB problems are even on the mainboard, so can that be a PSU problem too?

  7. #17
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    38
    Well, just to update about chris at mo-co-so.com. I finally got in touch with him which had to be through a phone call, but he was understanding of my problems. I asked to swap the Jetway MB for an intel celeron instead even though the celeron is much cheaper than the jetway. I had enough of the problems with jetway and decided to cut my losses before I wasted too much more of my time. He said he can do it no problem and we can figure out something for the difference. Lucky for my I am local and can stop by this afternoon. Besides the lost emails, Their customer service has been pretty outstanding so far if you get them on the phone. Perhaps they are just growing a little too quick and its hard for them to keep up with emails? Regardless, at least they are standing by their products.

  8. #18
    Low Bitrate deeznudts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Trenton, NJ
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by jjakes24 View Post
    I am still having a ton of trouble with my USB ports on this system. I have the bluetooth and wireless internally installed. I then have the 2 main USB ports and two others installed. I try connecting my DVD drive directly through a 10ft cable and my touchscreen through a powered hub which is directly connected to the PC through a 15ft active USB. All seems fine for a little while until the touchscreen stops working and then I can't read from the DVD drive anymore.
    I have a mo-co-so puter. Same as Dans, and I've had similar probelms. First of don't power your touch screen through the bus powered USB hub. It has a tendency to stop working, there are many posts on this. I've had similar problems with the DVD drive. I tried the active USB cable and a couple others. I found that the short cables worked, but the long ones didn't. I went out to best buy and bought a 10' gold plated geek squad cable, and it works fine. I don't know how much better that cable is than the others, it's kind of pricey. But it's been working now for 4 months.

    On another subject, has anyone installed additional case fans on one of these? I have mine in a concealed space and it got damn hot today, up around 180 F according to the bios temp. reading. Would love to know how you did it if you did.

  9. #19
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,237
    Blog Entries
    1
    ^Im guessing its your cpu temp thats running that high? I have the same mocoso case, but I am running a low power epia m10k system. Cpu temp is about 40C during the winter, which is not bad considering that the ventilation on this case isnt the best. Dont know what the temp will be when summer hits. The problem with this case seems to be that the air is blown across only the hard drive and power supply, but the cpu fan and the rest of the motherboard is sitting in stale air.

    Unless you take off the two side panels, there really isnt anywhere to add fans. You would have to drill a fan hole into the case, preferably on the top of the case (I think you might have to mount the fan externally, there is no room). I couldnt find any hole saw adapters for my drill large enough for a 80mm fan, so Ive put off putting a fan on my case.

  10. #20
    SD beats everything. So there. danielkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    1,538
    Quote Originally Posted by deeznudts View Post
    Would love to know how you did it if you did.
    I use the 2 onboard USB ports for Soundblaster live 24 (DVD originally) and Touchscreen. The 2 header usb ports power XM and GPS. The other 2 header (I added another) usb ports are a 7 port hub, (iMon Ultrabay, something I can't talk about, single external cable, and DVD now since I built it into the imon and it doesn't do as well) and the OBDII. Internally, the usb ports are bluetooth and wireless. THEN there is a PCMCIA 4 port USB hub (powered by the PS2 connection), it powers the EVDO (2 ports), Andrea USB mic, and one port open for jump drives.

    As for the temp, I drilled a huge hole directly over the CPU (about 2" diameter), covered the case in fiber screen (yeah, home depot porch screen), and then attached a 2" fan that runs off the ignition. Temp isn't a problem and the computer is in the glovebox.

    Hope that helps!
    My opinion is my own.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •