Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 95

Thread: Jetway NC62K Review

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156

    Jetway NC62K Review

    Link is here
    http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/ipcboard...&proname=NC62K

    Hardware Review: JETWAY NC62K

    What it is/does: Awesome Car PC Mobo

    Reviewed by: Swordfishunter
    Manufacturer : Jetway
    Model: NC62k
    Specs: AM2 /AM2+ Motherboard. Nvidia Chipset 8200 Graphics. 1 DDR RAM slot. 1 PCI, 2 Serial Ports - get this 10 USB. also available HDMI sound.
    Price: Check at Car TFT
    Rating: 9.99/10
    Manufacturer website: http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/ipcboard...&proname=NC62K
    Purchased at: www.cartft.com

    Pros: Here it is. Dual core for the car. I "had" a MSI fuzzy 945gm1 for about 3 days before I gave it back. That thing posted slower than USPS, intermittent hangs, and unreliable graphics drivers.

    I've paired this mobo with a Amd Athlon X2 2.5ghz 4850e which, according to specs 45w.

    16GB SSD, 2GB ram and a 160gb hdd.

    BIOS Post plus time to desktop is approx 8 seconds with full xp install, services disable and some tweaks.

    It's smooth, creamy, and havn't had a single problem for the 3 days bench / car testing it.

    Nvidia Drivers do 800x480 without any fuss.

    I have not tested the onboard sound yet as I'm running my Auzentech X Meridian... although I'm sure it is better than via and the like.

    I ran this board with soundcard, and 1 SSD, 1 HDD and 1 stick of ram on a pico 120w PSU... however, the addition of a DVD drive proved too much, so I had to upgrade to a 220w PSU.

    It's bios is suited for serious overclocking and customization, have a look at the manual on jetways site.

    It's a pretty awesome board, with RR running, playing ASIO and Nav, CPU consumption is around 9-10%. With the addition of visualization, it shoots to about 30%

    It's a pretty solid looking board with big capacitors all over.

    I didn't even bother updating the bios so far and still running the drivers that came with the disk... not a single freeze/crash/hang/bsod despite all the tweaking / horm / ewf etc.


    Awesome board for those looking for an intel alternative. C2D's seem to have a longer post than the AMD... go figure, everyone i've asked (retailers) says so.

    BTW this board is blueray capable.

    Cons: AMD heatsink is a little tall for most cases...

    No bios logo, if not it'll be perfect.

    Pictures:

  2. #2
    FLAC Dougw133's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,245
    Good review... I am looking to replace my C7 2.0 GHZ...With the advances in RR and the expanding device usage it doesn't keep up for me.

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    238
    @swordfishunter
    When the board is running at 30%, do you notice any slow downs like the front-end running slower?

    Also how's the board performing so far? Anything you've noticed whether it be good or bad? Did you tweak any BIOS settings yet?

  4. #4
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    no slow downs at all.

    I tweaked the basics for speed....removed unnecessary hdd's, ports, etc... there's a lot more in the bios which i didn't dare to explore, stuff with overclocking etc... there are bios updates but honestly i havn't bothered as i have no problems.

    There's already 2 bios updates on the jetway site, but im confused to whether it's a cumulative upgrade, or i have to do one by one, so i just left it.

    I have 0 problems with this board. Running sp3 that's pretty good. my msi "fussy" had severe freezes for no apparent reason.

    If you go to the site, the instruction manual has the complete bios guide, which has the overclocking features etc...

    From my experience, my VGA always gives me a problem, sometimes it doesnt detect, outputting to the wrong port etc... with this, i can choose 'always vga" which solves the problem once and for all.

    Like I said the only cons with it so far is the massive amd heatsink, which is larger than a c2d. There's also no spare sysfan power connector as the graphics chip also uses a small heatsink and fan.

    It requires a 4 pin direct to the mobo in addition to the 20 pin atx slot, so you'll need the dsatx, m4atx, or m2atx or better yet, an Opus..

    Im using a case with dual pci risers, I'm still sourcing a tv card to see compatibility. SO FAR- an old pci usb card works, however i'm not sure if a tv card would cause any problem.

    There's one thing in the bios which allows it to boot from removable hard drive!!!! all you cf, thumbdrive, nliting addicts, this might be for you.

    I did not have any problem with the SSD though.

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    more about the processor... the 4850e.

    2.5 ghz dual core at 45w is good enough for me...
    although this board is quad core capable.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103255

    it uses an am2 / am2+ socket.

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    238
    @swordfishunter
    Thanks for the reply. You're making me a believer in this board. For the longest time I've been looking at the D201GLY2A for my next carPC. But I may spend the extra money on your mobo + proc combo.

    I hope others post their experiences with this board because I'm strongly considering this one.

  7. #7
    FLAC Dougw133's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,245
    I am really considering this board. How are you running 2 PCI off it? I see only one.

    And what is this standing for? "16GB SSD"?

    Also, with the Enormous heatsink on the CPU how high is it? I have mine stashed under seat and don't know if I could fit it.

    Thanks for the updates

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    156
    Though a dual pci riser.

    16gb ssd is a 16 gb solid state drive.

    The heatsink is about 4.5 inches.

  9. #9
    FLAC Dougw133's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,245
    Solid state huh??? I was always wondering when they were going to start popping up...They faster?

    Thanks for the info on the height.

  10. #10
    FLAC Dougw133's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,245
    8 Seconds cold start or resume?

Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Jetway mobo's
    By kamikaze2112 in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 11:05 AM
  2. XENARC 700 IDT Review and ...and I need help
    By hondamac in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2007, 07:39 PM
  3. Fix for M2-ATX and Jetway!
    By andrewb in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-16-2007, 06:28 PM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM
  5. Jetway AMD Geode NX1750 vs Commell LV-668
    By Orbserver in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2006, 11:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •