Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Hardware Review: Andrea Sound Max Stereo Array Mic

  1. #1
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,121
    Blog Entries
    51

    Hardware Review: Andrea Sound Max Stereo Array Mic

    Superb voice solution... iffffffffff you never hibernate~!

    I recently purchased this mic bundle from Mp3car. You get exactly whats shown in the picture... a nice stereo mic with a standard pink mic connector, a usb device that says its a sound adapter (more on that later), and the driver CD. Installation was pretty straight forward. First, you install the drivers and the sound management application, then plug in your handy USB sound adapter. The drivers should be found automatically. Lastly, plug in the mic into the sound adapter. Done!

    The software package in the bundle is also very simple. The application has its own wizard, similar to the windows sound wizard, where you speak and it adjusts the mic volume based on your volume. The tasty part of the application and the main selling point IMHO is the noise filter selection. I was a bit surprised at there being only 2 real filter options, and i honestly cant tell the difference between them. Both do a really excellent job of eliminating most of the noises while traveling in a vehicle. The sound while standing still is practically the same as driving 60mph on the highway. I was able to make several hands free calls via the RR Plugin and no one could honestly tell i was using a computer mic versus a bluetooth headset. High quality stuff!

    That is... until you hibernate. Upon resume, your andrea mic comes back to life as "Device AK#####" (numbers are completely random). The mic is still functions, but none of the voice filters remain available. The ONLY way i was able to get them back was to unplug, restart the computer, then reinsert. This of course is a serious setback for anyone that puts there car PC to sleep rather than shutting down.

    One other quibble I've noticed is the sound mixer application conflicts with other mixer applications. On my intel dg45fc motherboard with "High-Definition Audio", the andrea mixer will reset my values anytime it takes focus. Not a huge problem, but it is something worth noting.

    Design isn't really a huge concern given its just a mic... but the Andrea is pretty sleek! Its practically made to sit behind the steering wheel on the steering column due to its lip placement.

    All in all, i am happy with my purchase being that the only real grief will come when i take the time to find a way to overcome hibernation issues (Relay? Devcon?). Overall, I'm giving the device 4/5 stars. Save the hibernation problem, its really the best mic I've tried since joining the hobby half a decade ago.

    Pics and sample .wav files coming soon!
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    366
    I wonder if devcon can help with the hibernate issues.

  3. #3
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,121
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by kross View Post
    I wonder if devcon can help with the hibernate issues.
    I sure hope so. But i've been so busy with the new computer installation i havent bothered to test it yet.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, India
    Posts
    49
    Thanx for the review Sonic. I am also getting Andrea hopefully by next week. Will post my experience.
    Btw. I do hibernate my system all the time. isnt there any solution for it ? How about asking Andrea Support ? Did You Ask them ?

  5. #5
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,121
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by nisarg86 View Post
    Thanx for the review Sonic. I am also getting Andrea hopefully by next week. Will post my experience.
    Btw. I do hibernate my system all the time. isnt there any solution for it ? How about asking Andrea Support ? Did You Ask them ?
    i havent contacted Andrea. Guess i can shoot an email over to them now. The driver that came with the cd is dated in 2006 so i doubt they sell enough of these things that a new driver is a possibility. I think a relay which kills power to the + line in the usb cable upon taking the key out is the best solution. As long as the sound adapter is disconnected before hibernation it will resume as the andrea mic not the dreaded AK4794blah
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    189
    Is the usb device you plug the mic in to a usb sound card? If so, maybe the problem is with that and you could just plug the mic in to the mic port in your onboard sound? Just a thought...

  7. #7
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,121
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Norrin302 View Post
    Is the usb device you plug the mic in to a usb sound card? If so, maybe the problem is with that and you could just plug the mic in to the mic port in your onboard sound? Just a thought...
    The only way the voice filters work is if you have the usb adapter in line.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  8. #8
    Maximum Bitrate Injector's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    525
    does it filter the retched echo as well?

  9. #9
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,121
    Blog Entries
    51
    I'm assuming so.. i've never had a person say i had an echo on my end and never pick up echo in doing wav recording. Seriously its a great solution in my mind i just dont have the time to fiddle with its hibernation proceedures right now.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    351
    Blog Entries
    1
    Did you find a solution to the hibernation problem?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HOW TO: Get sound from PC to Car Stereo / Amp
    By ppgt94 in forum The FAQ Emporium
    Replies: 147
    Last Post: 05-31-2005, 04:20 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 11:14 PM
  3. 2 channel (stereo sound) to 4 speakers?
    By SwapMeet in forum Newbie
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-09-2004, 06:59 PM
  4. stereo sound with 4 speakers question
    By crashwg in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2004, 06:53 PM
  5. got sound?
    By masch in forum Newbie
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-17-2003, 09:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •