Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Xenarc 805 TSV Review

  1. #1
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024

    Xenarc 805 TSV Review

    As some of you have noticed, I'm the chosen to review this brand new monitor.
    Over the next couple of weeks I'll be filling this with much more information, so please request what you'd like to know.

    My to-do list is:
    - ALL DONE!
    - Anything else, please PM me!

    Summary:

    First look:
    - Very complete set of accessories included
    - Nice and presentable packaging
    - Good quality material and build

    Comparison:
    - Little/No grainy touchscreen when look close, compared to older screen
    - Almost exact par with my samsung LCD SyncMaster 2253W in term of brightness, clarity
    - Exactly the same picture quality and brightness as my xenarc 701TSV
    - Very quick processors (fast source switch, auto switch, and menu adjustment)
    - Good viewing angle
    - 5 Wire resistive touchscreen is very accurate, and most likely more durable
    - LED backlit release little heat

    Features Worth Mentioning:
    - Presets Dimmer levels.
    - Extended Operating Temperature! 14F ~ 158F
    - Wide Input voltage, DC 9V ~ 30V, 1A
    - 5 Wire Touchscreen

    Sunlight Readability:
    - Fairly nice, but no where close to transflective.
    - Highest brightness level is readable at most light conditions.

    Possible Improvements:
    - Automatic dimmer instead of preset levels
    - Even faster auto switch
    - Choice of frameless, and extended cables because most of us will probably take it out and fabricate something for it anyway.
    - As per usual brighter/cheaper/better anti-glare (I might be asking too much here)

    Measurements:
    - See Post #4.

  2. #2
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024

    First Look

    The box gives you a very good impression and the good feeling of buying a nice product, similar feeling to opening my macbook's box.
    Inside the box packs everything you'll ever need for a carputer monitor. The manual/driver CD, stand, stylus pen, av cables, power cables, ...etc.
    The connectors have nice and thick wires, very good quality connectors that clicks and hold as they should.
    They finally made a really nice retractable metal stylus, which looks nice and is very precise when calibrating the unit.
    Finally the screen itself is flat black in color, made from very good plastic, that does not feel flimsy by any standard.
    Buttons sits in place, and has good tactile feedback when pressed.

    PICTURES:


    Very nice looking box, doesn't look the cheap stuff you get from other cheap LCD.


    Features and Specs

    The entire content of box: CD/Manual, stand, cable, screws for stand, DC brick, retractable stylus pen, remote, cigarette plug, and LCD.

    The remote

    Cigarette Plug

    Cable

    Stand

  3. #3
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024

    Close Look at the Screen


    Cable Connector


    The back


    The Front


    Side 1


    Side 2


    Top


    Bottom



    With Stand

  4. #4
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024

    Compared With Samsung 22" LCD, Xenarc 701TSV, and Lilliput 619

    Well here comes the fun part where we fire up the screen. I must warn you guys, I do not have the latest digital camera or the best quality either, so please bare with me.

    Let's have a look at the menu and the preset dimmer feature:
    [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PfEgXW52FE&feature=channel_page[/media]
    As you can see I initially started playing with the dimmer preset, there is a good change in each preset (4 in total) (the camera auto light adjustment making it hard to see the differences)
    Then I started playing with the Menu, which should give you a pretty good idea of what the screen is capable of.

    This new monitor's processor is much snappier than my current/old xenarcs, minimal/non delay time between switching sources and menu choices.
    But the most exciting part of this new processor is how fast auto AV2 switch happens. I'm running the 701TSV which has auto switch to AV2, but I absolutely hate how long it takes between ignition and reverse camera is actually displayed. I've seen BMW's being able to pretty much instantaneously switch to reverse camera, and I've always dreamt of my car being able to do this. Even though the 805TSV is not quite instantaneous yet, its a pretty darn good improvement, and I have videos to prove it!

    The 701TSV Reverse time (about the same as my old 700TSV)
    [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Do3I3XEEEPU[/media]

    The 805TSV Reverse Time
    [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_fsD1rH6jE[/media]

    The 701TSV took roughly 10 seconds, where as the 805TSV took roughly 5 seconds.
    Half the time! Impressive! This is great, but I'm hoping Xenarc will further improve this in future releases!


    Here is a side by side pic with my 22" Samsung LCD (DVI), and the 805TSV (VGA).
    The screen is very bright, text displayed nice and clear.


    Here is another similar picture, except with flash.


    Closer shot of the Xenarc



    Closer shot of both screens. This is where we see that the colors between the two are not quite the same.
    The Xenarc's color is a bit washed compared to the LCD color. This is most likely due to the anti-glare coating and the touchscreen diffusing the light,
    which may cause the screen to loose color quality, but will probably enhance the sunlight readability (will test on a nice sunny day soon).
    This is most noticeable on darker color, and not so noticeable on light colors.
    Most important difference with the 805TSV is the there is almost non grainy look when you look closely at the touchscreen overlay,
    which is a huge improvement from the previous screens I've ever used.



    So I fired up a HD version of ICE AGE 2 Preview, and this is the difference between the color.



    A few more showing the color difference between the two screen.


    The two side by side.

    The Samsung is nice, but its not a automotive screen. So let's move to a more interesting comparison.
    This is my Xenarc 701TSV, which I think have beautiful color, very bright, and well built monitor. Here is how they stack up.


    As you can see the color difference is a lot less noticeable. These two were adjusted using the auto adjust function and left as is for the rest of the pictures.
    What I see that maybe hard to see on the pictures is, the 805TSV is a bit washed up in color, and the 701TSV is a bit dark.

    UPDATE
    After being puzzled why the 805TSV was so washed in color, I rethought for a second about how the trusted auto adjust function may not be doing the best auto adjustment. So i quickly changed the brightness manually, and voila! crisp clean pictures like i had expected!
    Here are the new pictures! the xenarc picture quality is equivalent with my 22" LCD!



    No difference compared to the 701TSV, except maybe better anti-glare!


    Both still have a huge headroom for contrast and brightness adjustments.



    Viewing angle comparison, both have amazing viewing angles! Though I think the 701TSV is a tad bit better.


    Side by Side picture.

    The final screen being the lilliput 619GL (OLD OLD model).


    As we can see that that my old lilliput is just outdated compared to the xenarc and is not a real comparison, but it'll give those with older screen a good idea of the difference.

  5. #5
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024

    Outdoor Pictures


    Well here comes the sad, but not surprising truth. Still not a transflective screen, but livable. This is brightness at 50%.

    This is brightness at 75%.

    This is brightness at 100%.


    This is pretty much as bad as I could've gotten it, horizontally that is.

    A few pics, near the driver side instead.

    Looking pretty sharp!








    A couple with my existing setup, one of my 2 x 701TSV for sake of comparison.

  6. #6
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024

    Measurements.


    Front of LCD, measures: 183 x 140 x 6 mm (not including the circuit board)


    Back circuit board measures:180 x 110 x 10 mm

    As one unit glued together (LCD + Circuit board) Measures: 180.4 x 140.0 x 30.0 mm measured from the top of LCD to the highest component on the circuit board.


    The Button circuit board measures: 170 x 10 x 10 mm


    Front bezel measures: 200 x 163 x15 mm (touchscreen is the same as LCD measurements)


    Back bezel measures: 192 x 160 x 22 mm


    Complete unit measures: 200 x 160 x 35 mm

    *Measurements are accurate to +- 1mm

  7. #7
    Mod - iPad Forums RipplingHurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    2,176
    Quote Originally Posted by Punky View Post

    Side 2
    This is too thick.

  8. #8
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024
    too thick for what?

  9. #9
    Mod - iPad Forums RipplingHurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    2,176
    For its overall size. Too thick for 2010. Too thick for the price. Chose one.

    It's thicker than a tablet, only there's no HD, CPU, RAM, WIFI or any processing power whatsover. It's just a dumb monitor.

    It's time for the screens to go slim, IMHO. They're too fat for my needs (overhead console for instance).

  10. #10
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,024
    the review was done in 2009, but i guess this model hasn't really change since.
    i haven't looked into it much, but i don't know of too many 8" screen that are much thinner than this one.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Punky selected to review the new Xenarc 805
    By Heather in forum mp3Car Forum Made Product Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 03:52 PM
  2. Trade: Have Xenarc TSV for Xenarc 700IDT
    By msreyes in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 10:11 AM
  3. Trade Xenarc TSV for Xenarc Xenarc 700IDT
    By msreyes in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2006, 12:13 AM
  4. WTS: Broken 7" Xenarc TSV - VGA Connector Broke Off The Board
    By jeeplaw in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-16-2005, 10:57 PM
  5. what does the back of the XENARC TSV look like?
    By Sporttracguy in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-23-2004, 12:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •