Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hardware review - scantool.net; OBDlink CI

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    48
    Blog Entries
    1

    Hardware review - scantool.net; OBDlink CI

    I was recently given the opportunity to complete a review of scantool.nets OBDlink CI by mp3 car.
    After having tested The OBDlink CI on multiple makes and models I've found it's limited to vehicles newer than 2004. It does however work very well on all the U.S. Models as well as Honda's and Toyota's. This tool is also very simple to work with, after loading the software and choosing the correct com port I was up and running. It picked up multiple trouble codes and monitored each sensor on the vehicle just as accurately as my $2000 snap on scanner. After trying a couple more things to get the scanner to work on older vehicles and failing I contacted Vitaliy through the scantool.net forum because the new CI can have firmware upgrades made to it. I thought he would have some insight as to how I could set up the CI to work on vehicles like my 2001 Focus, or my fathers 2002 Cadillac DHS. Instead I was delightfully surprised at how personable and helpful he was (customer service is worth more than anything to me these days). Although there was no software or means to get the unit to work on older vehicles hen explained people that purchased the Cl were eligible to get a discount on the new OBDLINK which was coming out soon. We however worked out a deal where I would also get to review the new OBDLINK.


    So here's the tool as it comes packaged. Literally everything you need to get started.



    So the pluses are; Easy to load software, Easy to hook everything up, works great on vehicles newer than 2004. Easy to read sensor information, DTC's are not only shown but the description is given as well.

    Negatives; This unit only works on vehicles newer than 2004.

  2. #2
    Admin. Linux loser.
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Bugbyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    7,364
    Blog Entries
    2
    That's interesting. The OBDLINK CI that I was asked to test worked great on my 2001 VW Beetle. I wonder why that is?

    More info on the OBDLINK software, please! What features does it have? Is there something that sets it apart from other software? Anything better or worse about it? How about some screenshots?
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettocruzer View Post
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    48
    Blog Entries
    1
    It's likely the tool worked on your VW because it is a different OBD protocol than the different vehicles I had at my disposal

    The software it comes with is fairly basic. It gives the sensor readings for all generic functions. It does make it easy to read while on the road, there's no clutter but again it won't monitor the "proprietary" information. I also can't monitor anything other than the engine sensors.

    There's no gauges or charts but that's all available in the upgraded software. I've also been trying some opensource programs but haven't had any luck yet.

    Here's a shot of the base software.


  4. #4
    Admin. Linux loser.
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Bugbyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    7,364
    Blog Entries
    2
    So, will this work with ELM327 compatible software or is it different?
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettocruzer View Post
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    48
    Blog Entries
    1
    Here it is connected to some elmscan software.


  6. #6
    VENDOR - ScanTool Vitaliy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    624
    Just a couple of points:

    - OBDLink CI supports ISO9141-2, ISO14230-4 (KWP2000), and ISO15765-4 (CAN). Therefore, it can work on vehicles as old as model year 1994, as long as the vehicle in question uses one of the first two protocols.

    - CI doesn't support J1850 VPW or PWM (old GM and Ford OBD protocols), however the new OBDLink supports ALL OBD-II protocols.

    - CI and OBDLink are both compatible with the ELM327 command set.

    - Jacob, OBDLink has been out for a while now; my apologies for the delay -- please email me your address and we'll send one out to you right away.

    Vitaliy
    OBDLink MX: world's smallest, fastest, most advanced OBD/Bluetooth adapter with SW and MS CAN support. Read the review to learn more.
    Need to look up a diagnostic trouble code? Try the most up-to-date, free DTCsearch.com!

    You cannot send me a private message using this forum. Use my email instead: vitaliy[@]scantool.net.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    48
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for the info Vitaliy.

    I'm all set with the OBDLink, i received it and it's working out great. I have a review I'll be posting up here shortly.

  8. #8
    Admin. Linux loser.
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Bugbyte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Corning, NY
    Posts
    7,364
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Vitaliy View Post
    Just a couple of points:

    - OBDLink CI supports ISO9141-2, ISO14230-4 (KWP2000), and ISO15765-4 (CAN). Therefore, it can work on vehicles as old as model year 1994, as long as the vehicle in question uses one of the first two protocols.

    - CI doesn't support J1850 VPW or PWM (old GM and Ford OBD protocols), however the new OBDLink supports ALL OBD-II protocols.

    - CI and OBDLink are both compatible with the ELM327 command set.

    - Jacob, OBDLink has been out for a while now; my apologies for the delay -- please email me your address and we'll send one out to you right away.

    Vitaliy
    That clears it up, thanks. My VW is ISO 9141. I can say that not only did the OBDLINK-CI work on my car without issue, it also worked on my Intel Mac Mini running VMWARE Fusion and the OBDLINK-CI. I have to caution that I only tested it a little bit and it did seem to have a problem waking up from hibernation, but that is probably due to Fusion, not the OBDLINK-CI.

    Good product and worked as advertised. I used all of the different test software that came on the install disk and it was able to find the OBCLINK-CI without issue. This included software that was looking for ELM-327 compatible interfaces.
    Quote Originally Posted by ghettocruzer View Post
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: Provision 8" 16:9 VGA Touchscreen
    By lightman in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 08:02 AM
  2. Hardware Review: DWW-700H First Impressions
    By buurin in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 03-25-2007, 05:02 PM
  3. Hardware Review: ShuttleXpress
    By Genesisfactor in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-20-2006, 07:44 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Commell lv-668 1500NX embedded motherboard
    By wilsonj in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-03-2006, 06:36 AM
  5. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 06:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •