Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47

Thread: Hardware Review: JL Audio CL-RLC volume controlled preamp

  1. #21
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    remember, the cl-rlc itself is a 7.5volt preamp-- so you could really remove the one you have if you choose to go with these.

    i think that you would need at least 3 of these-- 2 for master control(using the splitters after the rlc), and 1 for sub volume.

    otherwise, you could split the signal before the cl-rlc's, and you would need 4-- 3 for master volume control, and 1 for sub level.

    part of my reason for ordering these is because i had fried my 6 channel, 8 volt preamp trying to fix humming issues and needed a preamp and a volume control.

    so far, they have worked great, and even for $150-180, are one of the cheaper external volume control/preamp solutions. And except for the issues with that one, i have not had any problems after replacing it.

  2. #22
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    90
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I was speaking of the preamp module that is built into the cl-rlc, not of a separate one. I think I'll purchase 3 so that I can have everything separate and the best quality sound and options. Hope I still have phone stuff laying around, I know I threw a bunch away a few months ago! I could probably DO it with 2, but it wouldn't be quite as ideal.

    Oh, and these are available at www.dealercostcaraudio.com for 50$ each, free shipping on orders over 100$. I don't know the website, but perhaps after I get everything and install it I'll give my own opinion on them (sooo... 2months? ) Direct Link

  3. #23
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Reading, PA
    Posts
    90
    Sorry, a question I forgot to ask. How many conductors are in the phone cabling? I'm assuming its the more common 4 conductor, but there is a very slight possibility of 6p6c or 6p2c as well... If you don't know, I'll just have to wait for mine to arrive!

  4. #24
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    each knob will include 20ft of phone cable. they use 4 pin/4 wire, rj11 connectors(i seem to remember trying 6 pin rj11's at one point, and think they would have worked- had some left over from my remote sub level knob for my clarion crossover-- after breaking the lock tab...).

    also, just a installation tip-- wrap the rj-11 connector with electrical tape while you are pulling them through the car so that the lock tab doesn't get broken off-- otherwise you will need to get more connectors because no amount of creativity will keep the connector in for more than a day or 2-- they will fall out all the time without the lock tab, and will drive you to insanity.

  5. #25
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    44
    Nice review. Thanks for the detailed info!!

  6. #26
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, India
    Posts
    49
    I am thinking to buy this after reading soundman's review. I am using simple 2 Front components Speaker and 1 sub setup. How many would i need ?

  7. #27
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    that depends entirely on how you want to setup your system, or how it is already setup.

    for every computer output, you need 1.

    for instance, if you are going to use the crossovers on the amps, and will just use the "front" audio output(1 pair of right/left audio) of the motherboard, you will only need 1.

    if you went with a audio processing setup that had separate audio outputs(more then 1 pair) for each amp, then you would need 1 for each amp.

    also, if you wanted a independent volume control for the sub as well, you would need to add 1 more module to the total. there are also other solutions for this as well, but most require running rca cables close to the knobs location(the advantage to the cl-rlc).

  8. #28
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, India
    Posts
    49
    Thank You soundman for the info. I will order the pair of this.
    My setup would be Sound Card > CL - RLC > AMP.

  9. #29
    FLAC freeflashstuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Socorro, New Mexico, United States
    Posts
    1,142
    The reviews I've read on that dealercostcaraudio.com have been mixed, but most have been negative. Good luck if you buy from them.
    I have bad luck with vehicles...

  10. #30
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    Dealer cost car audio is not a authorized dealer, which can lead to problems later of you ever have a defective unit-- after my own bad luck with 1 unit, I would highly recommend purchasing from a authorized dealer that will honor a warranty (crutchfield.com is a well known, reputable dealer that has a online store, but there are others).

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hardware Review: T-view T92VGA
    By TimmyM in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 11:17 AM
  2. Hardware Review: Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 HiFi
    By durwood in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 106
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 02:50 PM
  3. volume control - audio
    By FireSquirrel in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 02:58 PM
  4. Audio problems, Epia Sound, and FAQ stuff
    By gothate in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2005, 04:04 PM
  5. Special audio preamp circuit
    By claylong in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-14-2003, 05:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •