Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 57

Thread: Software Review - Breakaway Audio Enhancer (MUST HAVE!)

  1. #11
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    102
    This certainly is interesting. I am pretty new to carpc's but I know that I already need better sound, which is why I am glad to have stumbled on to your software.

    I am now very curious to see what RTA can do for my setup.

  2. #12
    The Curator
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Blue ZX3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago area,IL
    Posts
    5,079
    So, basically in layman's terms, its a type of an ASIO driver/setup?
    RideRunner...The #1 FE, PERIOD.

    Current Project: DFXVoice [v1.0 Released]
    Next in line: RRMedia v2.0

    DFX 5.1.1 Skin
    Appstore Link

    My RideRunner Plugins
    RRMedia
    RRExtended
    DFXVoice

    "There are no bugs - only undocumented features."

  3. #13
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,153
    Blog Entries
    51
    lol only on this website is ASIO considered layman's terms
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  4. #14
    The Curator
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Blue ZX3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago area,IL
    Posts
    5,079
    I will take that as a yes..LOL
    RideRunner...The #1 FE, PERIOD.

    Current Project: DFXVoice [v1.0 Released]
    Next in line: RRMedia v2.0

    DFX 5.1.1 Skin
    Appstore Link

    My RideRunner Plugins
    RRMedia
    RRExtended
    DFXVoice

    "There are no bugs - only undocumented features."

  5. #15
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    not really--asio is a driver type, and this is software that intercepts the audio, modifies it, and then sends it on to the sound card outputs..

  6. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8
    So, basically in layman's terms, its a type of an ASIO driver/setup?

    Actually no, BAE has no ASIO support at all -- it's not necessary for how it's used. On the other hand, BAE has direct Kernel Streaming support, to directly talk to the sound card driver, bypassing as much of windows audio handling as possible in the process.

    I have written an ASIO driver, though. It comes with Breakaway DJ, and allows Breakaway DJ to appear as an ASIO driver so that DJ software can send audio directly to it, at extremely low latency. Not really applicable for car audio though.

    FantaXP7, let me know how it goes!

    ///Leif

  7. #17
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    Quote Originally Posted by konbaasiang View Post
    Not really applicable for car audio though.
    depends on who you talk to

    plenty of us use vst hosts for car audio. some setup asio, my soundcard even supports it, but it took a lot to setup to only work inconsistantly, so i just use the wdm drivers...

    i run audiomulch because i can beat the features of any headunit with a couple of plugins...

  8. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8
    Soundman98, interesting! What plug-ins are you using? Perhaps this is something I should think about supporting for the car version of Breakaway.

    I concur about the functions in the head unit! I think it's beyond ridiculous that there's no built in parametric EQ in the head unit -- they've got the DSP power, and (in my opinion) it's a necessity in any car setup -- the chance of the frequency response being correct all my itself is almost nil.

    ASIO is designed for low latency audio, for pro audio use. Consumer-type features like working properly through hibernation cycles was probably not given any consideration at all -- it just wasn't a design requirement. WDM does work great though .

    Best,
    ///Leif

  9. #19
    MySQL Error soundman98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    on the border of northern IL/IN
    Posts
    5,848
    the main reason that many of the high end audio carpc's use vst hosts is mostly due to time alignments, and speaker control. headunits just can't match what i can do with my carpc..

    i got into this mess after getting sick of the current state of headunits--i would have needed to buy a $800 hu, just to have the capability to add a external audio-processing module that was roughly another $1000... and i was still limited to only a couple of features that didn't necessarily meet all of my needs... and had to deal with multiple audio connections, and a device that i needed a computer to program..

    about $2000 of carpc hardware later, and i can run almost any plugins i want(i am only limited by processing power), and can have my entire audio library-- in flac form-- available at any time..

    right now i am using rubberfilter for crossovers-- 3 instances--sub(30-50), and mids(50-2.5k) are bandpassed, and the tweeters get a highpass(2.5k) instance.. all at 18db/oct. i also use a combiner-- a plugin that was included with audiomulch--stereo-to-mono converter for my sub channel(just so i don't miss any sub detail). and i am using a single instance of karmafx 32band graphic eq-- though, i am running a flat eq atm.. i am working on locating a t/a plugin that works for me, atm, it looks like i will be using one that is simply titled "variable delay".. but have yet to set it up in the car..


    don't go too crazy with the plugin idea though-- i can think of only about 10-15 current users that are even using audio processing(i doubt that there are much more then 100 users here that have some sort of audio processing)-- it seems to be a niche-of-a-niche in carpc's...

  10. #20
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8
    Hi Soundman!

    My speaker controller core already has parametric eq, time alignment and crossovers, so if that's all you need (indeed, it's all *I* need), plug-ins are probably not necessary -- it's certainly easier to manage if everything is built into one app.

    How are you handling volume control now? What's the signal flow in your system?
    (Example: Flac -> Audiomulch -> Sound card -> Speakers -- would mean that the head unit's volume control wouldn't work)

    ///Leif

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TouchScan OBD-II Software - OCTech Forum Product Review
    By mezz64 in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2009, 01:15 PM
  2. How do I get subwoofer working on D945GCLF motherboard?
    By Maheriano in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 10:38 PM
  3. Review: Garmin MobilePC Windows Navigation Software
    By Fiberoptic in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-19-2009, 12:30 PM
  4. Audio Tuning via Software
    By RedGTiVR6 in forum Wiki Discussion Threads
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-09-2008, 11:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •