Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 57

Thread: Software Review - Breakaway Audio Enhancer (MUST HAVE!)

  1. #41
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    631
    it was just a thought....but here's how I would picture it (I have limited coding skills, and this is waaaaay out of my league )

    The software would take the audio that is sent to the wave-out or directfilter (or whatever that the breakaway software intercepts) and subtract that from the mic input, invert the result and send it back out.

    Obviously it would need a very fast card (s) and a fast cpu. There are various noise cancellation circuits on the web that I thought about trying - just don't have the time to do so at the moment. The problem with the circuits is that I don't think you'd be able to what I mentioned above without some sort of processor logic programming.

    just a rough idea...because I'd like to have a quiet car again without buying a new one

  2. #42
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    351
    I would think that noise cancellation would be better done with a hardware controller somewhere closer to the amp.

    As in, a processor that has its own mic input, and is programmed just to take the inverse of that mic input, and apply it to input, then output the result.

    Doing it on the computer and having to do it in real time would probably be more prohibitive.

    However, doing it in the last stage before the amp would be relatively easy I would think? And you could even have the mic on a lead, so you could place it up near the headrests of the seats, so as to be the most effective.

  3. #43
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    631
    I think the biggest hurdle would be trying to avoid cancelling out the pc audio if using a hardware option. I've read that a "passive" cancellation is good for low frequencies while active is good for high...or maybe I have that backwards.

    The other idea I had (and I think I'm going to try it when I get my car back) is to record a drive (without music of course) on a few different sets of pavement (smooth, rough, concrete, asphalt, etc) as well as some idle time. Then use audio software to mix and invert those recordings. Then play that back at a low volume. It wouldn't necessarily be as cool as real-time active noise cancellation...but more of a low volume playback of inverted "white noise" commonly found in the car. It should achieve some of the same effect without cancelling out the music much if any.

  4. #44
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    351
    Actually, it would make it worse, not better.

    Unless the waveform is the same shape (caveat coming up), the sound will add to the current noise levels, making the noise in the car worse.

    Caveat: If the waveform is the same shape, but slightly out of phase, then it will reduce the noise level in the car, but only by a reduced amount.

    So having a recording of a similar road type will not help for noise cancelling, and will in all likelihood make the road noise worse, as you aren't cancelling it, and are then adding in effect a second road noise by your recording.

  5. #45
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    631
    it was a thought

    I know they use white noise in callcenters to cancel out some of the ambient noise to make the environment seem quieter (that way they can cram more people into the office while not increasing noise level)...I was hoping of a similar effect. The white noise that is played isn't very loud at all...barely noticeable, but the effect it has is very noticeable.

  6. #46
    FLAC
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,322
    Quote Originally Posted by SoulR View Post
    Thanks for the review SpaceMonkey,

    I have not been happy with my sound from my onboard sound card Realtek ALC888 (especially bass levels) but don't want to install another sound card. This may be the answer.

    Will have to see if it works in RideRunner ok?
    you must be doing something wrong. i have the alc888, and its very close of dedicated sound card quality. its not like a $100 soundcard, but its a lot better then any ipod or whatever.

  7. #47
    Moderator - CarPC News Penzance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    159
    I wonder if you could rip the processing hardware out of a cheap pair of ANC headphones and wire it in somehow?

  8. #48
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,170
    Blog Entries
    52
    I finally had the opportunity to test Breakaway in my car and could immediately notice a difference in sound quality in my music. I do have a question though. I noticed with the Breakaway Pipeline set as the default device the range from low volume to high volume has dramatically decreased. At full volume under the Breakaway control panel, the music from winamp was just above what i'd call "normal" listening volume (thats with the winamp volume maxed too). I tried a few of the different presets but didn't really find that much of a difference. Is there something i'm missing here?

    I also wonder if the program exposes enough information to create a front end plugin for breakaway.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

  9. #49
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Had the same problem with the volume set to high, my way around was to increase the gain on my amp a notch.

    Check the wave see if it does anything (not sure on this one)

  10. #50
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10
    Have a filling this is going to be a difficult one, I’ve tested Spacemonkey s cfmixer.dll on CF it aloud to control the volume level but, lost Silabs radio and phone.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TouchScan OBD-II Software - OCTech Forum Product Review
    By mezz64 in forum Mp3Car Blog Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2009, 01:15 PM
  2. How do I get subwoofer working on D945GCLF motherboard?
    By Maheriano in forum General Hardware Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 10:38 PM
  3. Review: Garmin MobilePC Windows Navigation Software
    By Fiberoptic in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-19-2009, 12:30 PM
  4. Audio Tuning via Software
    By RedGTiVR6 in forum Wiki Discussion Threads
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-09-2008, 11:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •