Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Looking for a Dynavin universal (or any) review

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampton, NH
    Posts
    34

    Looking for a Dynavin universal (or any) review

    I'm new around here, new to android in cars, not new to car stereos. I've been stuck between two prebuilt double dins (Ca-Fi and Dynavin) to replace my ALpine W505. Alpine like mots others seems to be a slave to Apple, and I refuse to follow. I love my Evo 4G, and have experimented with implicating it with my w505, but no matter what I do, I'll have have touch screen through it. After exhausting searching I'm down to the DIY, or one of the double dins I mentioned. I have already read the nice write up done by zr2ee on the Ca-Fi, but have seen very little about the Dynavin. Does anyone have one yet? I'd like to know more about the specs and features, because the website does not tell you much. I got an email back from them inviting me to Hong Kong in April to check out there spring line, but nmaking that trip is out of the cards. Any insight on this unit is helpful. The DVN-6201 is the universal model , I have been looking at. Thanks

  2. #2
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    102
    check out www.e46fanatics.com for dynavin reviews. They are specific to BMW E46 model, but should be applicable. Also see www.szenco.com for dynavin clone w/much better price. I've been considering it lately. I yanked out my computer/touch screen a couple months ago. Got tired of it working intermittantly, don't have time to dink around with it anymore. That would be my only concern with dynavin or clone -- for me it has to work consistently with limited tinkering.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampton, NH
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave323Ci View Post
    check out www.e46fanatics.com for dynavin reviews. They are specific to BMW E46 model, but should be applicable. Also see www.szenco.com for dynavin clone w/much better price. I've been considering it lately. I yanked out my computer/touch screen a couple months ago. Got tired of it working intermittantly, don't have time to dink around with it anymore. That would be my only concern with dynavin or clone -- for me it has to work consistently with limited tinkering.
    13 forum pages of custom roms, kernels, and sd cards just for Dynavin. Great link! Thanks a ton!!

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    48
    I recently bought a Dynavin (D99 Android E9x model), and it's a great piece of kit but has a lot of flaws, and needs a lot of tinkering to be a properly enjoyable piece of kit.

    A lot less meddling required than a genuine home built car pc of course, but still a fait bit of messing about.

    To my knowledge there's about 2 or 3 custom roms at the moment but I think just really 1 that's really a lot different from a Gui point of view.

    Needs more android development to get the best from it, and better front end functionality on the non android half of the unit from the manufacturers.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampton, NH
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by Cret View Post
    I recently bought a Dynavin (D99 Android E9x model), and it's a great piece of kit but has a lot of flaws, and needs a lot of tinkering to be a properly enjoyable piece of kit.

    A lot less meddling required than a genuine home built car pc of course, but still a fait bit of messing about.

    To my knowledge there's about 2 or 3 custom roms at the moment but I think just really 1 that's really a lot different from a Gui point of view.

    Needs more android development to get the best from it, and better front end functionality on the non android half of the unit from the manufacturers.
    This is the feeling I've been getting, the more I read about these things. I've spent a lot of time over at E46fanatics reading, reading, and more reading. It appears there whole process is experimental. I for one, don't feel like being a guniea pig. They have no customer service at all, they don't respond well to emails either. The only US guy over here who appears to have a great deal of knowledge is Jeff Bechtel, over on the West Coast. I even emailed them about becoming a potential distributor, not even a response. I think I might just take this off my list of potential upgrades. I am curious to see the progress of the Ca-Fi system that has a few reviews over here. I am also thinking about exploring into a custm tablet install as well. Unfortunately a tablet alone leaves me without the front end, such as dvd, fm tuner, bluetooth calling, etc..I have also heard that pioneer is supporting android in there appradio 2. I'll be curious to see sme more reports and development on that. I hope you are able to get yours working where your happy with it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM
  2. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 10:10 AM
  3. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 07:39 AM
  4. Universal OBD-II Scanner
    By Avalerion in forum Engine Management, OBD-II, Engine Diagnostics, etc.
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 09:15 PM
  5. Universal IR site
    By hornet in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-20-2002, 09:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •