Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ITPS Power Sequence review

  1. #1
    Newbie saito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NE
    Posts
    19

    ITPS Power Sequence review

    Disclaimer: This is a review of the ITPS Power Sequencer from iTuner.com. I received the unit as a free test unit with a request to post my review here.

    Summary: This unit does exactly what it claims to do: it turns the computer on 5 seconds after I start my car; it turns the computer off shortly after I shut the car down; and it regulates the voltage going into my computer.

    I got these reading from my car using a Fluke 87III Multimeter:

    Unswitched, ignition off Ė 11.98
    Unswitched, car running at idle Ė 12.45
    Unswitched, car under load Ė 13.98

    Switched, car running at idle Ė 12.45
    Switched, car under load Ė 13.54

    ITPS, ignition off Ė 0.00
    ITPS, car running at idle Ė 12.00
    ITPS, car under load Ė 12.00

    After living with it for about a week, these are what I see as the pros and cons:

    First, itís nice to know that the computer is getting exactly 12VDC, so I donít worry about my car frying my MB. In that regard, for $39, this is an inexpensive alternative to an Opus power supply, a product I, admittedly, have never used.

    Second, the install was super easy. The instructions supplied were clear and accurate. It took about 10 minutes to crimp on some ends and run an unswitched line to the computerís location. I already had switched power running to the location from my now defunct Neo35, so I was 2/3 there already, but what the hey.

    That said, there are some minor annoyances with the product. With the ignition shut off, you are getting 0.00VDC so the computer shuts down completely; no hibernation. I drive 3.5 miles to work. If I stop an get a cup of coffee on the way, I'm looking at booting when I leave the house, booting when I leave the coffee shop, and not much listening. Reprogramming the chip to get a longer shutdown delay won't do any good, though, because the unit cuts out while cranking the engine.

    Sometimes, I donít want the computer to start up. Yet with the standard install, it starts every time. This weekend, Iím going to add an on/off switch. Given the short amount of time before shutdown, this will be the ideal situation for running in-town errands rather than letting the computer start, shut down, start, shut down, start....

    Conclusion: For $39 this is a great way to control startup and shutdown and regulate voltage. For the price vs. an Opus, the annoyances are minor and completely livable. I donít always want the computer on, so weíll see what the on/off switch does. Iím still considering an Opus, though, with the ITPS in place, itís not a big priority. Iíll live with it for now, and maybe do the Opus in a couple months.

    Finally: When Andrei posted he had a few test units available, I wrote him to request one. I didnít hear back from him, so a week later I ordered one for $39.00. The response was quick and I received my unit within a few days. About two weeks later, I received another unit with a note saying I was one of the 15 people selected to test a unit. Doh! So, I have two of these units, one still nice and shiny and untouched in the original box. $25 USPS Priority included to the 48.
    Aku, Soku, Zan.
    Epia M10000 Nehemiah
    Lilliput
    ITPS Power Sequencer

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    317
    damn, i wish you posted this a week earlier...i would have bought it from you. Good and to the point review btw. I dont like all the jargon that some electronic gurus are using here cause i dont understand them. Thanks.

  3. #3
    FLAC shakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    1,064
    good review ... it's easy to avoid rebooting during a crank ... impliment a tank circuit. i've got a picture of my diode/resistor combo circuit on my site.


    [H]Bugster ... if you don't understand some of the tech lingo ... just ask. Better to ask and learn than to continue not understanding.
    My JeepPC Install

    "there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."

    "it's been agreed the whole world stinks so no one's taking showers anymore"

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    317
    man, i wish there was a way to solve the crank issue without having to have another battery hooked up in my cramped truck.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    5

    You could try a basic stamp

    I've got a basic stamp from Parallax that is directly connected to the battery via an LM350. It draws minimal current. I've also got a LM1084 tied to the battery which I can turn on and off via the stamp. Put a timer with the stamp and you can adjust your on off's as you see fit

    www.parallax.com has a ton of information on this.

  6. #6
    FLAC shakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    1,064
    Quote Originally Posted by [H]Bugster
    man, i wish there was a way to solve the crank issue without having to have another battery hooked up in my cramped truck.
    who says it has to go in the trunk? find a place for it under your hood.


    that parallax stuff is pretty cool ... gotta look into that more.
    My JeepPC Install

    "there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."

    "it's been agreed the whole world stinks so no one's taking showers anymore"

  7. #7
    Raw Wave
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,823
    Good review

    It seems a few people are now trying BASIC stamp controller...a bit overkill I thought

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Dayton, OH, USA
    Posts
    200
    Question, I have a stereo cap. that sits in the trunk, could I connect my ITPS to that as well as the acc. line I use for my amp? That way I have everything already ran the trunk and it's just a matter of connecting the wires to cap and bridge the acc. line.

    Thanks
    Squeeky

    P.S. I as well had been talking with mini-box way before the ITPS came out, I was told that I would receive one for review but never got one, and this was several months before he posted the topic on the forums.

  9. #9
    FLAC shakes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    1,064
    yeah you could tie right in to your stereo cap ...

    that probably would be easier ... these lead acid batteries are pretty small, i'm sure you'll be able to find room.
    My JeepPC Install

    "there are no stupid questions, just stupid people."

    "it's been agreed the whole world stinks so no one's taking showers anymore"

Similar Threads

  1. ITPS-Auto Power Sequencer as Shotdown Controller
    By Nellor in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 03-16-2005, 12:24 PM
  2. Inquiring Info on ITPS Power Sequencer?
    By Squeeky in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 11-24-2003, 08:24 AM
  3. ITPS auto power sequencer is out, need few testers
    By andrewb in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-15-2003, 08:13 PM
  4. Opus power supply issue
    By dmazyn in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2003, 07:32 PM
  5. getting an odd motherboard to power on
    By karmann in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-28-2001, 06:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •