Page 6 of 19 FirstFirst 12345678910111213141516 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 181

Thread: Software Review: Windows XP Media Center 2005 Edition!

  1. #51
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    99
    I read the review on MCE2005 that you can view photo albums while playing music on background. My question is, can it be set to play music on background while using "other" programs such as Navigation software, provided someone can easily manage to add to the 3rd party program list? (also muting when voice command is given)?

    Maybe I am asking too much from it...

  2. #52
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    35
    Yes, you can.
    But why would you?? There are better programs to do the same thing. MCE 2005 is just a program running in a window in Windows XP SP2

  3. #53
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by drib
    Yes, you can.
    But why would you?? There are better programs to do the same thing. MCE 2005 is just a program running in a window in Windows XP SP2
    Ok, that means this MSC2005 is a competitor frontend to frodo's FP? Umm.. interesting...

  4. #54
    Maximum Bitrate nFiniteTuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tijeras, NM
    Posts
    706
    MCE2005 isn't exactly Windows XP Pro! You guys need to run it to understand. The shell was totaly redesigned, and it was made strictly for people like us, I'm talking about the operating system, not the program. All of you running home or pro, crtl+alt+del and look at all the **** loads of things you have no clue what they are, running in the background taking your system resources. MCE2005 doesn't have that crap running, it has only the bare essentials running needed to run the operating system and what you want to run, like games. ITs made for games, and media.

    Also, the actual program Media center is well worth having for in car. its not just for MP3 or viewing pictures. You can watch DVD, TV, OTA HDTV, FM, XM, Serius.....whatever you desire, And you CAN skin it by editing the DLL file...I read a review last night and that guy did it quite easily, I was unable to do it, but I emailed him about it to find out what I'm doing wrong. You can also add external applications, just gotta figure out how....its no biggie, just do research.

    Anything can be programmed to voice commands, its just a matter if you want to take the time to do it.

    Yes, you can listen to music and do anything else! I do it all the time, hell I'm listning to music via media center right now and typeing this up. No Problem, if I wanna mute it, I just press the Mute button...its quite simple.

    It also looks kick *** if you start to skin it...by changing buttons, wall papers, and crap like that...it looks great. You just have to edit the ehres.dll file. The program I have seems to not work like I wanted it to.

    -Josh
    1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX
    My URL: https://www.facebook.com/jagray85

    XBOX: DarkerStars

  5. #55
    Variable Bitrate PaCMaYNE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tx, USA
    Posts
    411
    who else besides NightFireTuning has used it and likes it more than any other freestanding app... im running win2k no SP's ... i found installing them on WIN2k can supress performance
    throw a moon

    heuvos vin chevos

  6. #56
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    35
    I am using MCE since MCE2002, and I like it more than any other 3rd party. But it is not usefull at all in a car!
    And XP SP2 is really fast, my Epia M1000 with SP2 boots in 30seconds. Same with MCE2005.

    And MCE is exactly the same as Windows XP edition, with an extra layer on top. The first CD is EXACTLY the same except it tells you to use the second CD. If you install MCE 2005 with the first CD only, you will have a full working Windows XP SP2. The second CD has the programs for MCE and Tablet PC on it.

  7. #57
    Variable Bitrate PaCMaYNE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    tx, USA
    Posts
    411
    damn...
    1 pos
    1 neg
    throw a moon

    heuvos vin chevos

  8. #58
    Maximum Bitrate Don 944 LA's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    San Diego / Los Angeles
    Posts
    679
    Right now, I'm using XP Pro (SP2) with Tablet PC on top of it.

    Can I do a fresh install of MCE2005 ?? with XP, then MCE, then Tablet PC on top of everything ????

    I like the voice and onscreen keyboard of Tablet PC, but also want the Media features of MCE..

    Don

  9. #59
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Brussels
    Posts
    35
    I know there are some 8-in-1 solutions going around via bittorrent. Those versions can install what you want, but they are illegal. I don't think it is possible with a legal version although both MCE and Tablet PC edition files are on Disk 2 of MCE 2005.

  10. #60
    Maximum Bitrate nFiniteTuning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tijeras, NM
    Posts
    706
    Quote Originally Posted by drib
    I am using MCE since MCE2002, and I like it more than any other 3rd party. But it is not usefull at all in a car!
    And XP SP2 is really fast, my Epia M1000 with SP2 boots in 30seconds. Same with MCE2005.

    And MCE is exactly the same as Windows XP edition, with an extra layer on top. The first CD is EXACTLY the same except it tells you to use the second CD. If you install MCE 2005 with the first CD only, you will have a full working Windows XP SP2. The second CD has the programs for MCE and Tablet PC on it.
    Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, and uhm..Wrong! 1st..You cannot use the MCE2005 single cd to install regular windows XP...it wont happen. IT requires disc 2 because its a new operating system. IT does NOT run the same as regular XP with SP2...in fact it runs a crap load better. read this entire forum, and there is alot of people saying its well worth it.

    And for the car, It is probably best for car use. Drib doesn't know what he's talking about, no offence. 6 hours after I installed MCE2005 onto my Shuttle XPC, I hooked it up to my friends lexus's drop down 10" touchscreen...And it worked like a charm, everyone else who actualy used it in a car says the same thing. For TV or HDTV use, its perfect for car use also, cause it doesn't support cable HDTV, it supports Over The Air (OTA) HDTV...meaning you can hook up a regular antena onto it. IF you have touch screen, great! Thats good...it will work like a charm, trust me! As long as your touch screen is installed properly. IF you aren't a cheap tight *** and you pay 33 bucks plus shipping for the MCE2005 Remote from NewEgg.com...your gonna absolutely flip out on how kick *** this system is for car use.

    I will guarentee my findings and sayings! IF you dont want to pay for it, I'll make you a copy just to try it out for 30 days and let you decide! If you do it right, install the operating system which is a suped up version of Windows XP Professional (runs a crap load better then regular XP with SP2), Get the single update they have...install a good DVD Decoder like the Nvidia DVD Decoder or hell, even PowerDVD works as a great decoder. Use the right TVTuner which from what I See, everyone who allready has TV in thier car, is usin the right tuners...same with the radio tuners...you'll have it made. and you CAN skin it, and you CAN add external apps. Microsoft didn't finish the operating system so right now you can't add the external apps without editing the ehres.dll....but its possible.

    Just take my word for it, buy the remote, even if you have touch screen or not. You want more convincing? Read this ENTIRE review located here http://www.htpcnews.com/main.php?id=mce2k5_1 and I trust you will decide to use it. My friend dislikes MCE2005....only because he hasn't used it....he's just using the operating system portion of it cause it runs better then regular XP.

    Read the other posts on this tread from people who are using it right now...there are alot of people falling in love with it like I have...

    And I mean hell, how on earth can you say MCE2005 is not good for car use, when Mercedes, Cadilac..and I think even BMW are starting to install MCE2005 on thier cars? I think I'll trust that since it runs flawlessly with me..I'm even rigging it up up and down testing diff decoders and stuff like that with it.

    So instead of listning to these people who dont know what they are talking about because they aren't computer friendly people, and just test it out for yourself, Grab a spare hard drive, something tiny and just install it, install a good DVD Decoder, and all your XP drivers for things like sound card and stuff like that....and try it out, you wont regret it, especialy if you own the remote. Its only 33 bucks.
    -Josh
    1997 Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX
    My URL: https://www.facebook.com/jagray85

    XBOX: DarkerStars

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2007, 07:39 AM
  2. windows xp media center edition
    By the_spy_guy in forum XP MCE
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 04-15-2006, 02:26 PM
  3. Windows XP MEDIA CENTER EDITION
    By Sway in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-28-2005, 05:56 PM
  4. Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
    By brooksware2000 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 03:19 PM
  5. XP Media Center Edition???
    By sq_geek in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2003, 01:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •